We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #158 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
FL USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel!!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and me spent two nigth at Ayre . Hotel room is very clean as well the bathrom. it is located in a nice area close to the metro Sainz de baranda and bus stop plus there are taxis around the area all the time . going to the center take you only 20minutes from there ( Bus # 20 ) 2 minustes walking from the Hotel 1.50 eur , Metro from the airport to the hotel 5eur , from the airport u take line 8 till line ( 9 colombia ) to Sainz de Barando will take u only 36 minutes. if you reserve ur breafast the night before will cost 10EUR regualar price is 17EUR it is really good . also you can find resturants , supermarkets ,hospital , bars etc... Back to Madrid I will stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexm2457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    823
    272
    57
    42
See reviews for
266
633
83
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we booked this hotel, we did some research (Thanks to my fellow Tripadvisor travelers). We knew that the location isn't very near to the center but we discovered that it wasn't very far neither. The hotel is very easy to find. We took the Metro from the airport Line 8 to Columbia and then change to Line 9 to Sainz de Baranda then the hotel is 10 mins. walk from the station. We stay for 4 nights. We did the check-in at the Europa Bldg. and it was fast. Our room was located in the America Bldg. The two are connected and you will have to walk a bit to go from one Bldg to another. It wasn't a hassle. The room is clean and the bathroom is spacious. There's a free mineral water in the fridge everyday. We didn't include the breakfast in our booking because we find it really overprice. There's a Cafeteria at the hotel where they serve a breakfast menu costs 4.60euro which includes Orange Juice, Pastries, butter & jam and water. You will have choices and the price varies between 3.30euro to 6.60 euro. The staff are helpful when asked but we noticed that they don't greet/acknowledge you when you arrived or leave the hotel. There's a bus number 20 (5 mins. from the hotel) which will bring you to the center and we find it really convenient. You can ask for a map at the reception. In our room, the aircon can be really noisy unless we adjust the temperature to 25degrees. So we had to adjust it when we go to sleep. The only thing was the lift, it can be really slow. They have 4 lifts to America Bldg, and the waiting can be forever. It is also not good if you are Claustropobic. We are staying on the 9th floor, aside from the lift being too slow and small, the hallway linking from the lift to our room is narrow. The only thing that makes us feel better is we are next to the fire exit. The check out was fast. I would recommend this hotel because you will get a very pleasant room in a very affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in a triple room in the Europe section with owr daughter. It is actually a double room with an adition of a bed which makes it too much crowded for three. We managed but a larger room could improve our feeling towards it.
We had our breakfast in the cafeteria, a very pleasant one 4.60EUR for fresh orange juice, coffee, little sandwitch or cereal+yoghurt or croissant. We preferred it over the 16.50EUR breakfast offered in the dining room. Another option for good breakfast is a 6.90EUR to 9.50EUR breakfast served in a restaurant chain nemed "Cafe & Te" and "Cafe & Tapas". Many locations in city center area.
Internet is free and works fine.
Travel to city center wasn't easy. No direct metro line caused us to use the metro while exchanging trains. Overall time to reach the center was 25-35 minutes. This is the only thing not in favour of this hotel, otherwise it is truely a nice and clean one, with nice and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in Europe tower are conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is very good. It is located about 500 mtrs from metrostation Sainz de Baranda.
The hotel consists of more than on building. I was sent from the first reception to the reception of the second building. Staff is very kind and helpfull. They speak very well english. The room was very nice, clean and fitted with doubleglase windows keep citynois out. And there extra thick light blocking curtains. However the matrass was way too hard. I prefer to sleap on my sides, and thus had some pain on my hips in the morning. A flashlight from the smokedetector on the ceiling was a bit annoying but I quickly got used to it. The free wifi did not work very good. First I had to get a username and password, that I had to go to the reception for. They handed them out on paper. The internetspeed seemed ok, but veried constantly, form 40 MBs to 5.5 MBs. Making streaming video very interupting. By the way, the next day the username and password did not work anymore, and I had to go down to the reception to fetch new ones.
Although one has to pay an extra €10,- for the breakfast, it is definatly worth the money. It is a very complete buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MarcvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel comprises of two buildings (European and American.) We stayed in the American building and received excellent service from the staff, especially from the staff at the front desk, they were extremely helpful with providing us with directions to and from the hotel and information to go around Madrid. The hotel is located approximately 30 to 35 minutes from Barajas Airport in Madrid; cost appx 30 to 35 euros (depending on amount/pieces of luggage.) It is located approximately 20 minutes from downtown (Puerta del Sol). Take the number #20 bus towards downtown to the last stop. There is a metro station (up the hill) and another station (down the hill.) We had an executive room (for 3 people) with 3 beds. The room was of average size and the amenities were of above average quality. Nice bathroom, flat-screen TV, security safe, lots of storage space, small refrigerator (with free bottles of water daily,) free wi-fi (we asked for and were provided with 3 passwords daily for our computer and mobile phones.) Wi-fi worked fast in certain spots in the room. Upon request, the hotel will loan the guest an iron. If we return to Spain and want to stay close to the city, we will definitely go back to that hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aberdeen2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Modern hotel in a quite area. Metro is very close.
The staff were very helpful, Free Wfi.
The room was very clean.
Very good value for money. I don't know about breakfast because we had room only.
There is a supermarket very close to the hotel and not bad Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eti4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#104 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#173 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#110 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#131 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Property: Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing