We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #154 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this brand for the first time. At the beginning we were concerned about location as it is not in the Madrid "touristic" area but this was not a problem at all. Metro is one block away and being in a more residential area proved to be better for us. The hotel is a 4 stars property, modern in decor and efficient. Breakfast is very good, try to avoid peak hour, it could be messy specially if there is a group (which we had a few). Staff was very attentive! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillerm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guillerm0G,

Many thanks for your comment and for choosing us during your stay in Madrid.

We will make sure that we are improving this aspect you mentioned about the breakfast.

Thank you for help us with your feedback,

Hope to see you again,

Social Media Manager
socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel facilities and cleanliness is not of a 4 star hotel, however neither are the prices. It's good value for money as long as you don't expect luxury and immaculate rooms. Location is ok and service good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Monstita,

First of all thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid.
Your opinion is very important for us, so we will make all the necesary efforts to make your next stay a more pleasant one.
Hope to see you again,

Kind regards,

Social Media Manager
socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked this hotel online and was not disappointed. The hotel is modern comfortable bed, nice room and wifi. The staff couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. The metro station is 5 minutes away and only a few stops to centre of Madrid. Onsite parking is available, although a tab expensive at €20 per night. Our room was on 10th floor of the tower with great views. Free mineral water in fridge which was a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

tip when travelling by metro get off at Opera. That is were the action is. Don't eat in Calle Mayor square unless you are lottery winner. There are much nicer/cheaper restaurants in the Opera area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn-Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Glenn-Nash

First of all thanks for your kind words about our hotel and thanks for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in Madrid.

Hope to see you again

I remain at your full disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Best regards,

SocialMedia Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I knew I was going to spend 6 nights in Madrid for business (and a little leisure) so I wanted a place that was centrally located but away from all of the tourist areas. This hotel is an excellent choice. It is near the metro (Lines 9 and 6) which gets you anywhere you want to go as well as having a couple of bus stops that go to Sol, Gran Via, and Goya. I would stay here again because it is close to Retiro and good restaurants, and it is quiet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbbtcltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear sbbtcltravel,

First of all, thanks for your kind comments about Ayre Gran Hotel Colón, your words help us to improve.
We are delighted that your experience was a success
Hope to see you again soon,


Do not hesitate in contact me should you have any doubts or require additional information at socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards

Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very unpersonal hôtel.
Clean, efficient, but total lack of interest. Complicated building w 2 different locations linked by a small tunnel.
The hotel is located on a main street east of Madrid, but still quiet.
Meeting rooms are narrow, despite beautiful view from the roof top.
Need 30min walk to reach CBD.
English from desk reception is approximative.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank MY_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear MY_visitor,

First of all thanks for your words about Ayre Gran Hotel Colón and thanks for choosing us for your stay in Madrid.
We take note of all the comments about the hotel, and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay pleasant , as one of our company policy is to create happy and comfortable experiences.

I remain at your full disposal at socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards,

SocialMedia Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights and found it great value for money. Good size modern clean rooms.
It's a Bit out from city but good local restaurants near by along with a good restaurant and bar inside the hotel. Metro 2 min walk from hotel also.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booty_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear booty_a,

First of all, thanks for your kind comments, your words help us to improve.
We are delighted that your experience was a success and you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again,

I remain at your disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Best regards,

SocialMedia Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of the main advantages of the hotel is its location (very close to Sainz de Baranda metro station and 10 minutes walk to Retiro Park). The hotel has a nice modern architecture (especially the bathroom which has a wall made entirely of glass). The room was quite small but comfortable. The sheets and some of the towels were not in the best condition. The wifi service did not work during the first two days of our stay. The hotel staff is very kind and really helpful. Overall, the quality-price ratio is not as good as I expected but beside of its small disadavantages we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyNick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear AlyNick12,

Fist of all, thanks so much for your kind words and for choosing Ayre Gran Hotel Colón for your stay in Madrid.
We will take into consideration everything that you point out in order to improve all services and our clients 'experiences.
About the internet conexion, we had some problems during these days with wifi's servers, but now wifi is working good.
Hope to see you again,

We are at your disposal in this email adress: socialmedia.colon@ayrehoteles.com

Kind regards,

Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Pio XII
#146 of 437 in Madrid
716 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#95 of 437 in Madrid
968 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#171 of 437 in Madrid
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#40 of 437 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
San Blas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#155 of 437 in Madrid
1,525 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#73 of 437 in Madrid
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#107 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing