We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel close to Prado Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Madrid Centro
Ranked #169 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A very good hotel close to Prado Museum”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is perfect as a starting point for the tour of the town. Madrid is beautiful!!
Our room was big, modern, clear and quiet. Continental breakfast was abundant and very very good!
Staff was very nice, they have suggested us a restaurant where we have eaten an excellent paella!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    339
    152
    53
    16
See reviews for
185
304
84
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel, booked sight unseen over the Internet, lived up in every way to its own website, and now, having spent an excellent five days there I am pleased to write in support of the good opinions of many other people. The young reception staff were pleasant, helpful and informative. The rooms, while not in the deluxe category, we easily adequate for two of us. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and well-stocked, the room was quite quiet despite looking onto the street. The experience was well worth the price and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, España
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very well situated close to the most famous museums and most famous classical hotels in Madrid.
at a relatively quiet street. The surroundings in this historic centre are very interesting.with streets named after famous authors from the Spanish " Siglo de Oro". In the hotel itself you have a themed library about Lope de Vega. It is also quite close to the Atocha railway station, practical if you arrive by e g a high speed train.There is also a private parking.
The hotel is very nice, fresh and clean and the reception most helpful. A fine breakfast buffet is served.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, had a very good deal (50% off via trip advisor) when compared to the other hotels of the area. The breakfast was good and the staff very nice and helpful but the wooden floor was a bit noisy as we could hear our neighbors walk.
All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: 7th floor = no neighbors upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Lope de Vega over New Years. Chose the hotel for the great location and price at the time. Depending if you like walking, I walked practically everywhere from here, to Sol, Retiro Park, the shops at Gran Via, Tribunal etc. Of course you can get a metro, we used Banco de Espana regularly to get back and forth if we were not walking! Also got metro to and from the airport.
Room is acceptable, not massive but clean. Only thing I missed was tea and coffee facilities, I think even 2* hotels I've had to stay in before have had a kettle!
Close to Starbucks, VIPs and bars and more Spanish eateries.
I don't think the hotel is a 4*, more a solid to high 3. Missed a bit of charm/welcoming friendly enthusiastic vibe from the staff but other than that a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Quiet spot in busy city. Good position for getting to see Madrid. The road outside is not particularly attractive or even kept very clean, but feels safe.

Rooms are a reasonable size and clean. Beds are comfortable. The four stars are debatable, but if you are not paying full rate it is good value. Under 80 euros with breakfast for the standard of hotel in Madrid is not bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Straveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After a week at a true 4**** Madrid hotel (Hotel Atlantico) I moved to the Lope de Vega to join up with a group I’d be traveling with for the next week. Upon arrival my first impression was horror, I’d entered a dark dingy waiting room reminiscent of an old Greyhound bus station, and behind the counter was a young woman who showed no interest at all in my arrival despite my being overloaded with bags and having great difficulty making it safely through the door and down the steps. After I was checked in she produced a key and waved me to the lift, I asked for help getting my bags up and as there was no one else in sight she grudgingly agreed to accompany me. We reached the top floor and she led me to a room that once inside I couldn’t get out of quickly enough -- it was small, cramped, smelled strongly of vomit and clearly had not been included in the recent renovation of guest rooms -- it looked as awful as it smelled. I flatly refused to stay there and eventually was shown to a room which I agreed to take though I did consider it substandard. Dirty walls, dusty surfaces, a paucity of toiletries and the ones that were offered were motel quality. I headed out and brought some decent soap and shampoo and made up my mind that since I was stuck there for three nights I’d try to make the best of it. A great help was the wifi, it didn’t always work but it was pretty good and I was grateful to have it. Breakfasts were included but they weren’t at all appealing (nor was the dining room) so I mostly didn’t bother.

I cannot understand how this hotel rates four stars, two and a half max I would call it. Aside from the unfriendly staff and less than acceptable level of housekeeping there is an air of dreariness that pervades the public rooms that I found pretty depressing, and I was very happy to walk out the door for the last time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank primrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLopedeVega_12, Director Comercial at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Good morning :

We regret that your impression about your stay has not been very good.
.
We can understand that maybe our decoration is not your preference but we are sorry about the opinion of the staff because they are always trying to help our costumers , as you said, the person of the front desk helped you with the luggage and in the moment that you complaint about the first one , she gave you another room .

After the change of the room in your arrival everything seemed solved , even we talked with the tour leader about the stay of the whole group and we did not receive any comment about your insatisfaction.

About our wireless free service, sometimes is true that the line has been a little slow but to solve it ,we have already taken a solution and we are going to change the system to Optical fiber to give our guest the highest speed possible

Of course that we thank your comments because they help us to improve but we would have appreciatted that you had comunicated us all this issues during your stay to try to make your stay as nice as possible.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Arguelles
Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#63 of 444 in Madrid
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Centro

Property: Mercure Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Lope de Vega 49 | Triangulo del Arte, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#141 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Madrid Centro is a nice and welcoming hotel themed around the life and work of Golden Age writer, Don Felix Lope de Vega. Its privileged location in the well known and popular "Barrio de las Letras ", will let you feel in an atmosphere of culture and art in Madrid, and explore its bars and restaurants to sample the local cuisine. Ideal to enjoy whether you come for business or pleasure. With an excellent location in the center of the "Triangle of Art" of Madrid, formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza and the Reina Sofia and just 10-minute walk from the Puerta del Sol. Atocha station is just 800 meters away. The nearest Metro stations are Atocha (L1 ), Bank of Spain ( L2 ) and Anton Martin ( L1 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope De Vega Madrid
Lope De Vega Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing