We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia Galgos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Madrid Serrano
Ranked #135 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this hotel in Madrid as part of a Gate 1 tour of Spain. The rooms are small, but clean, neat, up to date and modern. They are certainly adequate for the amount of time an active tourist would and to stay in a hotel.....and if you go to Madrid to stay in a hotel you're nuts. That having been said, the hotel location is not great. it is located in an upper middle class business/commercial district. Access to the metro (which we always prefer to use) was not good. There are some bus lines within a block or so. Cab fare to the Prado was 7eu: bus fare would have been 3eu. Breakfast was an outstanding and overwhelming buffet. Because it is in a non-tourist neighborhood English is not widely spoken, but you can get by. This would not have been my choice of a hotel, but at part of the tour it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAILSOC381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear SAILSOC381,

Thank you for selecting Meliá Galgos for you vacations and also for taking the time to write your review.

We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay with us.
In our Hotel you will always find us available and attentive to all your needs, the complete satisfaction of our customers is surely our main goal.

We hope to see you again .

Sincerely

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is hotel is the standard big hotel with nothing particular to brag about and nothing to complain about. We stayed four nights and found it very convenient to the metro for getting around. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Our room was always clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridger2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear ridger2222,

Thank you for selecting Meliá Galgos, as well for taking the time to write your review in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services. We hope you will have a beautiful remembers of your vacation and rest sure that your pleasant comments will be reported to all the Staff.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again here at the Meliá Galgos.

Best regards

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in May, the weather was hot but they only put aircon on a 9am!! Making a very sweaty night in the room!! Very weird , have never come across this anywhere else. Otherwise basic Melia city hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for entrusting us with your comments which help us to improve our day-to-day customer service.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the Meliá Galgos.

Best Regards

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in a quiet pocket of the city but within walking distance from the upmarket shopping hub,bars & restaurants.
A very friendly & helpful team at the Front Desk who realised that it was a long haul from Dubai & made sure that we got our room within minutes after arrival. The room though a bit out dated, was very clean & comfortable and the Housekeeping service was spot on! What we missed on waking up every morning was a cup of hot tea/coffee as there was no hospitality tray provided but this apart, the hotel is an ideal choice with easy accessability to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaheraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear TaheraS,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Now already these same comments are helping us improve our day-to-day service. We are also provided with valuable information on your needs and expectations so we can serve you better in the future.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On short-notice, we reserved a room for the weekend (Friday-Sunday) at the Melia Galgos in Madrid. Located in the tony Salamanca neighborhood, it was a great choice. The hotel is just a block to the U.S. Embassy, for those with business there, you couldn't find a more convenient place to stay. There is a Catholic church literally across the street, and a subway stop a mere few blocks away (Nunez de Balboa), which puts the entire city at your disposal. While other hotels might located closer to the main tourist destinations, such at the Palacio de Oriente, Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, this hotel was comfortable, well appointed, and just far enough outside the hustle and bustle to be relaxing -- yet only a short and inexpensive subway to the heart of the tourist scene. The room was very nice, quiet, and a pretty decent size for a hotel in an European capital! The neighborhood is very nice, with loads of boutiques and specialty shops -- sort of like the Upper East Side of New York. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Edward W,

First of all, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time to give us your feedback about your stay.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying the Meliá Galgos, your home in Madrid.

Kind regards,

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed at Melia Galgos on many occasions and most recently in mid April.Its nicely located off Calle Serano and on Calle Claudio Coello which has become very fashionable.Lovely bar and lounge with friendly service.Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.Very pleasant area within this great city and not a tourist hub.Hotel may be slightly old fashioned but embodies solid qualities.La Tulipe a very trendy bar/restaurant is next door and the area has lots to offer in food and drink.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dslatteryDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear dslatteryDublin,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best Regards,

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed again at the Melia Galgos and had a very good time. We could come back late at night and not worry about security because the neighborhood is very safe. The breakfast buffet is still very good and we had friendly service from everyone in the hotel. Another good thing is that there are many good restaurants in the neighborhood. We also spent a morning at the nearby Lazaro Galdiano Museum and had a very enjoyable visit there.

For shopping nearby, try walking along the Calle Lagasca, where there are many boutiques which are interesting and not expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-Gex, E-Guest Experience Department at Melia Madrid Serrano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear BennyMalaga,

Thank you for selecting Meliá Galgos, as well for taking the time to write your review in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services. We hope you will have a beautiful remembers of your vacation and rest sure that your pleasant comments will be reported to all the Staff.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again here at the Meliá Galgos.

Best regards,

E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Galgos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#15 of 441 in Madrid
640 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Suites Barrio de Salamanca Hotel
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#38 of 441 in Madrid
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
NH Madrid Zurbano
#101 of 441 in Madrid
740 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Serrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Serrano

Address: Calle Claudio Coello 139, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Madrid
#94 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#114 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $139 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Madrid Serrano 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madrid Serrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Galgos Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Galgos
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing