We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice rooms and free minibar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #144 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and free minibar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are modern, well kept. Minibar is complimentary and it is a great ideia. They should make wifi in rooms complimentary as well. Breakfast was OK. We got a great rate through hotelsclub, around EUR 100 for a triple room inclusive of breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    556
    180
    35
    19
See reviews for
194
502
74
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good hotel close to Renfe Atocha train station and walking distance from the"Golden Triangle of Art", The Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza, and the Reina Sofia museums. Room was small which is typical of most European hotels but clean and comfortable. The front staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Overall a good hotel and great for guests who are stickler for Marriott points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreeClimber
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was in Madrid for business for two weeks. Rooms are large for Europe. Ask for an interior room to keep it quite. Walls are thin as are the floors. Can hear a lot of the neighbors walking. Most of the time, they only had one person behind the desk and they were very helpful, but with only one person, there was ALWAYS a line that you had to wait, even if to ask a simple question. There was also someone smoking on my floor, and the desk did nothing when I complained. They also said we could get the train to Segovia from the nearby Atocha train station....which you can not. Lost an hour over that. Fitness room was always locked, but unopened when called.

Hotel is very close to all the museums and squares, and two subway lines. It is also very convenient to the Atocha train station.

Not Hotel related: Pickpockets are very good on the Subways. Expect all ages to be pickpockets. Two of my coworkers were pickpocketed....

Room Tip: Ask for interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are very sorry for your bad impressions of our hotel during your stay. We would like to clarify that there are trains from Atocha station to Segovia, and that in the front desk there is always enough staff to serve our clients, one or two dependind on the demand, we are very sorry that you have to wait so much to be attended.

We apologise for the inconvenience with the fitness center because the fitness center must be open at any time the client want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good business class hotel in a reasonable location close to the main Atocha railway station. The room was fine and the breakfasts were excellent. Unfortunately my stay was spoiled by the fact that our next door neighbours may as well have been staying in our room! We could hear every word they said - not really a problem during the day but not very nice at 1 o'clock in the morning. When are hotels that are classed as 4-star going to start doing something about sound-proofing their rooms?
No fault can be found with the staff who were all very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have a room with no-one next door everything should be fine. How to achieve that?!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyjames81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. If we knew the room number we could analyze the problem and try to look for a solution.

Thank you for helping us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

In Madrid for 4 days. Easy to get to from the airport to the train station. We took day trips to Segovia and Toledo by train, so it was the perfect location two blocks from the station. Easy walk to the old city for exploration. Hotel room was modern and spacious. Grocery store a block away where we bought an entirely adequate bottle of wine for 1,65 euro.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gothamNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We wanted a hotel for an overnight stay and as we were using the train from the airport & again taking an early moring train to Cordoba the location of the hotel was very convenient. 3-4 minutes walk from/to Atocha. Hotel itself is very modern and clean. Very large bathrooms with excellent fixtures, tiling,etc. City center is about 5-7 min by cab. Can also take the metro which is 2-3 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank najmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent three days in Madrid on business and couldn't think of a better base.

First of all - clean room with a double bed. One of the best bathrooms I've seen on a business trip in a long time - it looked like it had just been refurbished. Excellent shower with great water pressure and huge shower head.

Free internet with good reliable speed.

Excellent breakfast buffet.

Free minibar in the room - albeit sans-alcohol, but a nice surprise when you are not charged for bottled water during checkout. Reasonably priced restaurant (although I didn't eat at the hotel).

Finally, what really helped me make up my mind about this hotel (or rathre the entire AC chain of Marriott) is another AC hotel where I spent the last day of my trip (can't remember which one exactly it is, it's very close to the airport) - it was near my client's office, so had lots of time to kill inbetween meetings. They have a business area with - again - free internet, where one can work even if one sin't staying at the hotel.

Really - next time I'm in Madrid, I will definitely stay at AC Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed, not two singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Great_Expectations75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#175 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#110 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#105 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#129 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#191 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#164 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing