We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the #1 ranking!”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I have found European hotels generally cannot compare to US or Australian hotels in terms of room size, quality, and cleanliness. Pleased to report that Best Western Atlantico blew me away! After reading the reviews I had dreams about a tiny desk set up in a dark foyer to receive guest - in reality, it is simply that the front desk is quite small, so I can imagine it gets pretty busy.
The hotel has its own website and offers pretty good rates, including discounts if you are 'junior' (under 30 I think) and senior (over 65). But the best rate I found was on Expedia - my mother and I were able to book a superior room on Expedia at less than the cost of a standard double using the hotel's own website.
The room was fantastic - twin beds are usually in larger rooms than double beds I think. Very roomy, with a large enough wardrobe for our 4 night stay, as well as a small tea table and chairs. We were on the 8th Fl overlooking Gran Via, but at that height the street level noise is no problem.
Service is great - everyone was helpful with a smile. They even scanned some documents for me.
The 9th fl. opens up to a lounge/bar, with a rooftop terrace area which is gorgeous. Complimentary tea and coffee is served, which is great on a cold day. There is also an office-type room where the hotel offers internet connection on a computer for free, though they don't advertise this as you can also pay for access in your room via the TV.
Foodwise, Zahara is good for breakfast, particularly if like my mother you prefer eggs to pastries. Don't go on Sundays though, as the price jacks up significantly and it's better value for money to pay 9E for the hotel's buffet.
Bathroom was excellent. Shower over bath (2 different shower heads) as well as a double sink and a separate room for toilet and bidet. By far the best layout in any European hotel I've seen at this price. It was such as a bargain!
The hotel staff also recommended a restaurant called La Gloria de Montera. Don't go if you like great food. The restaurant has a great vibe and a lovely setting with friendly staff, and the prices are ridiculously cheap. Which explains why the food is so ordinary overall, and terrible in some dishes. We found a couple of places which were great - Meson O'Luar which is about 5min. walk away down Gran Via on San Bernardo. They do great boquerones fritos (fried fresh anchovies) and paella. We didn't find this place touristy, and the food is terrific at very reasonable prices. Even better, their kitchen doesn't shut between lunch and dinner so we could get a very late lunch/early dinner if we'd done a full day's shopping. Another great place was El Cucurucho - about 5min walk away from hotel on Postigo de San Martin (near the El Cortes Ingles), and again cheap but great food.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gin_and_jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2009
Google Translation

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

Thank you for the title included in the head of you comments and your nice words with reference your stay at our hotel Best Western Atlántico .

Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves. All your suggestion will bear in our mind in the future in order to improve our quality and services for our guests.

The Best Western Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,399 - 2,405 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2009

We had a 5 day winter break at the Atlantico.Our 'superior ' room on the 7th floor was nicely decorated and spacious and overlooked the Gran Via.The attached bathroom was tastefully 'marbled' and well equipped.The shower was the most powerful we have ever encountered-police water cannons are mere trickles in comparison;wonderful!
Everything worked-including the built in radios (this is rare in hotels).Housekeeping was good and the room spotless.Traffic noise from the Gran Via was well muted by the double glazing.The staff were friendly and helpful.The hot breakfast could have been better/hotter; the cold buffet,cereals and coffee were fine.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alantico and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

Thank you for your nice words with reference to your stay at our hotel Best Western Atlántico . Thank you also to recommend our hotel.

Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves. All your suggestion will bear in our mind in the future in order to improve our quality and services for our guests.

The Best Western Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My husband took me to Madrid to celebrate my 50th birthday and we were pleasantly surprised by such a lovely Hotel. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Particularly the guy who had lived in Perth Australia - where we are from originally (sorry didn't get his name - nice guy). He couldn't do enough for us. We upgraded to a Superior Room and stayed in room 708 - which was just beautifully appointed. Lots of room, balcony with a view over the Gran Via and gorgeous bathroom - everything was just perfect. The location of the Hotel is ideal for everything closeby. The streets were very busy - however - the noise was very limited in our room on the 7th floor - particularly if we used the electronic window shutters at night. Breakfast was adequate and at 9 euros we thought it was excellent value. We could help ourselves for coffee throughout the day too. The 9th Floor bar and terraces are a definite visit for the view - we had a few drinks on our first night and nicknamed the Barman "Manuel" from Faulty Towers - he was so nice. The airport shuttle is very good value from the Airport to the Hotel - its for free!! At only 6 euros back to the airport - we were very impressed as we had been told that Taxi's can be expensive. In Summary I had a great 50th in Madrid - which was certainly assisted by staying in a most beautiful Hotel and friendly city. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Madrid who would require a central location to everything!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

First of all congratulations for your 50th birthday. I am very happy to hear that you have a nice stay in our hotel and enjoy yourr time here during your birthday.

Thank you also for your nice words about our staff (Receptionist and Barmnan).

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Well situated to be able walk to all the main attractions in Madrid our room on the 8th floor was excellent. Although overlooking the main road the double glazing was adequate to exclude most of the traffic noise. The room was spotless with a beautiful bathroom. The staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful and the rooftop bar and lounge was an excellent place to relax between afternoon sightseeing and venturing forth for the evening. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

Let me start by thanking you for your strongly recomnendations about our hotel included in your answer regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Just back from 5 nights at the Atlantico. Best thing about it is its central location. The downside to that is it's noisy, but after the first night we got used to that. Desk staff were unfailingly helpful but hotel provides very little in way of tourist information. Breakfasts were very overpriced so we used a little cafe round the corner.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding our breakfast. We have a buffet style breakfast with hot and cold meals (eggs, sausages, bacon, cheese, cakes, jam, honey, yogurts, different types of bread and fruits, etc). Last year we have also included a diet corner with different kind of juices, integral cakes and cookies and all is sugar free. All this for 9 euros!!!. Maybe it is too expensive if you only take a coffe and a toast but we just offer a full buffet breakfast..

With reference the little information regarding our city, please note our receptions can give your the information about all the leisure places in Madrid to enjoy your time (flamenco, disco, restaurants, etc). You are right we have note many brochures displayed because Madrid is a very big city with many places to visit, then we can not have all these brochures displayed. But if you ask at the reception desk they can give you all the information required.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Staying at this hotel greatly assisted in giving me a lasting, positive impression of Madrid, and I will definitely be choosing this hotel again the next time I go there.

The hotel couldn't be better located, right on the busy central road Gran Via, which is lined with 10-story tall buildings designed in a fantastic architectural style. There are two Metro stations just nearby, and everything you need to begin shopping, eating, or getting to a sight. Our room was with a balcony out to a tiny side road, so our view wasn't good, but on the other hand, we had less noise from the street.

The hotel is modern, clean and tasteful. They have a roof terrace from which you can look down on the street and over the city a bit. The room style is modern and neutral, and our double room had a very nice marble bathroom with two sinks, bathtub, and everything you could ask for. Flat screen TV, minibar, locker, aircondition all worked perfectly.

We had breakfast at the hotel, which wasn't amazing, but not bad either. I had a sandwich from the roof top terrace bar, which was alright, but nothing special.

Fantastic value for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilsnerDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

Thank you for information with reference your stay at our hotel Best Western Atlántico . Thank you also for your recommentations about our hotel.

Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves. All your suggestion will bear in our mind in the future in order to improve our quality and services for our guests.

The Best Western Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I surprised my other half for her 31st birthday with a 2 night stay in the Atlantico, Madrid. From the moment we walked in i knew id picked the right hotel! The hotel is bang on the main street running through the old town - so its perfect for a short break, as everything is in walking distance! The fella on the receptionist was very helpful throughout our stay and we were given an upgrade to a great room with a very nice view (always try to stay in a higher level room to avoid the street noise). The room itself was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. (we normally stay in Hilton hotels and regulary have to complain about their hard beds!!). When you need a break from city life outside - the bar on the 9th floor is a great place to go for a relaxing cheeky drink before heading out for dinner. If i ever go back to Madrid i wouldnt consider staying in any other hotel!

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank freeman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madridhola, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Dear Mr/Ms Guest:

First of all I hope your other half have had a nice 31st birthday in our hotel and in Madrid.

Also I would like to continue by thanking you for completing the Guest Survey with a nice words regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Best Western Hotel Atlantico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,912 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#10 of 437 in Madrid
1,553 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $137 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing