We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay while in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay while in Madrid”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I didn't choose this hotel and might have passed it by. I tend to search for hotels with restaurants and full room service. Hotel Atlantico offers breakfast and light snacks in a beautiful dining room and roof top bar but probably wouldn't have qualified in my search. Thankfully, someone in my group chose it and I couldn't have been happier.

The hotel is very centrally located near shops, restaurants, transportation and tours. It is spectacularly clean and comfortable. The hotel feels both old world and new with inlaid marble floors, lead glass windows and meticulously polished brass. Rooms are simple but high-end. Some rooms face the front, other face a small courtyard. Typically courtyards can feel dreary but this one felt bright and private. See photos.

Service was equally impressive. For the three short days that I stayed at this hotel I felt like I was at home. I really find in Madrid!

Room Tip: I preferred my room that faced the courtyard for it's privacy and serene feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel127121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Travel127121.

Thank you to someone in your group for choosing Hotel Atlántico for your stay in Madrid and thanks a lot to you for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    899
    170
    41
    26
See reviews for
470
1,847
247
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

we spent 3 nights in this hotel and found it to be in a very central location, once we took the city bus tour (stop was 100 mt away from the hotel) and went up to the roof top dome on the hotel we realised how close everything was.
We found the the staff friendly especially the barman on the roof top bar which we used at some point each evening after a day of taking it all in. We found the toasted sandwiches an good top up until we went on the hunt for food in the evening. Food was not a problem with so much choice. Our room was very comfortable Bath room large and both spotless clean.
The breakfast was a OK but if you got down late very sparse they did not restock.
We had a room on the 3rd floor over looking the Grand Via main street and did not find it as noisy as some reviews had warned.

Graffiti and beggars are very very noticeable in the city and so was the Police presence and we did know if that was a good or bad thing, anyway we didn't have to avail of their help.

All in I would have no problem recommending the hotel.

Enjoy

Room Tip: get down early for breakfast if your eating in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Five_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Dublin_Five_O

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Atlantico.

We however regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the brakfast timetable. We take this opportunity to inform you that our breakfast time is from 7:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and until that time the staff restocked continuously. Even if the guest arrives after closing time, he also served breakfast, although not the full buffet. Maybe this was your case.

Thank you once again for your feed back as it would help us to identify points that can be improved and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing location in Madrid! We had a wonderful 4 days at this hotel and loved it. Clean hotel, adorable rooms, good wifi and right on gran via!

Service was polite and friendly. Easy walk to restaurants, plazas and shopping. Great breakfast just on a patio down the street.

A fantastic stay!

Thanks Hotel Atlantico!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoGirlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TorontoGirlyGirl

we would like to thank you for all your nice comments regarding the hotel and the level of service. Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them. Please rest assured that I will extend your compliments to the entire staff.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at Hotel Atlántico and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Really nice hotel, ideally placed for most Central Madrid activities. Free WiFi worked well everywhere, staff were great for local recommendations and booking things and the 9th floor bar has great views, attentive service, and reasonable prices. Great choice.

Tips: Grand Via and Calleo stations are just as close to the hotel, and the Sightseeing Bus (a bargain at E25 for 2 days) passes right outside. Ask the staff to recommend stuff e.g Segway tours and Flamenco evenings.

Room Tip: If you want an exterior view ask for one - our view was an internal courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear CPRLondon.

Thank you for your nice review. I have shared your kind words with our staff. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us due our wifi system, location and the services provided by our staff. We hope you get to make it back to see us sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

With a short one night stay before a return flight, we enjoyed the central location on Gran Via. Lively night scene out front, shops and restaurants in walking distance all around. The small hotel is cosy and comfortable, clean as a whistle, and the desk fellows were very helpful. Our room on the eighth floor was quiet and lovely, and the breakfast area is peaceful with large windows bringing in light from the street. We will go back with enthusiasm!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two nice views and lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear L Frank.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our location, room, breakfst, comfort and cleaning. Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very well-located on the Gran Via - a major shopping artery and within walking distance of many sites including the Prado, botanical garden, cathedral, Royal Palace and a large park. Loads of restaurants in the vicinty and lots of nice bars too.
The road in front is very busy, but the hotel itself seemed very tranquil - it has good double glazing.
It is immaculately clean - every surface seems newly polished or painted and there is a nice terrace at the top to sit out on. The breakfast was good value for 10 euros, with plenty to choose from.
Taxi from the airport cost 30 euros - or you can catch a hotel bus at certain times of the day.
I emailed them before arriving and they answered my question promptly. The staff on the front desk were efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was given one with a window onto an internal courtyard - it was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear VLP.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel as cleaning, quietness and breakfast, included also our central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assitant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. We stayed on the fourth floor facing the main road- some noise at night but it didn't bother us to much. The room was lovely, crisp white bed linen and very clean- the bedtime chocolates were a lovely touch. Madrid will always remain a special place as we got engaged during our trip! Thank you hotel atlantico!! The free wifi came in useful to contact home with our good news!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelKent86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear RachaelKent86.

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We were all happy to hear you had a good experience with us and you prove this with a full marks in the survey. It is our pleasure to have served you. We look forward to your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
3,601 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
932 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
395 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing