We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayre gran hotel colon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Ranked #158 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    836
    274
    58
    44
See reviews for
272
639
84
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Got a cheap deal on Expedia so booked this hotel for a day and night stay in Madrid this August. It's located about 35 minutes from the airport by Metro and easy to find once you're at the station - the hotel is a couple of minutes walk away downhill with it's name on the side - hard to miss.

My £46 single room was (unsurprisingly) small, but clean, with a single bed, working aircon, as well as more lighting and pillow options than a girl could possibly make use of in one night. There was one of those suitcase shelves too. They're always good.

The bathroom though - WOAH - now that badboy was BIG considering the rest of the room. Walk-in shower (by this I mean it wasn't in the bath) and loads of space to dance yourself dry. And most importantly, the complimentary bathroom haul included a free comb!!!!!!1111 Amazin'. And there was free Wifi, even better.

Staff were English speaking and helpful, the lady behind the desk stored my bags for free as I was too early to check-in, gave me a map and pointed me in the direction of the Retiro park which was about a 10 minute walk away. When I got back a few hours later she asked me how the park was, it's nice when people remember you.

The hotel was in a quiet non-dodgy neighbourhood (solo female traveller here) and there were loads of tapas-y looking restaurants about a 5 minute walk up the road on Calle de Ibiza.

My TV didn't work, but c'est la vie. Could have complained, but wasn't really in Madrid to watch TV and I don't speak Spanish or enjoy CNN, so I imagine any of the scheduled programming would have been a disappointment.

Overall, it suited my needs. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A/C didn't work well, the rooms are tiny, the service is TERRIBLE, do yourself a favor and don't go there. We were 20 people and reserved 7 rooms, it took us 3 hours to check in, the bell boy was the worst! receptionist never help us to satisfied our request, it was really a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingAldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

booked hotel with flights on easyjet site only 40€ per room per night very designer chic free safe and water in room only downside no balconies,bathroom very nice beds comfy.Took metro from airport 1.5€ plus 3€ airport supplement about 2 mins walk from hotel sainz de baranda metro change at colombria on way from airport (tip get a 10 trip ticket for metro 12€ if your there for a few days saves queing and a bit of money only need 1 ticket for 2 persons put ticket through twice) in a quiet residential area safe to walk about walk past metro from hotel 1st rd on left road of bars restaurants 2nd rd calle de ibiza more choice excellent indian resaurant (fat he pur i think) very good eat inside food good service quick,metro ibiza end off this rd get off at sol( centre) for main square some good friendly irish bars off this square plaza mayor open till 3/4am ish very busy even midweek.Did real madrid tour 16€ ,retiro park hop on off tour bus too 24€ for 2 days 20€ for 1 day get 2 days 2 different routes very hot in aug day and night would definitely go again and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0tp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A modern hotel right next to the metro. Helpful staff who speak English well and free wifi works well. Only set back is the cleanliness is not always great and they are lacking in attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_peel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santorini
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

i was with my boyfriend the last november for a week. it has amazing brekfast(we could not choose what we want to eat), free internet, nice room and bathroom. the hotel is close to the metro station. when i will return to madrid i will stay there for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilioperato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Location: 20 min to airport (about 25euro for taxi), 15 min to main bus station (about 12 euro for taxi), 10 min to train station (about 12 euro for taxi), metro is in a three-minute walk from the hotel, 15-20 min to the city center by metro, 5-7 min by taxi (5 euro)
Rooms: regular size for Europian hotel, very clean, very comfortable, modern, free wi-fi, free drinking water(!!!) in refrigerator.
Personal: аriendly staff, good service but unobtrusive.
Food: good restaurant in the hotel, a lot of bars, cafeterias and restaurants in 2-10 min walk, also few supermarkets and many small grocery stores are close to hotel.
Personal impression: we were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#106 of 436 in Madrid
822 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#165 of 436 in Madrid
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#113 of 436 in Madrid
555 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#135 of 436 in Madrid
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Property: Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#101 Business Hotel in Madrid
#104 Family Hotel in Madrid
#109 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing