We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2 days in Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Claridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Claridge
Ranked #57 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 days in Madrid”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a couple of friends from America. The hotel was easy to find and drive to, being off the M30. It is clean, modern and the room was spacious. It is in easy reach of walking to the Retiro park, and we also walked to the Plaza Mayor, but if you dont walk so much, the metro is right outside, easy to navigate, and very reasonable. We found good restaurants and bars in easy walking distance. The staff here are very efficient, with all those we encountered on the desk speaking perfect english. We didnt try breakfast as it was 13 euros each, and we only have tea and toast, we did have drinks in the bar which were quite pricey, but no more than any other good hotel in a major city. The carpark was close by and with a card from the hotel cost 41 euros for our entire stay mon-weds. Would go back and can recommend, although only negative thing was no tea/coffee making facilities in room, and we do miss an early morning cuppa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    343
    55
    16
    9
See reviews for
227
283
47
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I traveled to attend a conference at the University so I picked this hotel as it was closer to my destination, but also because the price was close to the prices at some 3 star hotels. (~16 EUR more expensive per night).
The room was very clean and very nice, with a desk where I could work on my laptop (I've heard of 3 star hotels with rooms without a working desk so this is an aspect that may be of interest for some people depending on the purpose of the visit).
The breakfast was excellent with many many things to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalin_Ciurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with Family. The standard of accommodation and service is great. Staff were most courteous and helpful. It is a little far from the action although metro entrance is very close by. Buffet breakfast was most enjoyable. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Claridge for 2 nights on the first leg of our trip in Spain.

The hotel organised a shared shuttle service for us from the airport, quoting €21 as the price to pay the driver. Very efficient service, despite our delay, they were waiting for us with a name sign, however, upon arrival at hotel asked for €38. Despite the lack of our Spanish and the lack of the drivers English, and after a phone call to his office, he took the €21 as said that is what the hotel quoted. I'm not sure what went wrong, but at least we weren't over charged.

Besides that small issues upon arrival, we were checked in ok and the porter who showed us to the room was very friendly and seemed very happy to do his job. Room was adequate size for our luggage and us, clean and had a mini bar and a safe. Bathroom was very clean, came with toiletries and a very big walk in shower. However, the bed was very hard and I did not sleep very well. My partner didn't mind the bed as much as I did.

Breakfast was downstairs in the basement. Lots of tables and space and lots of choice on the buffet. The staff in the breakfast room were all very nice and helpful.

Location wise, its not in the main part of town, but very close to Atocha train station which was convenient for us, as we had to catch a train to Seville from there and the cab ride was €5, 2 pax and 2 luggages. Having said that, you can catch bus no 14, which is right outside the hotel into the main part of town. We did this on our first night to find somewhere to eat and on our second night, we walked around the area near the hotel to find a restaurant, however, as it was Sunday, we didn't have much options. We didn't mind walking around the area though and it felt safe enough. Metro stop is Conde de Casal and again, this is a 2min walk across the road.

All in all a nice stay at Claridge. Would recommend staying here if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: As per other reviewers, would recommend internal room for sleep quality, this is what we had, as vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent two nights in Madrid to sight-see. I chose this hotel because the room rate was more than reasonable and because the hotel reviews were positive. The hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the metro station. The airport-to-city transfer, via train, was fast, easy and inexpensive (EUR 2.50). From Atocha Railyway Station, the hotel is a twenty minute walk. My check-in was slow, awkward and unpleasant because the clerk seemed unsure of what she was doing. My sixth-floor room was nice, comfortable but overlooked a dark and depressing courtyard – I decided against requesting a different room with a better view, to avoid the seemingly incompetent desk clerk. My early-morning check-out was fast but unpleasant, as the clerk appeared grumpy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin-in-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katanning Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend from Madrid. Stayed 8 days and perfect for our needs. Located near Retiro Park and walking distance to the city or Metro just across the road. I asked for a "quiet" room on booking and was accommodated nicely (10th floor), no noise at all. Room very comfortable and roomy bathroom. Staff were very efficient and helpful; from the Reception staff to David in the Breakfast Room, Sergio in the restaurant and the cleaning staff who always greeted us with a smile. Breakfast ample and delicious. Thank you Claridge Madrid!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night in Spetmeber between flights. Hotels is located 40 minutes by metro from the airport. - ticket - 5 euro. Hotel located at the corner of quiet busy road. My room was on 5th floor, and could hear all noise from the street, didnt sleep well. Rooms are not so big, have everything you need...safe etc. Lovely breakfast.. On the other site of the road you will find supermarket and some coffee shops, Coudnt find any decent restaurants to get a nice dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DariusKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#52 of 444 in Madrid
506 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
1,625 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#35 of 444 in Madrid
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 444 in Madrid
1,253 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claridge

Property: Hotel Claridge
Address: Plaza Conde de Casal 6, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Family Hotel in Madrid
#44 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the Plaza del Conde de Casal, the Claridge Madrid Hotel located in the Retiro district, one of the most vibrant and distinctive areas of the capital. Following a complete refurbishment, the Claridge Hotel has been transformed into a boutique hotel and awarded a four star category in 2012. Its carefully designed interior, decorated with a hint of the American and Classical British styles, creates an individual and highly sophisticated ambience enhanced by a collection of photographs of Madrid, Madrid 2.0, Created by the artist Gerard Franquesa using the Sgraffito technique.The Claridge Hotel, with its highly professional team who are passionate about giving attention to detail, makes it possible for guests to enjoy every comfort and convenience in an ideal location from where, thanks to excellent transport links, the main tourist and business centres of Madrid, restaurants and theatres can all be easily accessed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing