We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location close to Atocha” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #158 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location close to Atocha”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is a good solid choice of hotel in a good location, just a short walk from Atocha station from which you can get the metro to Sol and the centre of Madrid. The hotel itself is nicely furbished and clean. Upon check in at 10pm on a sunday night, I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was very helpful and suggested I take a room on the first floor as it had access to the lobby free WIFI. Unfortunately, this was not the case as the signal was too weak to connect but it was a nice hint anyway. The room was nice with a huge bathroom, great shower and smaller bedroom but comfortable bed. The minibar is not free so please ignore reviews which state this. All in all the hotel was clean, comfortable and with some nice touches such as the large bathroom. On the downside though, do not use the hotel room phone as the charges are extortionate! There is also quite a lot of noise from the bathrooms of other guests. Also, the food in the hotel is overpriced for Madrid and whilst ok, isnt very satisfying for the price. I also had the buffet breakfast which had a good selection of bread and cold meats but not much hot food and for 17 euros felt this wasnt value for money. My only other negative is the front desk receptionist in the day time isnt very friendly. I asked if he could help me send a letter and he pointed me to a shop to buy stamps where they didnt speak english. most hotels will offer to post it for you.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter and you may get use of the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    603
    197
    37
    23
See reviews for
206
542
78
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was there for two nights, very close to train station. Great service by staff. Free Internet only in lobby area, in room Internet was 12€ per night. Very well done room, spacious. I will definitely will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Good location due to its walking distance to various museums, restaurants, train and bus stations. The staff was friendly and helpful. One of the gentlemen at the front desk was thoughtful enought to give me his umbrella to go outside in the rain. There is a supermarket on the corner.


TIP:
For US travellers, please be aware that your debit/credit cards may not work in Spain. Even after I contacted my bank and verified my location, I was unable to use the ATM. Be prepared and bring euros or get a euro visa card before arriving in the country. Your card may/may not work at checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location is good. This hotel is walking distance to Prado Museum.
Size of the room is big enough... Reception is not so friendly.
WIFI is free at the Lobby. Wifi in the rooms is not free even if you are a Marriott Time Share owner.
Buffet Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Okay, let's start with the reason that I haven't rated five stars, because the hotel itself could have had five stars: The reception staff.

What a complete lack of communication, common sense and interest.

We booked the hotel through a third party agent at a very good price. We paid much less for much more. We got an excellent deal through Voyages Prive.

Included in the deal was bed and breakfast, upgraded room, free wifi in the room and a complimentary basket of fruit. We organised directly with Marriott Hotels via Twitter that we would have a double bed rather than twins.

On arrival we were told that we were getting two singles. When we protested and explained that Marriott had already agreed to the double bed they changed us the room. This room was on a higher floor and the wifi up there was provided by an external company for which they would have to give us a password. The password could only be used on one device and we had four between us. So we needed four passwords. They said that we would have to share the password as they were not willing to give us another. Obviously this was unacceptable as we needed to work also.

By this time there was a queue forming behind us so we left it and checked in. We contacted Marriott via Twitter again and asked them to intervene. All we wanted was another password for the wifi (there was a big pile of them behind the reception desk).

The next day after breakfast we went to the reception and asked to speak to the manager. The receptionist went into the office behind the reception and came back with a message from the manager. When we said something else she went back to the office and came back with another message. The manager did not have the curtesy to come and speak to us even though we had specifically requested that he do so. The receptionist told us (after one of her visits to the office where the manager was) that we had paid less for the room than the normal price and that was the reason they wouldn't give us a password each for the wifi! Despite the fact that the hotel had made this deal with Voyages Prive and despite that free wifi in the room is what was offered.

Obviously after being told that because we'd got a good rate we didn't exactly deserve the same treatment as other guests we were pretty outraged. We asked for an official complaining form, which they were more content to give us than a second wifi password.

Luckily, later that day Marriott got in touch with the hotel and apologised to us via Twitter, assuring us that when we returned to the hotel later we would have a password each. This was 24 hours after the initial problem. Absolutely unacceptable. However, we did get a different reception on our return; the attitude had changed completely and they couldn't do enough for us. And at least the problem was finally sorted.

And when we got back to the room, not only could we both use the internet but there was also a bowl of fruit waiting for us, which we had completely written off.

This started off as a little problem but due to such terrible customer service and irrational stubbornness it escalated and turned into a 24 hour battle.

Everything else about the hotel was great:
The room was spacious and comfortable with a very comfy bed, a nice shower and central heating.
The breakfast was excellent, especially the different selection of Spanish omelettes every day.
And the cleaning staff and restaurant staff were great.
The lounge area in the lobby was often busy and had a nice atmosphere doubling as a bar.

The location is not that central; it's about a 20 minute walk to the Gran Via but the hotel is very close to the museum area and there are plenty of bars and cafes around there.

Room Tip: Wifi doesn't reach higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LisaMarieSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great location by Atocha Station and galleries. Room was like a mini apartment and was very quiet. Appreciated the complimentary soft drinks in the mini-bar. Nice supermarket next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The only reason we chose this hotel was due to its proximity to the Atocha Station. We had made Madrid as our hub and had to take the AVE trains to different cities quite frequently.
The hotel is good. It provides the facility of free minibar and it is refilled everyday. The hop-on hop-off bus station is also quite close. The breakfast is average. Nothing much to offer.
The guy who checked us in was very courteous. Since we had arrived quite early from Barcelona , he was kind enough to offer us one room and told us to take the other room once we returned back from sightseeing.
When we returned back late at night , there was only one old guy at the front desk. There was a long line of people waiting to check-in and we had to wait for half an hour just to collect our key. Finally when it was my turn , the guy gave us the key and told us our room no. We all went to that room and found it to be occupied. When we came down and inquired him about this faux pas , he took our key and justified himself by saying that he never said it was that room no. There were a few people there who took my side as they too had heard him when he had told me the room no. Finally we got to relax in our room after an hour or so of this unnecessary confusion.
On checkout , the same guy ( unfortunately ) was there. He again took 15 minutes just to check us out. He was very confused and kept swiping my credit card again and again and was not so clear what to do on the computer.
The only staff member who was actually very good was the guy who checked us in. He was a very nice gentleman.He was the only one who spoke fluent English.He was there even when we left the hotel and wished us a nice goodbye.
I would recommend the hotel to make a slope so that heavy luggage can be taken inside with the help of the wheels rather than us picking them up and walking down the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puhup_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#186 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#139 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#194 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing