We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean, good location”
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Agumar
Ranked #245 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, clean, good location”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights between November 25-27 2013. Friendly welcome, good location 200 metres from the lovely Retiro Park. We arrived into Madrid late at night so took a cab direct to the hotel, this cost €45. Worth it, to avoid sussing out the bus and rail network at that time of night. Hotel is 800 metres from Atocha Station, you can't see or hear the station. We had Room 232, which is at the back of the hotel. No view, but absolutely quiet. Average sized room, so don't expect a Presidential Suite, American cousins! Good clean room and bathroom, although 2 single beds was a disappointment, but then this was a last-minute budget break. Aircon worked fine. Blackout curtains. From the bus stop just outside the hotel, take the No. 14 to the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, where Real Madrid play. Take the stadium tour, 20 euros. Fantastic! Take the No. 32 from the hotel to a stop named Benavida in order to get you to Plaza Mayor. Each ride costs €1.50, seemingly regardless of how many stops you are on board for. Well worth it. Bar shut at 11.30pm, but Madrid is coming to life then, so we found a bar across the road for a drink. Lifts were fine, and came swiftly each time. The reception staff were extremely helpful, spoke good English and gave us lots of info on buses and trains. I read the comments of some who have stayed here and was wondering what we would find, and couldn't understand why they had written their stuff. There are posher (and more expensive) places to stay, but we would definitely stay here again. Good value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridporttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    412
    265
    81
    28
See reviews for
178
283
65
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed one night on the way to Toledo because it was within walking distance from the railway station. The Prado and Reine Sofia art galleries were within easy reach and the Hop on Hop off tour bus stopped nearby. The bedroom was a bit drab,probably due to the low lighting but good in all other aspects. The staff were helpful, the restaurant was good and the breakfast excellent. It was very good value for money rather than luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penylanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Many say "not four star hotel" but the rate is not 4 star price. We booked a double for $80 euro. The room was clean, comfortable, it was located in a good part of town close to transportation. So if you are looking for the Ritz, this isn't the place, but if you usually stay at a Sheraton in the US, you'll be fine here. The staff was very English friendly too.

Room Tip: I think the property is all smoking hotel so if sensitive to this, ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAACedarParkTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is very dated. On arrival after check-in a porter took our bags and came into the lift with us to our room. This was extremely unnecessary as we only had small pull-alongs. So, that was 1E wasted. Our room 407 had a tiny balcony but was facing an extremely busy street which was so noisy you couldn't hear the TV if you opened the door. Our room was boiling when we went in so we lowered the "air conditioning", which was useless. We tried to sleep with the balcony door open but the noise was deafening plus our room was above a disco (we couldn't hear any music) but they must have come out to smoke and the fumes drifted up and into our room. The rooms were made up as 2 singles and were on casters I think. If you plonked yourself down your bed took off. The bathroom was crusty with horrid grouting and bad ventilation. After my husband took a shower I was sitting on the toilet when condensation dripped down my back. You had to get the key for the safe from reception so we didn't bother. There was a mini bar but we just took out their stuff and put in our own. We made sure we weren't charged for anything when we checked out. The room was very dark and dismal, brown wooden flooring, brown wardrobe and table. I would say this hotel was a 2-star at best. It was easy enough to get around using the metro but didn't feel that safe after dark. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the road because of the noise and smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were booked into the Agumar at the start of a Globus tour of Spain otherwise we would never have chosen to stay here. Room 535 was a small prison cell facing a brick wall of an air shaft shared with the adjacent apartment building. Our classy view was of laundered underwear, including a big pair of bloomers, drying on the window ledges opposite. Our desk and chair were of Lilliputian size to squeeze into the small room. Had to walk sideways to scoot around the bed. Hey, even for Europe this room was miniscule. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom. Each day we were given one bath towel and one hand towel. Had to request more from reception every time. The duvet had no cover, just metal snaps where a cover could have been attached. On the positive side, the hairdryer worked well. There is a small corner store across the street and a larger grocery market further up the street in what is primarily a hi-rise residential area. A small bakery is in the same block as the Agumar. This is handy since dinner service in Spain usually starts around 9:00 PM. Our hotel breakfast was included but a man who walked into the dining area was told it was 15 Euro to buy separately. He left. A good move for him since the food selection was scrambled egg stuff, greasy sausages, something that looked like bacon, tasteless cheese and coffee dispensed from a push button machine. We stuck with the little mini yogurts and sliced fruit. Staff told us the #32 bus which stops near the hotel would take us to the main square but watch out for pickpockets (navigating there by taxi in Madrid’s traffic congestion could be up to 15+ Euro). A multi-lingual brochure at the front desk also warned tourists about pickpockets. Our tour guide told us to be careful of pickpockets I get the message but it is enough to make one paranoid. Since the weather was nice we chose to walk down to the Atocha railway station then on to the Botanical Gardens and the Prado Museum as well as hike to an El Corte Ingles department store in a day-long sightseeing trek. Kept away from crowds and did not get pickpocketed. Said goodbye to the Agumar, never to return.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front of the hotel otherwise there is a close-up view of a brick wall and an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a Globus trip. It was our least favorite hotel. The other reviews are accurate. You must plan extra time for the elevator wait and they are rather small which we discovered is typical. I would not choose to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September. The room was small and the elevators were slow. The included breakfast was fine except for odd tasting scrambled eggs. There was plenty of hot water, the bed was comfortable, and the a/c worked well.

The hotel is in a good location, a 10 minute walk from the Prado, Parque Retiro, and the Royal Botanical garden. There are some decent sidewalk cafes in the area.

Tour groups use this hotel so you cannot expect it to be more than 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACATIONER097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#212 of 435 in Madrid
1,165 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#69 of 435 in Madrid
523 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#139 of 435 in Madrid
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 435 in Madrid
1,943 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#197 of 435 in Madrid
917 reviews
AC Hotel Atocha
#193 of 435 in Madrid
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Property: Hotel Agumar
Address: Paseo Reina Cristina 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing