We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the heart of Madrid”
Review of Tryp Madrid Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Centro
Ranked #271 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the heart of Madrid”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this probably isn't the place for you. However, with Tryp Washington you can't beat the location as well as the price, and they deliver what they promise - a solid 3-star hotel and service. Just steps away from Plaza de España and the Royal Palace, this hotel is ideal for those wanting to explore the centre of Madrid by foot. The breakfast is very good, has a lot of variety and is served until late (11 am). Rooms on upper floors have nice views. Expect some noise from Gran Via if your room is facing that way, as you are on the busiest street in Madrid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear DuoCalgary,

On behalf of our entire Tryp Madrid Washington´s team, I want to thank you for the nice words about your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed varied breakfast and central location, near the main attractions of Madrid. We love that you chose us and that you could live the city to the fullets on your visit, and we hope you visit us again very soon. Do not hesitate to contact us and we will have a nice quiet room prepared for you!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    418
    266
    78
    53
See reviews for
226
383
53
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in Room 809 (a twin bedded room at the front of the Hotel). We found the room clean and of a rather larger size than normal. The beds were very comfortable (makes a change) and the buffet breakfast was first class. Cold meats, cheese, pastries, fruit, toast making facilities and also had hot scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and sausages. Something for everyone. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that I did not like was that as it was November, the aircon was not on and the room did become very hot during the nights. Also, as we faced the Gran Via, it could have been very noisy, but as we were on the 8th floor and we had double glazed windows the noise was at a minimum and did not disturb us too much. The only noise that we did hear was the sirons of the ambulances and Police cars, but they really did not cause us any real problems. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a little noisy, but it really did not disturb us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standring64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Standring64,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I will share your comments with our entire team, as they encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work to provide our passionate travelers unforgettable experiences. About the air condition, we would like to let you know that although from November we connect the heating it is possible to switch it off in your room in order to guarantee each guest comfort. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will send you our routes Own the City made by our experts.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Location on Grand Via was more problem than helpful.We had a back room, and had to deal with large crowds of people out on the streets late into the night, horns honking, sirens passing, people yelling and doors, cans and what sounded like pallets being dropped. Even inside the hotel, people laughing loudly in the hallways at a late hour, room doors and elevator doors slamming, all contributed to very little sound sleep. Beds were comfy, but pillows were horrible. Breakfast was adequate, but not great. I would not stay at this hotel (or anywhere on the Grand Via, for that matter) again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room in the center, not in the front or back. Also, higher floors would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear TravelerJim,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen us as for sharing your review at Tripadvisor. We understand that we did not fulfill your expectations due to the outside noise and we really apologize for that. We are located at the heart of the city and Gran Vía is a busy street. However I would like to let you know that we have quieter rooms facing other areas. So please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Madrid and I´m sure your experience will be improved.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We're not great travellers,but me and my wife thought this hotel was clean and tidy.the room 311 was adaquate .towels etc changed everyday,bed was comfortable,nice big bathroom,2 single beds,tv,nice and quiet.We were quite happy with the location,centre to everything.So thank you to hotel,we would return.
Mr B Marsh

Room Tip: Room facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you very much for your nice words. It is a pleasure for the whole Tryp Madrid Washington’s team that you enjoyed so much our central location, your room and the service you received. We are delighted to have been chosen so that you could live the city to the fullest and we are very excited to know that you may come back!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very disappointing and shame on Melia! Since Tryp is backed by Melia's trademark we expected a decent place and service. But nothing of this happened. The hotel is very dirty!... the carpets are dirty and smell bad. The walls are dirty. The ceiling has much moisture. The bathroom tiles are broken. When you enter the hotel smells bad! When we entered our room, it looks like the pictures, but smells bad and walls were striped and therefore not cleaned. The elevator door was stocked every time we reached our floor, for at least 1 minute!...
The hotel needs to understand that it has to invest in changing the carpets for new ones or include laminated or tile floor, and clean very well all the facilities!... as said in the beginning... very bad and disappointing!. Please avoid yourself a bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJtravelerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E- Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Antonio TOD,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments at Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations. I would like to let you know that every comment we receive is invaluable for us and that all the reviews we receive are considered and studied by our Guest Experience and Operations department to be solved.
Most of our rooms are recently renovated; we look forward to welcoming you again soon to improve your experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Our safe didn't work and, they made us switch rooms with no compensation ... It was a great location and, ok service ... Breakfast was good.
Very close to the metro ... Love the location! Madrid is a great place .. Fun people and great food .. Try huevos rotos ... You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E- Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Melissa B,

First of all thank you very much for choosing us and sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our fantastic location and breakfast. Referring to the safe issue we really understand your discomfort and apologize for the inconveniences. We work every day to maintain a spirit of teamwork to give the best service to our passionate travelers and we look forward to welcoming you again in Tryp Madrid Washington. Your experience will be improved!

Please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here from 11th Sep 2013 - 15th Sep 2013.
Travelling as a couple.

Firstly, the hotel is pretty good. we got into Madrid quite late, 11:30pm which made finding the hotel a little bit tricky but not impossible if you ask a few people. The location of the hotel is very good. Right in the heart of Gran Via, which is a very popular and buzzing shopping area of Madrid. It is central to everything which can easily be accessed by Metro. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops to choose from. The hotel itself is actually a few doors from another Tryp hotel (cant remember the name), the best thing to do if your lost is to ask for TGI Fridays or National Geographic, as it is right next to those places.

The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Because of a late booking, only a twin room was available but the room was of a very good size for two people, clean and the bathroom was of a nice size too (for couple, for families, id strongly recommend a bigger room). The bathroom does have a bath/shower and hair dryer. There is a TV in the room but only has Spanish channels (but there is so much to see and do in Madrid you wont be watching it anyway). The room did overlook the Gran Via so it was a nice sight to wake up to without being too noisy.

The only downside to the room was that it did not already come equipped with an iron but a quick visit to reception and one was brought up to me. (Top Tip: Iron is "plancha" in Spanish ;-) )

To summarise: good place to stay, cant fault the staff and the location was very good!

Useful bits:
Definitely get a 3 day tourist pass for the Madrid Metro, it is not very expensive (less than 23 Euros at the time of writing) and a really easy way to travel around Madrid. Metro stops are everywhere. If taking the metro to the hotel, get off at Callao and not Gran Via (its closer to the hotel).

If travelling from the airport to the hotel, probably best to get a taxi, as we found, for the first time user it will probably take around 45mins to 1hr to get to the hotel.

All metro signs are in Spanish but colour coded which makes navigating easier (if you are familiar with London tubes, you should have no problem)

Mini Supermarket is only a 3min walk away.

Gran Via being a shopping area is a busy area so if your looking for somewhere quiet and relaxed, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the main Gran Via strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lak_Luciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Exprecience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Lak_Luciano,
”Thank you for your excellent rating”
The next time you make a stop at any of our hotels let me know and we will send you the routes OWN THE CITY made by our experts! So you don’t waste time planning, and just enjoy your stay!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#313 of 436 in Madrid
863 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#207 of 436 in Madrid
625 reviews
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#200 of 436 in Madrid
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Centro

Property: Tryp Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Gran Via 72, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Washington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Madrid Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Washington Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Washington
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing