We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rest NOT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Ranked #167 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, rest NOT”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location is near perfect when you are walking around the city centre.
Hotel was very tidy for a spanish hotel.
Personnel reminded of prison guards, they were there but not for you. Not a single word of hotel information during 4 days of stay. Now what so ever information in the room either. We found out there was a spa when we were leaving. We had to ask about the breakfast, like everything else. Dont know if there was a restaurant, no one told.
Nice architecture! Wardrobe has the coat hangers 2m10 high, like upper shelves. Who can reach there? No place for wet overcoat or anything else. No mirror in the room. Blind curtains dont move without violence and you have a 10 meters wide commercial info screen flashing opposite your window day in day out. Chairs were designed for top models, your middle age [--] dont come out of them once you managed to squeeze in and I am not fat. And above all, the light switches. "intelligent" switches which make their own decicions which lights go on and which go off. You get all on/off. Dont wish to get bathroom only, because it is a no can do. Very nice when you try to get there in the night without waking her up by switching all on. When you switch bed side reading light on, everything else gets dimmed etc... Oh, almost forgot, switches are named in Spanish and are miniature sized. How this hotel can be rated four stars? Because there is one with 7* in Dubai??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location, though regret that we did not completely meet your expectations and that you were not pleased with certain aspects of your stay. In this regard, we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and feedback, always in order to improve.
We are sorry as well that you were not entirely pleased with our rooms. In this regard we would like to clarify that we have available nine different types of rooms (standard, standard with terrace, standard with Jacuzzi, superior, Skylight, junior suite, Fila 4, Fila 5 and Fila 6) with the aim of completely adapting ourselves to the tastes and needs of our guests. Those guests who are not happy with the room they have been assigned can notify us and always in so far as it is possible, our staff will offer a change of room trying at all times to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Regarding our lighting system, we would like to mention that we have an advanced lighting system that allowed regulating the light for different settings so that each guest can find the optimal lighting for their taste and every moment. However, those guests who have difficulties adjusting their room´s lighting can notify us and our staff will immediately assist them.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that our staff offer information about the hotel and tourist information about the city to any guest who requests it and at all times try to help them with whatever they may need, so we apologize if you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this and we regret any inconveniences it caused.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    622
    240
    91
    54
See reviews for
180
741
74
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
twoollard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed as a couple for two nights and with a few tweaks I think place could have been perfect. It is centrally located and next door to a metro stop. We in fact didn't need to use public transport as we were pretty much in 20 minutes walking distance of everything we had planned to see. Our room was on floor 7 right next to the roof terrace which was fantastic, because in the evening we could watch the sun go down over Madrid whilst having a drink from our room's fridge! The room was a good size, modern, bathroom kitted out with even a bidet(!), and lighting options such as 'Morning', 'Relax' and so on which was a nice touch. Breakfast was for the most part continental however they did have scrambled egg and bacon for us Brits. It was also served until 11am (weekends only I think) so we didn't have to get up too early. In addition, the hotel has its own spa facilities, which you have to book and pay extra for (48 euros for an hour). The advantage, however, is that you book just for two people so it is quite romantic. We did this, and were collected from our room by the housekeeper with robes, slippers etc, and were taken to a spa room with a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, tropical shower and ice fountain. It was fantastic. My only complaint would be that the steam room was not working and you had to pay extra to use the hotel's WIFI services. Given that this hotel is not cheap, I would say this should be included within your package. Overall though, we had a great time, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Roof terrace is on floor 7. I think there is another viewing area on the top floor - 9 I think - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid. It is a pleasure for us to read your feedback and know that you were satisfied with the hotel, overall with its location, the views from your room, the bathroom, the lighting system, the breakfast buffet and the spa. Surely, feedback like yours motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels continues being pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret, though, that you were not pleased with the Wifi connection. We will bear close in mind your opinions in order to continue improving.
However, we would like to clarify that in our rooms we have available free internet connection, both by cable and via Wifi, and also we have free Wifi in the communal areas. To use the Wifi it is only necessary to request a password from our staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really well located, the rooms were a surprising delight with lovely mood lighting options (although could have done with one bright light). Good sized, modern bathroom with bath and shower. Nice decor and internal-facing rooms are quiet. Breakfast buffet was good and worth paying for with lots of choice and great fresh juices.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal-facing room as in a really busy location - didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-and-Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time in mainland Spain;
Dining service experience varied to some not speaking English I just got by with basic Spanish;
Room basic yet clean;
More style than substance as it would have been nice to have hot beverages in room;
Reception staff highly professional and polite;
No UK channels despite screen menu saying so;
Take ear plugs sirens wake you up at least once an hour overnight;
Booze aplenty in minibar if you want to 'relax';
Excellent location as it is on Gran Via and heart of city as also near Puerta del Sol;
May go back in future - undecided.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkyt1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for deciding to publish your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that you liked our location and that you found the treatment you received from our reception staff pleasant and professional. Our guest´s satisfaction is without a doubt our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay. We are also sorry that, in spite of our sophisticated soundproofing system, you were disturbed by exterior noises.
We will bear close in mind each and every one of your observations, complaints, suggestions and comments in order to improve and adapt ourselves as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are extremely useful for doing so. So we will take good note of yours in order to continue improving our service and facilities.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided on an early break away and decided on Madrid. We chose this hotel for its central location and closeness to places we wanted to visit. It is a very stylish and modern hotel which was nice but it is in need of some tlc when it comes to decor. Chipped paint and damage in rooms. It was clean the staff very good and we paid for B&B. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. Scrambled eggs and bacon available each day along with the usual continental options. We were happy to stay there and enjoyed the time we were there, would we go back? No at the rate we paid I think would be able to find better in todays market. Highlight was the roof terrace and views over the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are sound proofed and quiet our room 507 didn't have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryh227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen Vincci Hotels and for sending us your opinions and observations. We are happy to read that you liked the establishment´s location, it´s decoration, cleaning, the treatment you received from our staff, the breakfast buffet and the views from the roof. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, though, that some details were not entirely to your liking. In this regard we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and feedback, always in order to improve.
We would also like to add that all of our facilities are under an ongoing process of improvement and renovation in order to maintain them in as perfect a state as possible.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the first time for us in Madrid and we were delighted with our overall stay. Upon arrival we were greeted professionally. The room smelled good, the room furniture was clean and comfortable, the bed was clean and inviting, the bathroom was clean with all amenities, the room and bathroom were very inviting, and it all looked new and modern. The walls were clean and all looked new. The breakfast was great with many selections and sit down service, which we had it included in our room charge. The staff at breakfast was very helpful, attentive and polite. Whenever we needed something it took almost no time for us to receive it. I got a very bad cold a few days after arrival and called room service for hot water for my tea and they brought it over immediacy with different types of sugars and coffee cup at no charge. We really enjoyed our stay and cannot to return. This definitely has opened the door to staying at other Vincci Hotels and hope the experience will be as great as this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaysaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I decided to spend my 40th birthday with my boyfriend in this well known landmark in Madrid. I booked the room right at the top (skylight room). First time I have had a private lift go straight to my bedroom ... :-)
The room was very clean, the jacuzzi worked without a problem, the views were stunning, the service was almost immediate and very polite.
Location of the hotel is spot on for a bit of tourism, with loads of things within walking distance
I would go again, and I would recommend it every time.
If you can afford it book the skylight room... You get 360 degree view of Madrid from the very heart of the city

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#117 of 435 in Madrid
1,461 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#78 of 435 in Madrid
1,006 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#20 of 435 in Madrid
548 reviews
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#108 of 435 in Madrid
1,542 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Capitol Hotel

Property: Vincci Capitol Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 41, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
#106 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#116 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid: the Hotel Vincci Capitol, located right on the Gran Vía and Plaza Callao. It is a building symbolic of Madrid’s “Art Deco” civil architecture. The ground floor houses one of the most famous cinemas on Madrid’s Gran Vía, Cines Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing