We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent 3 nights here. Arrived too late to make use of complementary airport arrival service and 8 euro airport return was not at a useful time for us but i am sure would be useful for many. Lovely, spotlessly clean room and bathroom looking out onto Gran Via. The terrace bar on the 9th floor is a definite bonus. A computer/printer on the same floor made flight check-ins straightforward. The 10 euro breakfast was fine if underwhelming. Staff were welcoming and friendly. This hotel is well situated for sightseeing and going out in the evenings. I would highly recommend it and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello LizzieD33.


Thank you for your review it is appreciated.

Following your comments, the three days stay with us was great but not excellent, since you give not the full marks in some of our services. We expect you visit the Hotel Atlantico again and this time to meet your expectations one hundred percent.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    892
    170
    40
    26
See reviews for
466
1,833
246
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The staff was helpful, the room a good size, comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and worth the price. The bathroom was very good size. We had a room not near the street and it was totally quiet at night although the hotel is on once of the world's busiest streets. Good location to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Stay back rom street an best on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear DavidBel,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on the reviews, and in general we were pleased with our choice. Our room was pleasant, decent size, nice bathroom, all the amenities we needed. The room overlooked what can only be described as a large brick shaft, so not much natural daylight and no view! However there was plenty of good lighting in the room itself and we figured we'd get no street noise - we got really good peaceful nights sleep so all in all we were happy.
Overall the hotel was immaculate - even the brickwork on the roof terrace was scrupulously clean. There are 2 different terraces, both very pleasant places to have a drink with great views over Madrid and Gran Via. All the staff in the hotel were incredibly professional and pleasant.
We took breakfast twice - it's all buffet style where you help yourself to as much as you want. Fresh and tinned fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, coffee and juice, cheese, ham, jamon, bread, plus hot items (scrambled eggs, tortilla, little hot dog sausages and bacon) - I reckon that amount of choice is pretty good value for 10 euros per person.
Hotel location is good, everything within walking distance. There's also a metro station outside the hotel if you prefer to take it easy. Our favourite bar was Jose Alfredo on Calle Silva which was only a few mins from the hotel - they don't do food but do great cocktails.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear AlanMeerkat.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I'm pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in general terms, I am very sorry to read that the room had not the natural daylight as you expected. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to accomodate you again on some future occasion.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel to end a 2-week European vacation. Our room was surprisingly large with a sitting area, makeup table/mirror, 2 large beds pushed together, and a reasonably sized bathroom. I'm not a huge fan of stripes & floral motifs, but the room was exceptional clean and was thoroughly sanitized throughout our stay (fresh towels/new sheets/mopped floors each day). We could hear street noise, but that never kept us from sleeping at night.
The location is excellent and the hotel lobby offers passes to purchase for the red tour bus. Otherwise, you can walk everywhere.
The breakfast was consistent and unvaried but the cappuccino machine was the saving grace (conveniently, there are 2).
The staff was polished, polite, and helpful and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_in_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good morning Jennifer_in_PDX.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your stay was convenient and comfortable. We are very pleased that you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid. I hope you come back again to the Hotel Atlantico in order to provide you a room of your liking, without flower decoration!

Until then, I wish you a happy day.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was our final stop after a month and a bit in europe. A few hours on the train from Barcelona and a non english speaking cab ride later we were at the Hotel Atlantico. We quickly noticed that this was a great location and fantastic hotel!

During our trip we had seen the range of high and low's that European hotels have to offer. This place is on the high! Beautiful exterior, fantastic halls and amazing rooms. Our room was the 2nd biggest space we had stayed in during our trip and very welcome after staying in some shoebox size places over the past few weeks.

We loved the bed and fantastic bathroom, the whole place was better than we had expected. The hotel is on a great strip, lots of shops, places to eat and close by lanes with interesting spanish places to see.

If we ever return to Madrid, this place would be our place of choice again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello iac0n.

Thank you for your time and for your nice review. According to your comments your stay was great but not excellent as you give us only "very good" in the score of each service. We expect you visit the Hotel Atlantico again and this time to meet your expectations one hundred percent.

Thank you and I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

First ,the location is extremely good for a tourist. If you are able to walk without problems, you will get to most places in the old city, on foot. For greater distances the hop on- hop off bus passes the hotel and stops about 100 metres up the road, ( people over 65 get a big reduction on the price but you must show evidence of age ) and there are plenty of bars, cafes within reasonable walking distance.

The inside of the hotel is of a high standard of appearance and the public rooms( on the top floor of the building with the bar and views) is also to a high standard.

The breakfast room is pleasant and airy with views out onto the Gran Via. The breakfast is 10 Euros and is reasonable without being deserving of fulsome praise. The orange juice is not fresh juice and I didn't get on with the coffee (from a machine ) so for me, that's a poor start but the other stuff was at the ok level.

The reception staff are also worthy of a mention, very pleasant to talk to and very helpful.

I booked through an online agent so didn't get to choose a room, it just got booked. We got a very small room with a very small bathroom. The room had a window but had brick walls a couple of metres away so there was no natural daylight in the room which did not feel good. Otherwise everything in the room and bathroom was to a very good standard, so avoid this type of room and you will enjoy it. In a bigger room it would have been a great stay as apart from the small room,the hotel overall is very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the small ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello Micheled.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

We deeply apologize you don't like the size of your room and bathroom. I appreciate your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in order to give you one room of your liking.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was just a beautiful hotel. We had the 7th floor corner room and it was amazing! The roof top bar and pool "wonderful" The hotel staff was great! Perfect location for walking everywhere, also Big Red bus Tour stop close by. Would defiantly stay here again. ENJOY!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good morning Missyuma.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and for your stay. We appreciate your kind appreciation of our staff and hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,549 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing