We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled by paper-thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #152 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spoiled by paper-thin walls!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good business class hotel in a reasonable location close to the main Atocha railway station. The room was fine and the breakfasts were excellent. Unfortunately my stay was spoiled by the fact that our next door neighbours may as well have been staying in our room! We could hear every word they said - not really a problem during the day but not very nice at 1 o'clock in the morning. When are hotels that are classed as 4-star going to start doing something about sound-proofing their rooms?
No fault can be found with the staff who were all very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have a room with no-one next door everything should be fine. How to achieve that?!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyjames81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. If we knew the room number we could analyze the problem and try to look for a solution.

Thank you for helping us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    624
    207
    39
    23
See reviews for
214
568
79
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

In Madrid for 4 days. Easy to get to from the airport to the train station. We took day trips to Segovia and Toledo by train, so it was the perfect location two blocks from the station. Easy walk to the old city for exploration. Hotel room was modern and spacious. Grocery store a block away where we bought an entirely adequate bottle of wine for 1,65 euro.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gothamNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We wanted a hotel for an overnight stay and as we were using the train from the airport & again taking an early moring train to Cordoba the location of the hotel was very convenient. 3-4 minutes walk from/to Atocha. Hotel itself is very modern and clean. Very large bathrooms with excellent fixtures, tiling,etc. City center is about 5-7 min by cab. Can also take the metro which is 2-3 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank najmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent three days in Madrid on business and couldn't think of a better base.

First of all - clean room with a double bed. One of the best bathrooms I've seen on a business trip in a long time - it looked like it had just been refurbished. Excellent shower with great water pressure and huge shower head.

Free internet with good reliable speed.

Excellent breakfast buffet.

Free minibar in the room - albeit sans-alcohol, but a nice surprise when you are not charged for bottled water during checkout. Reasonably priced restaurant (although I didn't eat at the hotel).

Finally, what really helped me make up my mind about this hotel (or rathre the entire AC chain of Marriott) is another AC hotel where I spent the last day of my trip (can't remember which one exactly it is, it's very close to the airport) - it was near my client's office, so had lots of time to kill inbetween meetings. They have a business area with - again - free internet, where one can work even if one sin't staying at the hotel.

Really - next time I'm in Madrid, I will definitely stay at AC Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed, not two singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Great_Expectations75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Location: a short walk from the Atocha train station and metro station, so easy if you want to take a train to example Toledo or metro to the city center. The surroundings are typically for a train station area, but the city center, park and the museum area are just around the corner.
Staff: very friendly and helpfull!!! You feel welcomed directly!
Room: very nice and clean.
Restaurant: we only took breakfast and it was very nice, fresh fruit, eggs, ... and they refill very frequent.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inner court, so no view but very quiet. If you have a street view, you prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a modern, good Marriott brand hotel. We've stayed for 2 nights when we arrived to Madrid and then, came back for 1 night when taking off. It is a good base for vacation since it is close to the subway and the train station. The room is very modern, spotless clean and nicely appointed as expected from a Marriott property. The lobby is rather small but internet is free in the lobby, so you better use it over there. The second time we've got a suite on the 1st floor, so we were able to use the lobby internet in the room.
My only complain would be the scarce personnel at the reception. When we checked in the second time, we had to wait 20 minutes for the other 2 guests at the reception because there was only one person serving all of us. Also, I wanted to order something at the bar one afternoon and there was no one but a sign indicating to ask at the reception. Of course there was a line-up at the reception and only one employee taking care of the guests, so logically he did not care about my drink when being busy with 2 or 3 other check in's to do. I am not saying this is a bad service, but I am wondering how come there is a 25% unemployment rate in Spain and I am on a line up at the reception of a Marriott brand hotel due to the lack of personnel. At any Marriott property in US or Canada, there are 2 or more employees to do the check-in at the reception anytime during the day.
Fitness room is rather poor, so if this aspect really matters for you, better pick somewhere else. Anyway, not a big deal for us since the hotel overall met our expectations and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudetteSouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very nice hotel, a short walk to the Renfe Atocha train station. Room was clean and comfortable (#204). We faced the main street with an excellent view of the community happenings. And although not on a high floor location, there was very little street noise.Front desk staff and very helpful with maps and directions.

The buffet breakfast is excellent. Everything is available. Their coffee is very good.

It is more of a business traveler hotel (small efficient lobby) but its location is perfect if you prefer staying in a residential area versus "hotel row" for a 'truer' flavor of Madrid.

Very good restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, banks, pharmacies, and more, are all within walking distance.

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Renfe Atocha train station, affording us an easy day-trip to Toledo, and an easy departure to our next destination (Malaga).

Room Tip: For lunch and or, a light dinner, eat at, "100 Montaditos" - a VERY inexpensive chain of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTONIO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#191 of 435 in Madrid
773 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 435 in Madrid
1,914 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#62 of 435 in Madrid
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#138 of 435 in Madrid
321 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#198 of 435 in Madrid
885 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 435 in Madrid
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing