We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average facilities and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Ranked #175 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights. On the first night we requested to change rooms as our beds kept moving every time we turned around.

They moved us to a second room knowing the heating system was broken. The room was boiling hot, despite having the windows wide open we were sweating in winter!!

They moved us then to a third room which was right next to the theatre at the back. It was really noisy, we could hear the two daily performances of something that sounded like the Lion king performance for free as we could hear everything!

It seems in this hotel when you ask for a better service they punish you with something worse than what you initially had.

To close this experience when we left the 'the helpful' receptionist offered to load our luggage in the taxi, however he forgot one of our suitcases. Unfortunately we only realised when we were taking them out of the taxi at the airport. We had to call them up to arrange for the suitcase to be sent to us in a taxi otherwise we would miss out flight.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Flashback02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our stay was perfect - clean rooms, quiet - faultless. The location is practically next door to Callao metro and 5- 10 mins walk from Sol. Would definitely stay there again. We noticed on the last day that we had left our passports in the safe and reception kindly gave them to us when we picked up our luggage.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mariposa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Madrid. It is right next to the metro station Callao and you can practically walk to any major attractions in the city in 15-20 minutes. There is really no need to use the metro for sightseeing if you're based in this hotel.

Inside the hotel, there are obvious signs of wear and tear throughout the property - chipped walls in the room, stained tile grouts in the bathroom, plug to wash basin not working properly etc. The bed itself is comfortable but there is no proper duvet with duvet covers. Only old-style wool blanket protected by bed sheets is provided.

If you are visiting in the winter months, I would suggest you request for a room where you can open the window for natural ventilation. The main reason is the air-conditioning in some rooms (we have 2 rooms and 1 of them is fine) is not working properly. It only blows out hot air and the room does get uncomfortably hot and stuffy.

The hotel lobby is very dark and the seating area certainly requires improvement. I appreciate they were trying to create the 'chic' look when the hotel first opened but it is not working anymore.

We got an amazing deal from lastminute.com so I must say the hotel is very good value for money, especially given its location. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable enough stay in Madrid but would suggest you look elsewhere for a more refined experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sending us your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking, but deeply regret that we were not able to meet the rest of your expectations and that specific details were not to your liking. We will bear very closely in mind each and every one of your comments in order to continue improving our service and facilities.
We would also like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed so we apologize if during your stay there was a particular problem with the process that caused the problems you describe and we will take additional measures so it does not occur again. In any case, despite that our facilities are under ongoing revision, any guests who detect a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception and our staff will proceed to take care of it as quickly as possible, trying at all times to make the guest´s stay be pleasant and enjoyable. Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in Vincci Capitol for four nights.

pros:

-Centrally located (Vincci Capitol is very well situated just off Plaza Callao)
-Polite and helpful staff to deal with your enquiries
-Spacious and clean rooms
-Breakfast buffet was good
-Free high speed wifi network in the room

Cons:

-wifi network needs improvement in the other parts of the hotel such as lobby or breakfast floor
-lobby needs more light (too dark when you come in the hotel)

I would definetely recommend this hotel. It's a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are really satisfied to know that our location, staff, rooms & breakfast buffet were all to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We regret, though, that some aspects of your stay were not to your liking. We can assure you, in this regard, that we will take note of all of your feedback: it will help us improve the service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great hotel in the centre of Madrid (ideally placed for tourists) clean with polite helpful staff. we don't eat or drink in hotels so cannot comment on that side but Hotel is worth staying at if you are in Madrid central. Great place for breakfast dead opposite across the road on the corner but do go to the downstairs seating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSCosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a great hotel, the location is fantastic and you are very close to the centre of Madrid, pretty much everything is in walking distance and you also have the metro for anything further afield.

The staff on the desk were friendly and helpful, and spoke good English (better than most of Madrid), and had our room ready for us even though we arrived early. We didn't eat in the restaurant or drink at the bar, but the food seems reasonably priced for a city-centre hotel (They seemed to have an offer on for a breakfast buffet for 18 Euros)

Our room was mostly pleasant, but unfortunately did have it's niggles. Every time we used the shower (in which the floor was 3 ceramic slats placed over some kind of pit where you could see rusted pipework, the slats also wobble if you step on them in some places) the bathroom flooded. The toilet also drove us spare as it took a good five minutes of fiddling after each flush to get it to stop filling (there didn't seem to be any pattern we could discern, sometimes we couldn't even fix it and just had to let it constantly fill for hours). The bathroom also seems to be somehow connected to other rooms (possibly via the air conditioning?), quite often whilst brushing my teeth or using the toilet I would hear a cough or someone say something which is slightly unusual.

Overall though this is a nice place to stay, you can tell that when it was originally built it was top of the line and probably worthy of it's four stars, but now everything is getting worn and in some places has been visibly patched up. I think if it was inspected again it would probably get 3 stars. We can't complain though as we came out for a long weekend on a very reasonably priced package deal which included flights from Heathrow.

Room Tip: The North side probably has a better view as you would be looking out onto the Gran Via, whereas we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sending us your opinions and feedback, which we will bear very closely in mind in order to continue improving our service and facilities.
We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking and that you were satisfied with the treatment you received from our staff. Our guest´s satisfaction is always our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We would also like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed so we apologize if during your stay there was a particular problem with the process that caused the problems you describe with the bathroom and we will take measures so that they do not occur again.
In any case, despite that our facilities are under ongoing revision, any guests who detect a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception, as you did, and our staff will proceed to take care of the problem as quickly as possible, trying at all time to make the guest´s stay be pleasant and enjoyable.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean. only criticism was that there are no tea or coffee making facilities but this seems to be the norm. There is also an excellent café over the road which does really good breakfasts. The metro is really close by and very easy to use. would recommend taking the deal offered on Easyjet for the metro and bus ticket as saved us a fortune.

Room Tip: higher floors have good views of the Grand Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 437 in Madrid
1,504 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#75 of 437 in Madrid
1,056 reviews
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Capitol Hotel

Address: Calle Gran Via 41, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
#106 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#122 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $141 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid: the Hotel Vincci Capitol, located right on the Gran Vía and Plaza Callao. It is a building symbolic of Madrid’s “Art Deco” civil architecture. The ground floor houses one of the most famous cinemas on Madrid’s Gran Vía, Cines Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing