We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Agumar
Ranked #253 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took a 3 day stay and the hotel was fine but nothing special. When we arrived we discovered we had twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed. The staff found us a double room but unfortunately this was on the smoking floor and the corridor smelt awful but the room itself was ok. We didn't eat at the hotel but chose to go out and discover Madrid. The hotel was a little off the main tourist area of Madrid but we enjoyed the walking despite the heat at this time of year (no wonder a lot of the locals quit the city in August)! Bathroom was ok if needing a little repair. Beds were comfy. Air con worked fine - thank goodness! Staff helpful. One problem our room key/card kept not working so we had to keep getting it sorted at reception which was quite annoying. The hotel has a couple of convenience stores near by which are great for buying snacks and water (cheaper than in the Park or other tourist attractions). We got 5 euro bus back to the airport which was much cheaper than the taxi we got to the hotel. The bus station is next to the train station and very easy to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are at the top floors at the front but I think these would be noisy. Some floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    395
    250
    79
    27
See reviews for
167
268
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel is it's location to the train/bus station. Outside of that, it is far outside of the heart of Madrid's shopping and sightseeing spots (IMHO). Breakfast was mediocre, the room was mediocre (with poor lighting)...the toilet paper in the bathroom almost cut my private parts, it was so rough! In addition, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear people arguing, coughing, engaging in...y'know. I also stayed at a Melia elsewhere, and I don't understand how the two establishments can both be considered 4-star...the quality is worlds apart! There's no gym, no swimming pool, not even free Wi-Fi! Needless to say, I won't return here.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot. If your floor mates are loud, you're going to have some trouble getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Two things to cheer on this trip to the Agumar - the price and the location. I got a deal of around €40/night for a single room, which was not to be sneezed at, especially in Madrid.

I wanted to stay in Madrid but take a trip to Toledo and this hotel allowed me to do that very easily. It's 10 minutes on foot to Atocha train station/metro, so handy for Saturday's big day trip and spinning in to all the sights too.

The décor is a bit 1970s, to say the least and the walls are thinnish, but still, it was a very good deal for what I paid. And it backs on to the Retiro gardens and is very handy for the "golden triangle" of museums, so if you want a nicely situated hotel that's not in the middle of Madrid nightlife action but very handy to the cultural spots, I really would recommend the Agumar.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms seem to be round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Situated 10 mins. from The Atocha Rail Station close to the Metro and Buses and
20 mins. from Plaza Santa Ana. This is what keeps this place open.
1970s decor, and front of house staff were around long before that!!
A combination of business and family holiday stayers. Rooms are perfectly OK.
Did not eat there. They did a good deal for me.online.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The primary reason for selecting this hotel is its proximity (10 minute walk) to Atocha train station where you can take the Airport Bus to Barajas airport or catch a train for a day trip to Segovia, Toledo, etc. The hotel also has convenient access to the metro to reach any point in Madrid. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Retiro Park, Prado and Reina Sofía museums. A grocery store is located within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is average quality with clean rooms (although not sound proofed) and a restaurant. Amenities include mini fridge and hair dryer. The hotel seemed to cater to many tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaRatonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Madrid for a citytrip and booked our room through internet. Comfortable room. No street noise but the inside walls were a bit thin. Approximately 2 blocks from the Atocha trainstation, metro and airportshuttle stop. The city center, Prado etc. is at a walking distance approx. 500 meters. Excellent breakfast was included in our special room package rate. Staff was very helpful, polite and spoke excellent English. There is a small grocery nearby. Would stay here again. We arrived about 10.30 in the morning and the room was already available. Only minor is that you have to pay for a wifi connection and that there is no alarm clock in room

Room Tip: If it possible ask for a room at the rear even as the isolation on the street side is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wim1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

More a good three star hotel, it is located on a busy main road. The night life in Madrid is famous so a room at rear is good. Bathroom lighting is poor - important to us as we had to to be dressing carefully for several parties. Staff very helpful. Our deal included fee wifi throughout stay but we had or renew code every day, always at an awkward time.. Just a niggle I suppose. Within the parameters, it deserves a good 5 stars.

Room Tip: 7th floor (top storey) at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jotkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#210 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#62 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#134 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
AC Hotel Atocha
#187 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#195 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Property: Hotel Agumar
Address: Paseo Reina Cristina 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing