We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel..”
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Agumar
Ranked #252 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel..”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just came back from a Globus tour to Spain and the hotel Agumar was the only one that was disappointing. Overcrowded, big lines in the buffet to have a cup of coffee. Food no taste. Elevator samll so big waiting.
Rooms need a face lift urgent!. This is a hotel that nobody in the tour was happy with keep using I don't understand why Globus keep using it. . The only good thing about this hotel is the location, but there are many hotels that have good location and are really 4 stars. You can hear how they talk in the next room. I don't recommend Agumar at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    396
    252
    79
    27
See reviews for
168
269
62
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is a bit old and musty. I studied abroad in Madrid and I can tell you that there are better locations than this one. The WiFi is not included in the stay, you have to pay an additional daily rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicocot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

At the recommendation of a local, I checked into the Hotel Agumar that is just a couple of blocks from Retiro Park, the Prado, and the Reina Sofia. It's not a 4 star hotel. It was clean but the room was small and basic. Packed with tours and paper thin walls, the hotel was less than enjoyable. It's extremely noisey making sleeping later than 7am impossible. I don't want to wake up to everyone packing up to leave or some man hacking in the room neck to me. Everything is extra - breakfast, safe, etc making the lower price climb to the same level as the REAL 4 star I stayed at across town near Cuzco. I have to say that the breakfast buffet, for which they charge E15 but offered it at half price, was really good. The personnel are very pleasant and it's situated close to Salamanca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I needed one night in Madrid close to the Atocha Station. This fitted the bill. I am sure the hotel when built sometime I guess in the 1970's was a thing of splendour, but it is now looking very tired. The staff were very polite and helpful. My room was clean, although a little old fashioned and the bed comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep. For a city centre hotel on a busy road my room at the back of the hotel was really quiet. The location enabled me to walk into the city centre and a taxi back at night was very cheap. Breakfast was also okay. For the money I paid and the convenience of it location I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Agumar is really a fairly good hotel with a good location in Madrid. On the bus route to the city and with taxis passing frequently it made access to the Plaza del Sol area easy .. About €7 - 8 taxi fare. While having a good cafeteria of its own, it is walking distance to a decent sidewalk restaurant or one directly across the road and a convenience store 10m away or a supermarket 50m away. Close also to the main rail station, within walking distance for the fit.
The room was old but functional with a recently renovated bathroom and new floating floorboards. It had a desk with chair and a lounge chair, 2 suitcase stands (why don't all hotels realise that any couple is likely to have 2 suitcases?) The room was clean and maintained well but little details in the renovations had been overlooked, like paintwork on door frames and bottoms of doors etc.
A functional safe in the room but old key style and as our introduction to Spanish hotels, no tea or coffee making facilities was a surprise.
There was some traffic noise from the window-doors on the tiniest balcony but the street was relatively quiet overnight, even when our last night was a public holiday and revellers were in the street in the early morning hours.
Reception staff were excellent with good grasp of English and a helpful attitude to travellers .... efficient and competent.
Buffet breakfast and dinner were plentiful with basic European fare, not necessarily hot with staff that were efficient and cordial but distant.
Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took a 3 day stay and the hotel was fine but nothing special. When we arrived we discovered we had twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed. The staff found us a double room but unfortunately this was on the smoking floor and the corridor smelt awful but the room itself was ok. We didn't eat at the hotel but chose to go out and discover Madrid. The hotel was a little off the main tourist area of Madrid but we enjoyed the walking despite the heat at this time of year (no wonder a lot of the locals quit the city in August)! Bathroom was ok if needing a little repair. Beds were comfy. Air con worked fine - thank goodness! Staff helpful. One problem our room key/card kept not working so we had to keep getting it sorted at reception which was quite annoying. The hotel has a couple of convenience stores near by which are great for buying snacks and water (cheaper than in the Park or other tourist attractions). We got 5 euro bus back to the airport which was much cheaper than the taxi we got to the hotel. The bus station is next to the train station and very easy to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are at the top floors at the front but I think these would be noisy. Some floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel is it's location to the train/bus station. Outside of that, it is far outside of the heart of Madrid's shopping and sightseeing spots (IMHO). Breakfast was mediocre, the room was mediocre (with poor lighting)...the toilet paper in the bathroom almost cut my private parts, it was so rough! In addition, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear people arguing, coughing, engaging in...y'know. I also stayed at a Melia elsewhere, and I don't understand how the two establishments can both be considered 4-star...the quality is worlds apart! There's no gym, no swimming pool, not even free Wi-Fi! Needless to say, I won't return here.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot. If your floor mates are loud, you're going to have some trouble getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#210 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#61 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#135 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
AC Hotel Atocha
#188 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#197 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Property: Hotel Agumar
Address: Paseo Reina Cristina 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing