We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$174
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$168
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$272
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$106
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
$98
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Atlantico(Madrid)
$177
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$248
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$118
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$467
$439
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
275
610
341
123
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
610
341
123
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalos de la fronteraminute walknice hotelclose to the train stationwithin walking distancereina sofiabreakfast buffettapasatochaspaintoothbrushacretirominibar
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

While the location of this hotel may work for those in Madrid on business or those with a tour group who are travelling by tour bus, in my view, it is a very poor location for tourism on one's own. I would not stay here again as a tourist.

While the hotel is located "next" to the Atocha train station, "next to" is a relative term. It is actually a fair number of LONG blocks (5? 6? 7? 8?) from the entrance/exit, and that walk is through a somewhat gritty, dust blown, trash-strewn residential/commercial (but nowhere to eat, essentially) area. The Atocha metro station is a bit further on from the station--not very convenient although we used it frequently of necessity to get to the city center. (Metro is great.)

The hotel's physical plant is communist grey block on the exterior, and an attempt at contemporary style with a cheap effect in the rooms. Our room was spacious and the bathroom perfectly adequate. The housekeeping was excellent. The front desk service was perfunctory.

Soundproofing between rooms allowed us to hear a neighbor vomiting all night.

The Rafaelhoteles is a 4 star hotel in a 1 star location. Most unfortunate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went to Madrid to spend my 5 day holiday with my family.
We were accomodated in Rafaelhotels Atocha.
The hotel was very clean, the breakfast excellent, the staff VERY friendly.
The WI-FI was a little bit slow, but free.
It is near the center of Madrid, the underground station is near, too.
I will suggest that they should have more international (english speaking) channels on TV.
Greetings from Belgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spaled2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experiences online. It is wonderful to learn that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with attentive service. We take into consideration your suggestion about more english channels.
Thank you for review and recommendation.
We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Best regads.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This property is situated in a quiet lane next to the Atochya station. The room was clean and adequate. The breakfast which was served was not spectacular but nothing to complain about. Wish there were a few English newspapers in the reception/waiting area. A Chinese restaurant in the adjacent lane is totally worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel and sharing your experience online. It is nice to know you liked the location of our hotel and the rooms and rest of hotel services. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed two nights at Atocha during a conference. The hotel is located in a quiet area near the Atocha station. The sorrounding area is not very interesting. The hotel is dark and not very charming. Rooms are spacious and clean, free WiFi and large bathroom are on the positive side. The biggest problem is the food. The breakfast buffet has small variety of bread, heavy boiled sausages and dry eggs. The dinner menu was a not acceptable. The fish which seems to be too old, pasta not cooked and the chef has obviously forgotten to seasoning the food. It was not possible to put drinks etc. at the room bill as they staff insisted that I was not the person staying in my room! The nail on the head was that a guest got her trolley and purse stolen in the reception.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes; we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location, location, location, close to the AVE train station and close to the office. Adjacent rooms very noisy, somebody really loud at 5am! Wifi very, very slow, Tv stations weak signal, no international news channels. Called room service for a period of half an hour, then decided to I've up! Breakfast buffet was poor, anaemic sausages and bacon. Although evening meal was very good. Would I stay again, only if the company was paying.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Danny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews