We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I liked it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Agumar
Ranked #259 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Agumar is really a fairly good hotel with a good location in Madrid. On the bus route to the city and with taxis passing frequently it made access to the Plaza del Sol area easy .. About €7 - 8 taxi fare. While having a good cafeteria of its own, it is walking distance to a decent sidewalk restaurant or one directly across the road and a convenience store 10m away or a supermarket 50m away. Close also to the main rail station, within walking distance for the fit.
The room was old but functional with a recently renovated bathroom and new floating floorboards. It had a desk with chair and a lounge chair, 2 suitcase stands (why don't all hotels realise that any couple is likely to have 2 suitcases?) The room was clean and maintained well but little details in the renovations had been overlooked, like paintwork on door frames and bottoms of doors etc.
A functional safe in the room but old key style and as our introduction to Spanish hotels, no tea or coffee making facilities was a surprise.
There was some traffic noise from the window-doors on the tiniest balcony but the street was relatively quiet overnight, even when our last night was a public holiday and revellers were in the street in the early morning hours.
Reception staff were excellent with good grasp of English and a helpful attitude to travellers .... efficient and competent.
Buffet breakfast and dinner were plentiful with basic European fare, not necessarily hot with staff that were efficient and cordial but distant.
Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    368
    233
    74
    25
See reviews for
150
250
56
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took a 3 day stay and the hotel was fine but nothing special. When we arrived we discovered we had twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed. The staff found us a double room but unfortunately this was on the smoking floor and the corridor smelt awful but the room itself was ok. We didn't eat at the hotel but chose to go out and discover Madrid. The hotel was a little off the main tourist area of Madrid but we enjoyed the walking despite the heat at this time of year (no wonder a lot of the locals quit the city in August)! Bathroom was ok if needing a little repair. Beds were comfy. Air con worked fine - thank goodness! Staff helpful. One problem our room key/card kept not working so we had to keep getting it sorted at reception which was quite annoying. The hotel has a couple of convenience stores near by which are great for buying snacks and water (cheaper than in the Park or other tourist attractions). We got 5 euro bus back to the airport which was much cheaper than the taxi we got to the hotel. The bus station is next to the train station and very easy to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are at the top floors at the front but I think these would be noisy. Some floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel is it's location to the train/bus station. Outside of that, it is far outside of the heart of Madrid's shopping and sightseeing spots (IMHO). Breakfast was mediocre, the room was mediocre (with poor lighting)...the toilet paper in the bathroom almost cut my private parts, it was so rough! In addition, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear people arguing, coughing, engaging in...y'know. I also stayed at a Melia elsewhere, and I don't understand how the two establishments can both be considered 4-star...the quality is worlds apart! There's no gym, no swimming pool, not even free Wi-Fi! Needless to say, I won't return here.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot. If your floor mates are loud, you're going to have some trouble getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Two things to cheer on this trip to the Agumar - the price and the location. I got a deal of around €40/night for a single room, which was not to be sneezed at, especially in Madrid.

I wanted to stay in Madrid but take a trip to Toledo and this hotel allowed me to do that very easily. It's 10 minutes on foot to Atocha train station/metro, so handy for Saturday's big day trip and spinning in to all the sights too.

The décor is a bit 1970s, to say the least and the walls are thinnish, but still, it was a very good deal for what I paid. And it backs on to the Retiro gardens and is very handy for the "golden triangle" of museums, so if you want a nicely situated hotel that's not in the middle of Madrid nightlife action but very handy to the cultural spots, I really would recommend the Agumar.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms seem to be round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Situated 10 mins. from The Atocha Rail Station close to the Metro and Buses and
20 mins. from Plaza Santa Ana. This is what keeps this place open.
1970s decor, and front of house staff were around long before that!!
A combination of business and family holiday stayers. Rooms are perfectly OK.
Did not eat there. They did a good deal for me.online.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The primary reason for selecting this hotel is its proximity (10 minute walk) to Atocha train station where you can take the Airport Bus to Barajas airport or catch a train for a day trip to Segovia, Toledo, etc. The hotel also has convenient access to the metro to reach any point in Madrid. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Retiro Park, Prado and Reina Sofía museums. A grocery store is located within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is average quality with clean rooms (although not sound proofed) and a restaurant. Amenities include mini fridge and hair dryer. The hotel seemed to cater to many tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaRatonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Madrid for a citytrip and booked our room through internet. Comfortable room. No street noise but the inside walls were a bit thin. Approximately 2 blocks from the Atocha trainstation, metro and airportshuttle stop. The city center, Prado etc. is at a walking distance approx. 500 meters. Excellent breakfast was included in our special room package rate. Staff was very helpful, polite and spoke excellent English. There is a small grocery nearby. Would stay here again. We arrived about 10.30 in the morning and the room was already available. Only minor is that you have to pay for a wifi connection and that there is no alarm clock in room

Room Tip: If it possible ask for a room at the rear even as the isolation on the street side is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wim1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#192 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#150 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
AC Hotel Atocha
#176 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#86 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Claridge
#55 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#200 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Property: Hotel Agumar
Address: Paseo Reina Cristina 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing