We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel bad lighting and security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Ranked #163 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
NSW
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel bad lighting and security”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I booked this hotel as it said it was 4 star. In Spain the hotels rate themselves so do not by the star rating. When we arrived we asked for a room on 9th floor it cost extra but it's worth it. It was room 901 and it had great views. Lamps in room had no bulbs. Lighting was at best dim not unlike a vampire crypt but bright burn your eyes our bathroom lights. Also at midnight the TV would just turn on and scare the daylights out of you! Their security is not very good and Madrid is high crime with a bad vibe. Within 20 mins of landing from Australia via LA I had been robbed they stole my passport and 2 credit cards! So terrible. Anyway I was in the glass elevator of the hotel a man got in on floor 4 and stayed staring at me up to floor 9. I got out so did he and he linger for me to do God knows what I was terrified pounding on my dole for my friend to let me in. Once inside I rang reception they do not speak much English. She could not understand me so did nothing. I went down again in morning and told the English speaking lady and she made some vague reference to checking security footage. She was not surprised and was totally blasé even though she did say sorry. So pluses are it's in a good location and it's clean. Bad is not many staff speak English and poor security. Also it's in a busy part of city so there are lots of beggars and homeless people cluttering up the entry to hotel and vomit as well from tourists who overdo it!

Room Tip: 9th floor as its in a very noisy area there was vomit on entrance as it's really touristy part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Esteemed guest,
First off, we´d like to thank you for publishing your comments regarding your experience during your stay in our hotel. We regret that your stay had not been what you had expected. Because of this we´d like to inform you that we take note of all observations, complaints, suggestions and comments from clients, always with the aim of improving. However, we´d like to clarify that although it is indeed a busy area, all rooms are soundproofed so that one should not be able to hear exterior noise. We´d like to further add that all of the reception staff speaks English, as to be able to communicate with guests and give them adequate attention.
Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction and your opinions are always most useful in helping us do so.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    614
    238
    91
    51
See reviews for
173
731
73
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would definitely recommend the hotel if you’re visiting Madrid for a few days.
Pros:
-Great central location
-Safe and mini bar in room
-Very fast, free wired internet (the front desk can supply a cable)
-Trendy boutique style hotel with glass elevators, modern art and furnishings.
-Black out curtains
Cons (non are deal breakers):
-Small Rooms
-The front might seem sketchy to people who are not used to big cities
-Could use a touch of paint inside
-No Iron\Ironing Broad, only option is to clothes sent out to be pressed
-Weird small shower door that left huge puddles in the bathroom
-Crappy Chinese made soap and shampoo, ended up buying both from a store
-Windows do not open
-TV channels in English are only news stations

Room Tip: The A\C takes a while to cool the room (but does work well), when possible we would leave one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank NJAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Esteemed guest,
We´d like to deeply thank you for having chosen Vincci Hotels, and also for your comments and insights. That you had a good experience in our hotel is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day. However, referring to the inconveniences, we´d like to clarify that the rooms meet the standards according to their size, and furthermore that the doors of some balconeys cannot be opened due to safety reasons. Also, we´d like to remind you that there is a laundry service available for all guests.
We remain at your disposal for anything further you may need.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June. The location was great in terms walking accessibility to all the major points of interests. Great restaurants and all the plazas are close by. The rooms are decent size for European standards and the service was good. Breakfast buffet had a nice assortment of foods and was plentiful. My only hesitation in recommending this hotel is that for individuals who have issues with smoking, this might no be the hotel for you. We could smell the smoke coming into our room through the venting system. If this is not an issue for you, you will like the hotel and its services.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms have separate en suites, others have glass partitions which house the shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iminphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Esteemed guest,
First off, we´d like to thank you for your comments and insights regarding your stay in our hotel, it´s always a pleasure to know that we´ve met your expectations. As regards to the tobacco, we´d like to inform you that until now this problem has never occurred, and therefore we´d like to know in which room you stayed so we can solve it as soon as possible.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of September, having booked as a 'Top Secret' hotel on lastminute.com. They claim 4* status but they failed to live up to that expectation.

The location is perfect in the centre of Madrid, with a Metro close by, but there are problems with homeless people living outside the hotel entrance.

Check in was quick and functional, but like most of our staff interactions it was cold and unfriendly. Our room on the 5th floor was compact and the furnishing was showing signs of age (chips, cracks and lifting flooring) with a strong smell of stale cigarette smoke. The room lighting is a triumph of style over substance - it's in-keeping with the cinema theme of the hotel, but leads to a room and bathroom which are quite dark. The bathroom is fairly large, but the shower screen leaked badly and the shower itself was very weak and disappointing. Beds were hard and on wheels which meant some movement when you sit up in them...

Some things that I would expect in a 4* hotel were missing - there is no WiFi in the room and no desk. The rooms have no tea/coffee facilities or ironing board - ironing boards were not available from reception; instead we were instructed to pay €4 per time to have them ironed. There aren't many power sockets for 21st century travellers - we only found one in the bedroom. The rooftop bar was an experience - you have to order drinks by phone and the loungers had no cushions on, despite 35C heat.

Overall - an ok hotel that focusses more on style and failed to meet some of my basic expectations properly. Good if you can get it for a decent price, but definitely not worth the advertised rack rate!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, "Community Manager" at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Esteemed guest,

We are sorry that your experience in our hotel has not been exactly as you would have desired. Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and for sending us your comments and insights about our services and facilities, though we´d like to clarify that the services we offer are in accord with those of a hotel of our category. We´d like to reiterate that we will bear in mind your suggestions as they will help us to improve every day.

We are at your disposal for anything you might need.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was a lovely hotel, we requested a high room with a view and we got it! It is beautifully situated on the Gran Via, right beside,the underground, bus routes and tour bus. Rooms were a reasonable size with a big modern bathroom. Serviced panoramic roof terrace with sun beds is a nice plus if you want to get a tan and shop!!
Nice modern stylish hotel for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the gran via -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SliderDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manger at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel might be in a good location but :
Time of check in was approx 40 min

2 spoons to eat an ice cream where requested one evening and they charged each one for 2 euro !

one of our mobiles was forgotten behind and when we called from airport to ask a way to send us at least the sim card they refused to do so !
when our travel agency called right after to send the courier service they where told that they did nt have the mobile !!

Not a cheap hotel to refuse to help their customers -.-

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manger at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Esteemed guest,

In the first place, we´d like to thank you for publishing your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

In respect to the incident with your mobile, we´d like to confirm that you are aware that it has been located and we are making the necessary shipping arrangements.

On the other hand, we´d like to clarify that the check-in process does not usually take more than 10 minutes (keeping in mind that there are many guests), and we´d like to apologize if you had a long wait.

In regards to the ice cream, we´d like to inform you that the price of 4 Euros corresponds to the product itself, not to the spoons needed to eat it which of course are provided free of charge.

Consequently we´d like to inform you that we take note of each and every observation, complaint, suggestion and comment from our guests, always with the aim of improving.

Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction and your opinions are always most useful in helping us do so.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portomaso, st julians
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The service was good, front office very helpful, Rooms very modern and clean. The location very central, and close to all amenities. Free Wifi Service on room.

What I did not like is people lying on the floor outside next to the Hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvinoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 436 in Madrid
1,436 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#90 of 436 in Madrid
985 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#17 of 436 in Madrid
514 reviews
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#109 of 436 in Madrid
1,517 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Capitol Hotel

Property: Vincci Capitol Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 41, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
#106 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#113 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid: the Hotel Vincci Capitol, located right on the Gran Vía and Plaza Callao. It is a building symbolic of Madrid’s “Art Deco” civil architecture. The ground floor houses one of the most famous cinemas on Madrid’s Gran Vía, Cines Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing