We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, low cost hotel for Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sercotel Hotel Togumar
Ranked #255 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Me and a group of friends of mine stayed here, whilst on a short weekend break to Madrid.

The hotel was great. Rooms and bathroom were nice and clean and the beds were comfy. The room we stayed in also had a kitchette and air conditioning, which were both very handy indeed.

Check-in was quick and simple and the staff were all very friendly. And we were even able to check in before 2pm which was very handy, as we could drop off our cases and then head into the city.

The hotel is the Properidad area of Madrid, so it is away from the hussle and noise of the city centre. Easy to get into the city or to the airport via the metrol station which is a couple of minutes walk away. Don't be put off that the entrance to the hotel is down a back street full of car garages, it definitely means you get a quiet nights sleep. :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, in the front building. Was very quiet with hardly any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

Good basic facility. we travelled with a small child and needed basic kitchen facility and this place was perfect. Location is great. 15mins to city centre and 30 mins to airport by train.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJvj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Very convenient location, close to the subway Prosperidad, line 4. Very quiet area of ​​Madrid, low old house, there is little automobile traffic. Likely Togumar former hostel because we had a very large room with a kitchen and satellite TV. Breakfast is not very large selection, but you can eat for unpretentious people. The airport is reached by metro in 25 minutes. I recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olegkravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

When we arrived, we were given a key to our room and was told it was in the next building behind. We made our way to the building and found the room was on the ground floor overlooking a narrow busy street and the buildings opposite. Straight away we asked for a higher floor and the hotelier looked at us like we were stupid, so we had to make do with that. We noticed that the curtains were flimsy and see through and didnt close properly and that the shower head holder was broken so we either had to hold the shower head in our hands or take a bath, with a plug that would not fit. It was meant to be an aparthotel and although there was a small kichenette, there were no utensils whatsover, not even to make a tea/coffee. We went back to reception to mention the shower head, at which the hotelier just shrugged his shoulders. We also asked for a couple of cups and a kettle or a pan to make a hot drink and we were just told "no cups, you'll have to use the glasses", even though we knew they had plenty of cups in the dining room (if you can call it that). We were then told we could hire a box of utensils for a deposit of 20 euros, which contained a few pans and plastics utensils. So we purcashed a box only to find that there was nothing in there worth using. The next day we decided to stay in our room with the "do not disturb" sign put on the door, but the cleaners still just entered the room with a key 'in pairs,' to clean a room which was so small. The dining room was like a sardine can and the breakfast was limited. We were expecting American buffet breakfast, as stated. It seemed that whatever we asked for, they just werent interested and were very unhelpful. It's a good job we were only there for a few days. On our departure, we returned the box and the room key back to reception expecting to get our 20 euros back as we were told, only to be told that he had no money for us for the box we hired, and knew nothing about the 20 euros that we paid. As our taxi had not yet arrived, we tried talking with him about it but he just kept saying "No". In the end we had to leave without the money, which was not a great deal of money but it was just the principle of the whole thing. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly would never return!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed from December 26, 2010 until January 5, 2011 and it was really worth it. The location was very much to our liking: off centre, not a posh area, very close to the metro and bus stations-you could even walk to the centre of the city if you felt energetic enough-but above all quiet. The staff were quite friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the rooms were clean. Very good value for money (we booked our room through a travel agency). The few weaknesses of the hotel included mediocre sound isolation of the rooms (you could hear the dragging of beds in the morning by the cleaning ladies but not really what was going on in the room next door), few kitchen utensils and the size of the room where we had breakfast. Otherwise it was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Many people have a conventional aesthetic when it comes to hotels. The closer a hotel comes to that aesthetic the greater their comfort and satisfaction. Those travelers might find Togumar somehow off the mark, with its tile floor, somewhat rickety chairs, and absence of hand soap (but peresence of shower gel) in the room amenities, as well as the non-existent pots and pans in the tiny kitchenette unit. If you tend like I do to appreciate the slightly funky when it exists alongside smart functionality, you'll enjoy your stay. We chose this hotel for a six-day stay because it was down the street from my grad student son's apartment and its existence in a regular neighborhood added to its charm. Others have written about proximity to shops as well as buses (Bus 9 to the City Center) and the Metro. Our room was a triple, three single beds, which for three adults worked well. Two of the beds were standard, with the one, a more cot-like bed which I got, and which turned out to be nicely firm and comfortable. The bathroom was small but efficient, with plush towels, and a decent size trash bin (my holy grail in hotels!). The bathroom's only problem was a small jalousied window that probably vents well but, alas, even does so when closed shut. So we had to keep the bathroom door closed at night to stay warm. Sercotel Togumar was a real bargain and worth a try on that basis only, but it's also comfortable, charming, efficient, and convenient. It would be our first choice in a future Madrid stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November 2010 and had a pleasent stay.
It is a few minutes walk away from metro stop prosperidad and that will take you into central madrid in 10-15 mins.
Easy to find basically head straight out of the station go across the crossing and you will walk by a mechanics and bar on your right and a huge wall will be on your left, follow that and turn left at the end of it and head up the street where it will be on your left.
The room was a decent size not great facilities however if you want to properly do self catering but there is a lidl next to the metro stop which was handy.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonsey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Eco Alcala Suites
Eco Alcala Suites
#253 of 440 in Madrid
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#91 of 440 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
BlueSense Madrid Serrano
BlueSense Madrid Serrano
#381 of 440 in Madrid
20 reviews
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#285 of 440 in Madrid
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Hotel Togumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Hotel Togumar

Address: Calle Canillas 59, 28002 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $72 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sercotel Hotel Togumar 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 71 studio apartments at the Sercotel Togumar Apartments are a delight to our guests. These apartments in Madrid have individual climate control and kitchens, among other services such as free wifi internet. The Sercotel Togumar Apartments want you to encounter the same conveniences as you would at home. This is why these apartments have a functional and welcoming finish. They are all equipped with heating, air-conditioning, kitchen and free wifi internet. From the Sercotel Togumar Apartments you can easily access to the ‘Torre Picasso’ and the ’Santiago Bernabeu’ stadium that are located nearby. *Pets: 7kg max. 11€/day. *Parking: 20€/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sercotel Hotel Togumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Togumar Hotel Madrid
Togumar Apartments Madrid
Togumar Apartments Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing