We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”
Review of Hotel Claridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Claridge
Ranked #63 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here from Jan 31st through Feb 2nd and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Our room wasn't particularly large but more than adequate for us. Very comfortable bed, flat screen TV (not that we ever turned it on) and nice clean bathroom.

Front desk staff were very helpful with tips on sights to see and how to get around.

The hotel is right by the metro so 1 easy line change and 15 mins gets you to Puerto del Sol / Plaza Mayor.

We stayed on room only basis but there are cafes close by where you can get a light breakfast (croissants, tostada etc) and plenty of patisseries plus a supermarket directly across the road.

Only blemish on our stay was a poor meal in the restaurant which was cold and disappointing. After a bit of a struggle with the waiter we ended up not paying for the offending dish.

Overall, great value for the price we paid and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimdavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 958 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and wasn't expecting much really for the price I paid and the reviews on here but was seriously surprised! The staff on arrival were lovely and helpful and spoke the best English they could! They looked after our cases while our room was finished being cleaned and they recommended places for us to visit and told us how to get there using the bus services. When we came back to the hotel to be allocated our room, our cases had already been bought up and were laid in our room for us. The room was absolutely spotless and there was a decent amount of toiletries free in the room for the weekend break we had. The room isn't exactly quiet but due to the location of the hotel, this is something that can't really be helped and it's not at all that bad! The only slight downside is the location but it's close enough you can quickly hop on the bus to Madrid centre and there are a few cafés and restaurants around the hotel area for a quick bite to eat.

Overall, pleasantly surprised and would definitely come back here and recommend to all!!!!! Don't read the bad reviews!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I arrived to Madrid on Saturday 18th Jan, the flight came in very early but we decided to go to the hotel and put our luggage down as we thought we could not check in. When we arrived they advised us it would be ok for us to check in 10am which was perfect as we could freshen up and head out into the centre.
The entrance is lovely and stylish- the rooms are large- comfortable and clean. There a hair dryer, television, mini fridge, safe, telephone, air-con, toiletries provided in the room. There is no tea making facilities which would make it better if they had this.
We had dinner once in the hotel- the food was ok- but the service was great.

the metro station is very close- i would say get the ticket which is valid up to 10 trips this lasted us all day- the metro closes at 1:30am and was safe when using it at 10pm- 12am when we were going out in the evening back to the centre.

I did get pick pocketed in Madrid and my purse was stolen- so i would advise keeping your belongings in the hotel -suitcase-safe and only taking your cash and card with you put it in your inside pocket of your hand bag and zip it up. The police are not helpful - no one can really speak English and there is only one police station which you can report it to which is in the centre. Be careful and keep your guard up- it happened whilst shopping in ZARA and walking around the shop.

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Dear Colleagues, I would not recommend this hotel. We had some unpleasant experiences with the staff here. Firstly, at breakfast, there is a nasty little officous man who runs around with a clip-board and harrassed us three times for our room number (twice for me, once then, again, for my mum). Our answer was not good enough, and he ran to check at reception. Then he aggressively asked again. Then there was a problem, and he said there was only one breakfast allowed, not, two. I understand if there had been some mistake, but he had no training at all, no tact, no customer service, and made one feel like a criminal. That, itself, was bad enough, but then, on checking out, at reception (17 December 2013) we asked for a taxi. We were rudely told, quite abruptly) to go get one on the street outside. We managed to... after 15 minutes (and this was a stress since we were already late for our flight). So, all in all, I would say avoid this place. The location is nice, the interior is fine, but the staff get no training and are unfriendly, rude, and quite unprofessional. I have been living in Russia for the last 15 years, and this Spanish hotel has managed to exceed itself in being worse than any Russian hotel I have stayed at in terms of service - and that is saying something!

Room Tip: Also, the rooms are far too hot. Air conditioning didn't seem to work. One main reason I had cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antares2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during our first trip to Madrid. Easy to get to from the Airport (one change) and Conde de Casal metro is across the road from the Hotel. The entrance and public areas are clean and inviting and the staff courteous and professional. Our room was excellent, big comfortable bed, mini bar and walk in shower. The Breakfast buffet was good value a good selection and plenty of it. Used the Restaurant on two evenings and could not fault it, especially on the first night when we had a 6 course tasting menu for 20euros each and was excellent( as was the house red which turned out to be a 2010 Rioja crianza for 13euros. Thought that the location was great, close to Retiro Park and the metro makes Madrid an easy city to get around. Very little English is spoken but it is not a problem as the staff are very helpful.
Will use again on future visits to Madrid.

Room Tip: It is a city centre hotel so you do hear the traffic if you have the bedroom windows open.Good A/C s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LutonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Claridge Madrid in mid October with our 2 young daughters. We chose the hotel thanks to its proximity to Retiro (within walking distance - about 15 minutes) and traveller reviews on Tripadvisor. For us, it was perfect. We had a room on the 8th floor, and although looked out over the almost constantly busy Plaza Conde de Casal, fantastic window insulation or something made it very quiet. Our room was a double with a sofa bed turned into 2 very decent beds and there was still space to spare. The bathroom was huge and lovely and the beds, though harder than we generally like, were still comfortable enough. The room, and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean, freshly decorated and we were delighted. We had a very warm welcome from reception staff and porter on duty at the time of our arrival (late afternoon mid week). We didn't go for the breakfast due to price per head and children eat hardly anything, though I wish we did because by all accounts its excellent. We went to a bakery shop on the corner across the road and there was a small supermarket also across the road which was good for fruit etc. The metro stop couldn't be closer - on the corner diagonally across the road, within view of the hotel and a 1 minute walk, if that. We could take the Metro into the centre very easily, have a wander and then walk back via Retiro Park. The children loved it. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and it was hard to believe you were in a big city at times. We could have had a hotel closer to the centre, but it would have been difficult to beat the comfort, space and price of the Claridge. Several small bars and cafes around were adequate for a light evening meal, particularly if you went for a menu del dia at lunchtime. So absolutely no complaints and just a big thank you to Hotel Claridge. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a couple of friends from America. The hotel was easy to find and drive to, being off the M30. It is clean, modern and the room was spacious. It is in easy reach of walking to the Retiro park, and we also walked to the Plaza Mayor, but if you dont walk so much, the metro is right outside, easy to navigate, and very reasonable. We found good restaurants and bars in easy walking distance. The staff here are very efficient, with all those we encountered on the desk speaking perfect english. We didnt try breakfast as it was 13 euros each, and we only have tea and toast, we did have drinks in the bar which were quite pricey, but no more than any other good hotel in a major city. The carpark was close by and with a card from the hotel cost 41 euros for our entire stay mon-weds. Would go back and can recommend, although only negative thing was no tea/coffee making facilities in room, and we do miss an early morning cuppa!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank delard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#69 of 443 in Madrid
603 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#54 of 443 in Madrid
691 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#144 of 443 in Madrid
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
NH Madrid Ventas
#57 of 443 in Madrid
906 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 443 in Madrid
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claridge

Address: Plaza Conde de Casal 6, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#50 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $98 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the Plaza del Conde de Casal, the Claridge Madrid Hotel located in the Retiro district, one of the most vibrant and distinctive areas of the capital. Following a complete refurbishment, the Claridge Hotel has been transformed into a boutique hotel and awarded a four star category in 2012. Its carefully designed interior, decorated with a hint of the American and Classical British styles, creates an individual and highly sophisticated ambience enhanced by a collection of photographs of Madrid, Madrid 2.0, Created by the artist Gerard Franquesa using the Sgraffito technique.The Claridge Hotel, with its highly professional team who are passionate about giving attention to detail, makes it possible for guests to enjoy every comfort and convenience in an ideal location from where, thanks to excellent transport links, the main tourist and business centres of Madrid, restaurants and theatres can all be easily accessed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mirai, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing