We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Good Value for the Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tryp Madrid Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Centro
Ranked #265 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value for the Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel offered a great location for sight seeing, easy access to the Metro (subway/underground) and Starbucks! The room, although basic, was clean, cool (a big plus because it´s hot in Madrid in the summer) and a good size. The bathroom was nice, clean and ample. The reception staff was helpful and polite. An excellent value if you just want a cool, clean place to rest while visiting the wonderful city of Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpkspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of the hotel we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tryp Madrid Washington. I will trasmit to all the staff your kind comments and particulary to reception desk.

Once again thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate that.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    390
    257
    70
    48
See reviews for
211
366
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The room was spacious and pretty clean however the air conditioning system was very loud even when you swtch it off! I asked to change room thinking it was a problem only in my room, but it was exactly the same in the other room. The hotel has no bar and the breakfast wasn't the greatest. Very good position for tourism.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nites. The toilet should be smaller to make the room bigger. If not include the nice toilet, the room itself is 2-star quality. The receptionists talked to me nicely, but somehow I got bad luck. First day I asked a receptionist where to eat Paella. She gave me address and marked it on the map, turning out that both are wrong. I got to the very point on the map and the point of the address (different places btw).

The next day, we got out of the room at 10:30AM, coming back to get something at 5PM, but the room not made up yet. Got to tell them to do.

On the day back, the man receptionist called taxi for us, but he circled around and then charged us 45euro.

Room Tip: Good price on www.aviewoncities.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lousifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the busy street of Gran Via, at a very short walking distance from the blue-line metro station of Plaza de España. The iconic landmarks of Madrid such as Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol are also located at a walking distance from the hotel. I was given an individual room not facing the Gran Via street, so I didn't hear any traffic noise. However, the room was too small that you can hardly move around without bumping into furniture. Also, there was a desk in the room without a chair. The hotel offers an in-room private safety box, where you can store your passport and valuable items. The front desk receptionists were very friendly, particularly the guy who who works in the morning shift. The breakfast room is nice overlooking Gran Via street, where a full hot & cold breakfast buffet is served every morning.
Based on the layout, it seems to me that the hotel was a residential building in the past that was converted into a hotel. The only thing that annoyed me during my stay in this hotel is some Spanish people talking loud in the hallway instead of going inside their room and also the maid who starts vacuuming at 9:00 a.m. and I think this is due to the fact that the hotel check-in time starts at noon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
293 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

THe Hotel is small at the end of the Grand Via. Great location. Roomes are clean and the breakfast was nice. If you are looking for Lux, this is not the palce for you. If you kjust want a clean place to stay that will not break the budget, this is the place for you. Very kids friendly too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Right in the Grand Via, very close to Plaza España and the subway. Careful not to miss the tiny entrance. Average 3* hotel with dated rooms, but great staff and general value. We were upgraded to a family room with Gran Via view, which was nice - the double layered windows are almost 100% effective. Some reviews say the beds are hard, but had absolutely no problem with it. The TV set was probably from the 90s, but Bang & Olufsen, which I found very funny. Very good breakfast with lots of options. They charge EUR8 for 24h wi-fi Internet access, but it was broken for 3 of my 5 days stay. Elevator can take too long sometimes. If you're on a budget and can get a nice rate, go for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

The location is great, (about 15 mins walk to the Palace), the staff at breakfast very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very good. The room was not fancy, but very clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlikeSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
#188 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#190 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#192 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#183 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Centro

Property: Tryp Madrid Centro
Address: Calle Gran Via 72, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Washington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Madrid Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Washington Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Washington
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing