We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$245
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$335
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$178
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$86
$77
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
112
324
256
107
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
324
256
107
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationcentral locationhotel roomplaza mayorby footstreet noisecity breakroyal palacecallao
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 895 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were shown 7 rooms before we found one that was acceptable. The rooms were shabby and not very well maintained. Our final room had severe water damage to the bathroom door and the beds were very hard. (The hotel seemed very dated: circa 1980.) Although, the hotel was very clean.

The corridors had plates and cups left on them for days at a time and there always seemed to be laundry baskets on the corridors too. The staff were friendly enough but not particularly helpful and could not speak English - even on reception.

We had to exit the building in order to get to our rooms and had to do the same to go for breakfast. Breakfast was simple but adequate and the service was excellent.

This hotel is ideally located but not a 4*.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel with better reviews. If you do stay here, the rooms at the front on the 3rd floor are better but much noisier. The rooms at the back overlook a brick wall.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sazz1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Location: Excellent, city center, side street, quiet room.

Hotel Room: Average, older with some updates, clean.

Overall experience: I have stayed in 4. 4.5 and 5 stars in Madrid. This is definitely pushing the 4-star rating, but I can see how it qualifies based on some of the upgrades to the rooms. Upon check-in there was only one person staffing the desk. He was very accommodating and friendly, but he could have used some extra help since there were a few customers waiting. We were escorted outside to the adjoining building. We were on the second floor. It was a maze to get to our room. The hallways were very worn looking, giving the impression that this is a much older hotel that has undergone some updates, but not complete renovation. We had a family room, which consisted of two twin beds and a pullout sofa. The pullout sofa was partially broken, making it sag in the middle. Luckily (for the unlucky person using the sofa bed) we only stayed there for one night.
The room was clean, with hardwood (laminate) flooring. The beds were not plush, but were okay. Only one long pillow per bed. There was a mini bar refrigerator, a flat screen TV, hair dryer and toiletries. Had a small desk. Based on pictures from other travelers and the configuration of the hotel hallways, no two rooms are alike.
Our stay was short so I can’t report on any of the other amenities. I would stay here again because of location, but only if the price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atltravelm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is located two blocks off Grand Villa, and many of the things that you would want to see in Madrid can be reached within 15 minutes.

two negative things are:

1. The is only one person working in the evenings, and

2. You have to be a gorilla to move your luggage around in the hotel because there is no way to avoid stairs when bringing you luggage into the hotel. If fairness, this particular problem is common to many hotels in Madrid.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Positives: This hotel is very conveniently located near Gran Via, and next to a little super market and some cute restaurants. Very walkable area and plenty to do in the area. Free WiFi.

Negatives: You walk in with your luggage and immediately have to lug it up 7 or 8 steps just to get to the check in desk. Then, after check-in, you go up another 6 or 7 to the elevators. Annoying. The desk staff was nice enough, but even the reception area was dumpy and their uniforms were ratty. First impression: Unimpressed. The first room they sent me to (#110) was a death trap. The door frame was literally separated from the wall and any good yank could have taken the whole door down (See pictures). I opened the broken door into a teeny room with a window that didn't lock and that opened onto a strange courtyard where any neighbor could have easily crawled right in the window. Needless to say, I turned right around and went down to plead for another room.
Room #2 was on the 5th floor and was more spacious and safer, but it adjoined another room. Normally that wouldn't be an issue, however I could hear every cough, sneeze, snore and whisper from the neighboring room. The door provided about as much soundproofing as a shower curtain. Also the bathroom STUNK like mold and was less than clean. I had to keep the window open and the bathroom door closed the entire time. Also, the linens were old and the bed was hard as a ROCK.
Aside from the location and WiFi, there was no reason to stay here again. I'm glad I was only there for 1 night!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeirLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned back from Madrid, stayed at El Coloso, the hotel is very central and walking distance to all the sites one might wish to see in Madrid. The breakfast was good but not of a 4* hotel and the room we had was onto a courtyard, nice and quiet but again not a 4* hotel at all! The bed was a double but it was such a small bed. On a good point the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoraMalta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews