We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #151 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
368 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good solid value hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We started our two week trip of Spain in Madrid and selected the AC Hotel Carlton due to their affiliation with Marriott. Overall a very good experience. We enjoyed the location - close to Atocha station and the metro. We walked to the Reina Sofia and Prado. In fact one evening we walked from the Puerta del sol and it was a great experience.

We were traveling with our two kids and upon check in the front desk made certain that we had rooms very close together and really went above and beyond to help us even though we were there well early for check in.

The only challenge was trying to get any kind of coffee in the morning, but a small issue nonetheless.

We'll certainly try this again next time we're in Madrid.

Room Tip: The superior rooms had quite a bit more living space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelmutiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    624
    207
    39
    23
See reviews for
214
567
79
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here the first time we visited Madrid and liked it so much we have just been back. Great location, an easy walk to Atocha train station, the subway, all of the museums/art galleries, hop on hop off bus, Retiro Park and restaurants. We even walked to Sol and the Palace from here. Clean, comfortable, very helpful and friendly reception staff, free wi fi in the lobby and with our room level free mini bar which included sodas, water, juice and beer which were restocked daily. Our 6 ft 2'' son was very comfortable on the sofa bed which was of a very good quality. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Madrid was the first stop on our family European vacation. There were several other hotels that I was seriously considering before I became aware of the AC Carlton. It worked out well, including the fact that it is part of Marriott so I got points as well.

The hotel is located about 10 minute walk from the Atoche station which connects very convenient from the airport. It’s not far enough for a cab, so if you can manage with your luggage (as most tourists do) I suggest you walk. For getting around Madrid, the hotel is just a few blocks north of the La Frontera station. So getting around madrid is really easy from the hotel. Seemingly around the corner is the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, and it’s a 12 minute stroll to the Prado Museum.

The one criticism that has merit is the size of the elevator. The four of us and our luggage was all that could fit. However, to me it part of the charm of traveling in Europe and is to be expected. During our stay we never experienced any extended delay waiting for the elevator, so it is non-issue in my opinion.

The rooms are actually larger than I expected and all have been recently updated. The décor is very modern and clean. The bathroom was larger and roomy. Plenty of hot water and water pressure for showering. We had an upper floor so room overlooked the tops of the neighboring buildings. The hotel is in a mixed commercial and residential street, so there is plenty of activity.

Our rate included the breakfast which was fresh and more than adequate. There is a really nice market a few doors down from the hotels for water, snack, etc. We found ourselves stopping there on our way back each night for snacks before going to the rooms.
Like most Marriott’s, free Wi-Fi is limited to the lobby, so I’m used to that. The lobby is smaller, but never had a problem finding a comfortable spot to sit and check emails. Lastly, the rate was absolutely fantastic compared to other properties. Traveling as a family and requiring two rooms, I don’t feel we compromised in any way be selecting this hotel.

On the return to the airport we took the early Airport Express bus at the Atoche station. This was very convenient as well.

Can’t wait to get back to Madrid for some more shopping, and I will stay at the AC Carlton again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms probably better because street noise goes well into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoKappa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the AC Hotel Carlton Madrid for two nights in July and highly recommend it. Being our first time in Madrid, the hotel was conveniently located walking distance from Atocha Train Station. The staff was helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean - what I expect from a Marriot. There is a charge for wifi in the room but found no need as I was able to use the free wifi in the lobby to communicate back home. We were very happy that we opted for the breakfast package as it was delicious and the buffet included pasteries, eggs to order, fresh fruit, an array of Spanish style ham, juice, coffee, etc. It was a great way to start our exploring of the city! If you would like to see pics of the hotel and from our trip they will be up shortly at www.santymartinezblog.com. Happy travels!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographyBySanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel is not in the middle of the hot nightlife, but it's close enough! It's a 10 minute walk to the Reina Sophia Museum, 10 min from the Prado museum, and 20 min from the Thyssen museum, and is centrally located to the Atocha station. In fact, I walked all the way to the Puerto del Sol The first evening out. The hotel is modest in appearance, but I was very impressed with the size of the bedroom and bathroom in the Superior room. Huge by eu standards!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor. I was in 412, heard no road or guest noise. However, nor, their is no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLO1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed this Marriott property near La Reina Sofia Modern art Museum (one of my favorite museums anywhere) and Atocha Train station, in the heart of Madrid. It had a modern, almost Eastern-inspired theme design and infrastructure inside the hotel rooms which was surprising but appreciated by us. It reminded us of a Japanese-esque look but mixed with a Spanish. The staff was friendly, and direct. Around the neighborhood, we found great tapas bars and restaurants. I had a Morcilla sandwich and Cafe con Leche across the street that was outstanding. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Our only criticism was that breakfast was not included in the package and that the gym was closed when we attempted to use. It needs to be open by staff. Also, there was no concierge or executive lounge. However, again, very good price for a very nice room and hotel interior.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and what you would expect of a Marriott. We found a mix of friendly and not so friendly staff. The location is nice if you want to be near the Atocha Station. We walked to various parks and attractions. The neighborhood had grocery stores, pharmacies, lots of restaurants but kind of dodgy at night.

Beds are two twins put together as a double.

The biggest complaint was the street noise. We could not leave our windows open at all. The room had a steel shade that came down and heavy curtains so we just slept with the AC on.

Room Tip: See is there is one away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLinCBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#191 of 436 in Madrid
772 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 436 in Madrid
1,912 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 436 in Madrid
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#138 of 436 in Madrid
320 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#198 of 436 in Madrid
885 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 436 in Madrid
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing