We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd but good location, perfect as simply a nice "place to sleep"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Avenida de America
Ranked #163 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is kind of hard to find. It doesn't have any big signs and it's on a small side street that really doesn't match the nice interior and rooms. At the same time, though, that small street is very close to several transit lines that can get you to all the hot spots for very cheap.
The room was very spacious, but the A/C could have been better (no pun intended), *especially* during the hot, hot, hot Madrid summer. Just walking to the hotel can be painful, even after the sun has gone down.
Service was good, though, and rooms very comfortable, but still on the AC Hotels black-and-chrome color scheme, so it feels like an odd mix of futuristic and retro design.
Definitely a great place for just a comfortable, well-located place to sleep at night, especially for the price.

Room Tip: none of the rooms really have any view, so just try to get a corner one, which would be larger
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sudobuntu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria A, Gerente at AC Hotel Avenida de America, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.
It will be a pleasure to seeing you soon, my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Avenida de America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 477 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel is nicely appointed. Bedding is sheet plus blanket rather than duvet which would be my preference. Bathroom good. Hotel staff courteous and welcoming although I was left mystified as to why I could not get an iron before 7am.

Well located for eating with loads of restaurants and bars nearby. Good recommendation by the check-in clerk.

Hotel is too hot though, corridors miles to hot and could not get room down to a pleasant temperature.

Good value.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front - lots of noise at 3am with lorries unloading/bins being emptiped.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglassmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is average . The bathroom is amazing , but the breakfast could be better for 15 euros. The team also could be more friendly, I did not get a "good morning" or " good afternoon", while my wife and I were there , and we spent 7 days at this hotel.
It is well located, very close to bus stops and a metro station, and Madrid is a well connected city, public transportation is great, even if the hotel is not exactly near the center, you can get there very easily. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, we walked to the substations without worries.
There are several options for breakfast and lunch nearby , then I suggest you not waste your money eating at the hotel .
We missed a heater in the room, but the hotel is very clean, and the room service is efficient and cleaner who cleaned our room always did a great job .
My only disappointment were the receptionists ... First I thought maybe it was the way Spaniards are . But we met several Spaniards and they were always so friendly with us, I think the team can do much better than they did

Room Tip: Try to get the conner rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik_Brito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is located a bit away from the tourist attractions but you can get there by metro. I was in Madrid for business so it didn't bother me. Good shopping area is about 10-15 mins walk away, or a short cab ride, for that matter.
The rooms and beds are comfortable, unfortunately no coffee making or ironing facilities. Internet is not free. Didn't bother with the gym as it was closed by 10 pm and seems to be just another guestro om. The noise proofing between rooms and to the aisle are not great, expect to be up early if you are a light sleeper. All in all this is not really Marriott or Courtyard quality, more like Fairfield, but it was good value for money so may go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Then this is worth it. Good shopping, plenty of little places to eat. Close to avenida de america bus station. Too many up charges for my liking. Greeat staff. Eat at luis I Marisqueria in the alleys near the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I first heard of AC Hotels when they were being acquired by Marriott. When I needed to visit Madrid for a little more than a week, the AC Hotel, Avenida America seemed to fit the bill for me. It is close to the Metro (Avenue de America {2000 ft.} and Cartagena {1500 ft,}) as well as Madrid's excellent city bus service.

My room was contemporary and well-appointed. It was clean and bright, with high-quality bath products. The complimentary, well-stocked (and re-stocked daily) mini-bar was a delightful surprise!

The highlight however, was the courteous and very helpful staff. Each employee was pleasant, smiling, courteous, and very eager to help with whatever we requested. Everyone was able to speak a little English, with some of them displaying good fluency. My broken Spanish was not a barrier. Two of the male desk staff were particularly outstanding. One person's name we did not get, and the other is Enrique Gomez. Both went out of their way to help with directions, travel time we should expect, and various other prejuntas (questions.)

The only negative was the less-than-stellar (free, however) internet connection. Several times, after leaving for many hours, my internet would not connect from the room, and I had to take the laptop to the lobby to re-establish a good connection. This should be easily corrected, but wasn't.

I will heartily recommend AC Hotel, Avenida America to travelers coming to Madrid. Good service, clean, secure rooms, great customer service, and reasonable prices make this a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room away from the street. We had heard of noise problems, but did not experie...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlSuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was quite modern, nice bathroom and shower, bed was very comfortable and the service was lovely. Two problems that I found was that all the English channels had Spanish voice overs so there was no point even turning on the tv and that you had to pay to use the wifi in the room... 6 euros for only 1 hour!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Abba Madrid Hotel
#159 of 438 in Madrid
559 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#43 of 438 in Madrid
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#183 of 438 in Madrid
768 reviews
AC Hotel Los Vascos
#263 of 438 in Madrid
169 reviews
AC Hotel Cuzco
#166 of 438 in Madrid
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Avenida de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Avenida de America

Address: Calle Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $103 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Avenida de America 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel placed in Barrio de Salamanca (one of the most exclusive commercial areas), offers 144 refurbished rooms. Close to Adolfo Suarez Madrid Barajas Airport and IFEMA Fair Center. Just a few minutes from Puerta de Alcala, Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, Auditorio Nacional de Musica and Las Ventas Bullring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Avenida de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing