We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Ranked #366 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A really decent hotel in a great location in Madrid. The hotel is right between the the Plaza Espania and Santa Domingo Metro stations. It does seem to be catered more towards business stays, but was perfectly decent as a base to explore Madrid.

There are a couple downsides to the hotel:
If your room faces the street, then it will be rather loud in the mornings and evenings if you are trying to sleep.
There are some cleaning issues with the bathroom, there seems to be a moldy substance in the bathrooms and you will have to get used to the constant air freshner smell that is rather overpowring at times.

On the plus side, the air-con works wonderfully and the breakfasts are really good value at EUR8 per person, with a really good spread of meats and cheeses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 893 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

A nice and very very convenient hotel. Location is tops, almost everything within walking distance, side quiet street a few metres from Gran Via - next to a police station , absolutely safe day and night. Our room was in the rear facing a wall falling apart, but room was spacious, clean, recently renovated and quiet. Flat wide screen 32" tv and mini bar. Breakfast was very generous at a cost of 8 euros (and not 15 as mentioned by reviewers) which was good value for money. Corridors look tired and need repairs. Excellent service at the reception by Ms Sara who went to great lengths to help us, though some others are slow and speak very little english.
Negative? yes, the first 24 hours internet (free) was awful and non existing. Repaired next day. Phone was dead and repaired upon our request. Paper thin walls and noisy housemaids. Worst of all , despite many requests this hotel did not operate ANY AIRCONDITIONING though Madrid was boiling hot at over 30C. Some Israelis advised reception they would move elsewhere and were promised air conditioning as of 11/5/2012 !!!
In general this is a very good hotel, close to everything and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: make sure air conditioning will be working. Rooms at the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here with our baby daughter for 7 nights. Overall the hotel is OK. Location excellent although street itself not particularly nice. Definitely not 4 stars - more like 3 stars. The breakfast was very good (orange juice amazing!). The rooms have been to a good standard but mainly no longer are - floors are worn out, furniture need replacing etc. Some rooms are in significantly better condition (and are bigger) than others.

However - they key to a good stay at the hotel is to avoid the street! Most rooms are facing the street which gets very noisy at night partly due to the police station next door. While the noise is manageable with ear plugs and closing the shutters at night, you will be at the mercy of the A/C. Should you need to sleep with the window open, managing any sleep will be a great achievement. If you manage to get a better room facing the inner court, you will get good value for money - otherwise you will run the risk of a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KermitTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I arrived here late one night after a long trip from the US. The hotel is easily accessed by the metro, the front desk staff is very helpful, and the rooms are better than expected. This is a hotel I will recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Madrid, primarily due to it's convenient location and unbeatable price. I could not have asked for a better location for the price. For under $100 a night, you do not get much better in a city like Madrid. Located just a minute walk from Santo Domingo, and a 10minute walk from Puerta Sol and the Royal Palace, you are never far from the sights. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the street may not look safe at first glance but there is a police station 2 buildings away from the hotel. I felt safe even at night.

The property smells like air freshener the moment you walk in and the smell is stronger in the lobby area. The wifi is free in the rooms and the signal is great but the connection speed is slow. We got by and honestly you just need enough to look up a few restaurants here and there for your stay anyway. We had plenty of space in our inner-facing room on the 5th floor and the rooms were clean. I just had two complaints about the rooms: the bedding, and the heat. The bed is hard but what makes it worse is the coarseness of the sheets. I got rashes on my elbows from lying on the bed and watching TV. The room also has no heat control which makes it a bit unbearable on the hotter afternoons. We kept the windows open the whole time but it still felt uncomfortably hot at times.

The hotel is pleasant and the staff are helpful but I definitely would not say it is a 4-star hotel, even in Europe. If you value location and price, this hotel is good for you, but if you want a little bit more comfort, I would look around some more as the rooms don't provide a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location is great, right in the city center.
The service was very good, helpful and kind.
Nice breakfast.
Big rooms.
Very good for business travelers, couples on a romantic vacation may want to look for a better designed hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank FreshBiz-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here in september 2011.Quite nice hotel. When you walk inside the hotel, it was very inviting. When we checked in, the man from the reception gave us immediately a map and showed us where we were. He saw that we came from Belgium and tried to explain everything in French, altough we're from Flanders and our motherlanguage is Dutch (we do have a good knowledge of Frech). But i found it very nice of him!!!! On our way upstairs we noticed that there were some renovations. Not that inviting, but if you want to improve your hotel, why not! The maid even showed the way. The room was huge, open and CLEAN! I added some photos from our room. The bathroom was small, i have to say. Breakfast was great. Everything was there, even churros. Jammie! The location of the hotel was also great! You should try it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#230 of 438 in Madrid
632 reviews
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#170 of 438 in Madrid
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#114 of 438 in Madrid
777 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#117 of 438 in Madrid
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe El Coloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe El Coloso

Address: Calle Leganitos 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $142 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe El Coloso 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe El Coloso, of four stars, is located downtown Madrid, between Gran Via and Callao. The hotel has 133 rooms with plasma TVs, free Wi - Fi, minibar and bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace and sloping ceilings. A breakfast buffet is served every morning and there is a parking available (with an extra charge) for the clients of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Exe El Coloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coloso Hotel
El Coloso Madrid
Hotel Coloso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing