We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #156 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, good location”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The reviews of this hotel are relatively spot on. The reception staff are not great, they're very slow, slightly lacking in manners etc but overall I spent around 15 minutes checking in/checking out so didn't experience any major issues there. The building is nice, with a large lounge area where guests can use WI-FI, i didn't use this though. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bathroom was lovely, although the bright light above the mirror gets very hot and makes the bathroom slightly uncomfortable. Beds were comfy. We were staying in an inward room so cannot complain about outside noise. I agree that the cleaning staff are very loud though, I think the walls are too thin which is not really something the hotel can change. One morning we were woken around 5am by the cleaning staff and constant door slamming but it only lasted around 30 minutes (as they moved on to other rooms).

I would advise staying here for a short, cheap stay. For the price of the room you really cannot complain for what you receive. Neat, clean, tidy, well decorated room with all amenities. Gym facilities are lovely too if required. We didn't eat any food here, it was ridiculously priced.

Room Tip: Inward facing room, other reviews say the road facing rooms are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteahoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    635
    209
    41
    24
See reviews for
218
577
81
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Such an excellent location. Close to public transport, tourist bus, train station and museums such as prado. The staff were so lovely and friendly. Only downside was that it was about 17 euros to have wifi in your room so that was frustrating but great connection in the lobby. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley1981
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with a lovely complimentary, mini bar, spectacular bathroom, and spacious rooms for Europe. The staff were kind and very helpful and it is located a block or two from the Reina Sofia museum. I loved everything about this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again! Book a room you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you go after 3-4 to the Reina Sofia museum admission is free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the AC Carlton for four nights ending 5/7. We were updated to a corner suite that was terrific. The hotel tends to be a little noisy because of the center courtyard design and the amount of wood.

The front desk manager Julio was fantastic. He was very helpful with several issues about the room and made great recommendations for dinner. His attitude and his winning smile were great to experience everyday. The wait staff was also helpful bit we did not eat at the hotel.

The hotel is two blocks from the train station and the Renia Sofia museum. Four blocks from the Prado and their Central Park. A great location.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Madrid was the last leg in our 2 week European Odysee. It was also my favorite leg of the trip, hotel not withstanding. We booked this hotel, because our travel companion's mother is a Marriott employee. I love Marriott, but this hotel definitely did not meet my usual Marriott standards. Location is decent, but not great. Walk able to metro and Atocha train station, as well as prado, reina sofia museums. First issue we had was with temperature control. It was about 55 degrees Farenheit outside, but the lobby, and the rooms were very warm. Uncomfortably warm. We tried to change the temperature with the controls in the room. Did not work, and the the front desk could do nothing to solve it. To remedy the problem, we had to open the windows, which produced an incredible amount of traffic noise. While the rooms were spacious, and very clean, the water temperature fluctuated very often while showering. It would go from hot, to scalding, and from hot to freezing. Lobby is tiny and cramped, as well as tiny elevators. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Nicolas M,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve.

We are very sorry for the negative impression you have from our hotel.

We apologise for the problem you had with the air-conditioning, it was an exceptional problem due to the hot weather temperatures improper for the month of April. Now it has been resolved.

Thank you for your comment about the shower, we will observe it. It must be a puntual problem, because we don't have any comment from other rooms.

Thank you for your comments again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel was in an excellent location, easy access to the subway, and main tourist attractions. Room was very clean and tidy, loads of space, with a large bathroom also.
Staff were very friendly and keen to offer advice when asked. Breakfast was a little over expensive for what we were willing to pay, and the key card did lock us out of our room once or twice. The view from our window wasn't brilliant either (we looked into a 'courtyard') but I guess you don't visit a city to look out of a hotel window!
Overall thoroughly recommended if you want a reasonably priced hotel, in a good location, with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent one night at the AC Carlton Madrid. It was a very nice hotel. Comfortable rooms. Great location. And most importantly an amazing staff. I inadvertently walked off left an item in the room safe and didn't realize it until I was getting ready to depart Madrid. At first I couldn't remember where I left it when suddenly I remembered having put it in the safe in my room at the Carlton. The problem was that I had opened the safe and left it that way upon leaving the room to check out, but forgot to take the item with me. I knew it had to be there.
When I returned to the hotel, they had retrieved the item from the locker and held it for me.
I would like to commend their staff for their honesty and trustworthiness. When I offered to tip them for their services, the man at the front desk politely declined and said that doing such a thing was simply part of the business they do. I was very impressed with him, and my thanks go out to the housekeeping crew and their honesty. I stayed at the hotel on the evening of March 30, 2013, checking out on March 31. Thank you, AC Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfriderCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#195 of 436 in Madrid
791 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#68 of 436 in Madrid
528 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 436 in Madrid
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#139 of 436 in Madrid
348 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#10 of 436 in Madrid
442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#199 of 436 in Madrid
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing