We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Ranked #306 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Lafayette, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“watch out for bait and switch”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only thing that turned me off about the hotel was the fact that when I arrived they tried to do a bait and switch. I also noticed them doing that to almost every guest.
They advertise a nice building and pictures shows that. When you arrive, they check you in and at the end they say, 'we're remodeling and the stairway to the other side is close, so we will take you around. Immediately I knew something wasn't right. I was taken to an old and run down and not very clean building adjacent to the nice one. I refused to be there and they took me back to the building and ended up giving me a nice room. The aggrevation when you arrive after a long trip from US is that last thing I needed.
The manager and staff were friendly otherwise and the breakfast Buffet was excellent. Just watch out for the bait and switch. I saw other guests who were also very upset about this practice. Just say no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sheilatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    322
    242
    101
    80
See reviews for
154
367
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Conveniant location,very close to the historical and shopping center. Large room,we stay in July and the hottel had good climatisation.Great breakfast, very close to the metro station and good connection to the airport

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Definitely the worst 4-star hotel I've ever stayed in. The TV was unwatchable. The bathroom door was unlockable. The connection to the free-wifi was terrible. The water pressure was very weak and the shower nozzle couldn't be fixed onto the wall for showering. And one of the most ridiculous thing to share about is that our room wasn't even at the same building as the hotel lobby. Our room was at another building next to the hotel without any doorman downstairs during night time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarkL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I took a while to chose a hotel and mainly went with this one because of the location and the reviews! We managed to get a very good deal which included a very extensive breakfast choice. The hotel has a main building and an annex next door. On our first night we were in annex because main building was full. We asked to be moved to the main building the next morning which was accommodated no problem - and we had a very nice room. We found the staff to be very helpful. It is a 5 minutes walk to main shopping/restaurant area of GranVia and 2 different […] metro stations - which were handy for getting around Madrid and surrounding areas.

I would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMorrisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was very very hot, with the air con either disabled or not working. The outside temperature was 5 degrees. Our foldaway bed wasn't made up with sheets, and we only had one towel, when we needed three. It took three phone calls to reception to sort it. The main bed was firm and comfy, the sofabed was soft and lumpy. The hotel is what it is, good location, cheap, average condition. Just don't require anything from the staff...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Waters4857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed at el colosso madrid for two nights. coming by metro from madrid barajas airport, take the exit c. leganitos at plaza de espanha metro station. behind the gran via street, is absolutely great location. few steps from restaurants, shops, walking distance from the royal palace, plaza de sol, plaza mayor, etc. we stayed in a building beside the main building. good size of the room and very warm. the room was faced the street, and was a bit too noise. didn't get breakfast at the hotel (8euro per person), but you are literaly few steps from gran via, with a large selection of options for typical spanish breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jader R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinha Grande, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Dirty walls, it appears that someone played football inside the room. Bathroom without bidet. Very tight access to toilet. Bad interior finishes. Good reception. The price was OK.
But definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#203 of 435 in Madrid
619 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#178 of 435 in Madrid
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#153 of 435 in Madrid
454 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 435 in Madrid
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe El Coloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe El Coloso

Property: Hotel Exe El Coloso
Address: Calle Leganitos 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe El Coloso 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe El Coloso, of four stars, is located downtown Madrid, between Gran Via and Callao. The hotel has 133 rooms with plasma TVs, free Wi - Fi, minibar and bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace and sloping ceilings. A breakfast buffet is served every morning and there is a parking available (with an extra charge) for the clients of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Exe El Coloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coloso Hotel
El Coloso Madrid
Hotel Coloso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing