We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Functional.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Ranked #210 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet and Functional.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This property is situated in a quiet lane next to the Atochya station. The room was clean and adequate. The breakfast which was served was not spectacular but nothing to complain about. Wish there were a few English newspapers in the reception/waiting area. A Chinese restaurant in the adjacent lane is totally worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel and sharing your experience online. It is nice to know you liked the location of our hotel and the rooms and rest of hotel services. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    501
    269
    101
    17
See reviews for
172
355
54
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed two nights at Atocha during a conference. The hotel is located in a quiet area near the Atocha station. The sorrounding area is not very interesting. The hotel is dark and not very charming. Rooms are spacious and clean, free WiFi and large bathroom are on the positive side. The biggest problem is the food. The breakfast buffet has small variety of bread, heavy boiled sausages and dry eggs. The dinner menu was a not acceptable. The fish which seems to be too old, pasta not cooked and the chef has obviously forgotten to seasoning the food. It was not possible to put drinks etc. at the room bill as they staff insisted that I was not the person staying in my room! The nail on the head was that a guest got her trolley and purse stolen in the reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes; we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location, close to the AVE train station and close to the office. Adjacent rooms very noisy, somebody really loud at 5am! Wifi very, very slow, Tv stations weak signal, no international news channels. Called room service for a period of half an hour, then decided to I've up! Breakfast buffet was poor, anaemic sausages and bacon. Although evening meal was very good. Would I stay again, only if the company was paying.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

easy to get to from airport (via Metro) or Atocha train station (on foot) but for the price I thought it was average. The bed was not overly confortable and the rooms noisy. Could here everything going on in adjacent rooms and maids made a racket every morning! not the best hotel if you want a good night sleep.
On the + side, there is a nice courtyard at the back.
Food was poor at breakfast but nice at the restaurant.
I'd try another hotel next time...

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebmallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and our restaurant services. We want our guests to have a relaxing, carefree stay and to enjoy our accommodations amenities; we are disappointed to learn that this is not what you experienced due to noise around your room. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We found this hotel on priceline for less than 100 US dollars a night. Before I got here I was really worried that perhaps I made a bad choice from reading the reviews on tripadvisor. This has been an awesome place. Close to the Atocha Metro Station (10 minute walk), walked to the museums. FREE wifi now which was so appreciated! I also found the staff extremely nice and helpful. Rooms was incredibly clean! I did find the rooms a little noisy but aren't most hotels like that? We got a room with a view of a courtyard. What a deal from priceline. Thank you priceline.

Room Tip: Very happy with my reasonably priced room. Thank you priceline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bethie643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel. It is wonderful to learn that you liked our convenient location and provided you with attentive service.
Thank you for review and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Rafaelhotel is a good choice for a nice sleep when you are in the city for business but I think also as a tourist. First day I got free afternoom is a nice walk from the hotel to the city centre to get to know the city pretty good. The rooms are spacious and clean and got all you need. I missed free wifi at least in the lobby bar. The staff was nice, the breakfast buffet delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you liked our location and the quality of our services. We look forward to serve you again. Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed as part of a trafalgar group. The hotel is not particularly close to anywhere . The lobby staff were efficient if not overly friendly. Our room was adequate and clean with some wear marks and not well insulated from the outside noise. The lack of free wifi was annoying. For us the lowlight was breakfast .Choices were uninspiring quite a few things ran out and staff were conspicuosly absent. The buffet was designed so thst everyone had to join a single queue which snaked its way painfully slowly across the room. Very inefficient. Then someone spilled their watery scrambled eggs on the carpet. The resultant mess was studiously ignored by the few staff who made a cameo appearance in the room for 30 minutes before it was cleaned up. So unless you are here to use the conference facilities I would give this place a miss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandwendy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are sorry to hear our breakfast did not meet your expectations; we will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas.
We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Thanks.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#184 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#249 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#153 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#138 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#60 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafaelhoteles Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles Atocha

Property: Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Address: Calle Mendez Alvaro 30, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Madrid
#121 Business Hotel in Madrid
#138 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafaelhoteles Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafaelhoteles Atocha is located few minutes walking to Madrid-Puerta de Atocha high-speed railway station, near to the main museums of Madrid: Reina Sofia, El Prado, Caixa-Forum and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The hotel has 245 equipped rooms with all the facilities needed to make your stay agreeable and relaxing. The hotel has handicaped rooms and smokers rooms. The restaurant Azafran offers the best dishes of Mediterranean gastronomy. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms, ideal to celebrate events up to 800 attendees. Also a garden terrace is available for outdoor events (capacity up to 40 attendees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafaelhoteles Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel Madrid
Atocha Hotel Rafael
Hotel Rafael Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing