We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great on Gran Via!”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #23 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I was concerned about the small reception area when we arrived but this is a verynice place. Rooms have high ceilings and are large by European standards. Bathroom is very roomy and everything seems newly remodeled. We love breakfast and the lounge on the 9th floor. Don't miss the view from up there for sunrise or sunset!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello familytraveller123.

Thank you for your time and the nice comments sent

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the size of the room, the bathroom, breakfast and lounge area.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atlantico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Situated along a main boulevard, hotel features well appointed rooms, buffet breakfast (10 euros), wonderful 9th floor lounge with indoor sitting rooms, big screen Tv, and outdoor terrace with views. Rooms overlooking the street are a wee bit noisy but the view is fun. Everything is walkable and Madrid is a walking city. Expect a 20 minute walk to major museums, and you may need the walk after mimosas and cappuccinos at breakfast

Room Tip: Overlooking Grand Via if you don't mind city noise,I usually prefer absolute quiet but this was...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2014

Hello Barb C.

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your feedback is appreciated and will help us with the continuous improvement of our service. We are very glad to hear such a nice words.

With reference to the noise, we have interior rooms to solve this matter. It is difficult to eliminate the sirens and sounds of the city. Madrid city center is 24 hours of hustle and bustle.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location meaning you are in a central location making walking to many key locations all very doable. Whilst breakfast being included would be nice, there is a nice cafe a couple of doors away which serves a nice selection and at a better price than the hotel. The room wasn't massive and the twin beds initially looked like a double bed they were that close! Bathroom was lovely with good quality towelling robes and towels. It may have been us, but couldn't find any English speaking tv channels and couldn't use ipod via tv - but a very minor thing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank CUZ-MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 14, 2014

Hello CUZ-MM

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property and thank you for your suggestions. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street. Regarding the TV channels in English, I inform you that we have Eurosport, Russia Today, BBC Word and CNN.

Finally thank you for your recommendations to other travelers and hope to see you very soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went for a long weekend and can't fault this hotel. The staff are great and very helpful and friendly. The room overlooked the Gran Via and was noisy but what else would you expect from a central location in a city.
The room was spacious, clean and decorated in soft cream which was very relaxing. The bathroom was fantastic and there were lots of little extras such as spare toothbrushes, lotions and potions, even sewing kits and shoe shine pads!!!
In the evening the beds were turned with a little gift of chocolates in little gold bags left on the beds.
The 9th floor bar was lovely with a terrace with amazing views of the city, if you go up the little winding staircase you end up in a cupola with panaromic views.
I can't fault this hotel. The only addition would be room service but to be honest its no big deal to go down to the 1st floor for free tea and coffee or up to the bar in the evening.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank sunnybunny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 14, 2014

Dear sunnybunny49.

We would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and the level of service. It is glad to hear you enjoyed your long weekend with us.

Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them.

Please rest assured that I will extend your compliments to the entire staff.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at Hotel Atlántico and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just stayed 8 nights at hotel atlantico , the staff was fantastic,our room was very big and extremely comfortable, our hotel was located on the Gran Via which is a very noisy area, but we had electric blinds that blocked out the noise at night , and our breakfast every morning was great, and the maid service was extremely good , we enjoyed having our bed turned down at night with the bag of chocolates left on our bed. If you are planning a trip to Madrid Spain this hotel was fantastic Great price for our length of stay and located near to everything within walking distance .

Room Tip: The superior room would be your best bet that's what we got and it was much better than the stan...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 14, 2014

Good morning Pam B.

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Just back from madrid after staying in the Atlantico hotel .. I love it . The hotel is location in a great place .. walking distance from everywhere in the city . The staff are very friendly and helpful ...the bar on the top floor was so relaxing and stress free
.Enjoy our weekend so much and diffenly will be back soon

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hello Karen B.

Thanks a lot for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend in the Hotel Atlántico.

Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shard your comments with them. I am also delight to read that you also enjoyed our location, walking distance from everywhere.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is an early 20th century neo-traditional building right on Gran Via between the Calleo and Gran Via metro stations. It is near shops, large department stores and movie theatres, restaurants and bars, and is a short walk to the Plaza de la Puerta del Sol. We had booked a large Superior Room online which turned out to be a large, comfortable corner room with very high ceilings and tall windows on two sides that opened onto small balconies. Though priced higher than we prefer to pay, we felt we chose well. The hotel is right on Gran Via but the room was very quiet when roll-down shutters and windows were closed. The room had both adjustable heat and air conditioning. Though my husband found the bed a bit too firm, it was comfortable enough for me. The room also had a desk, two chairs and a small round table. The here was good storage, a safe large enough for laptops, free wifi that worked very well, and good lighting. The bathroom was comprised of 2 rooms. The first had 2 sinks in a long counter and a large tub with 2 types of showers (stationary and handheld). You get to the separate W.C. through this room; the W.C. has it's own door. An ample breakfast is served until 11 a.m. in a spacious though not large room with a very attentive and industrious sala de desayuno staff. A nice feature was the provision of two café machines and two toasters which helped during busier times. There is also an espresso bar, and the staff provided teapots of hot water. Eggs are prepared several ways, and there are the usual meats, rolls, cereals, juices, etc. We found all the staff but one to be very helpful and amiable. The day we checked out, however, a young woman we had not seen before was at the front desk. We stopped to ask about a taxi to the train station and she advised us to go across Gran Via and hail one ourselves. We were not happy about the prospect of crossing busy Gran Via with luggage, especially since the streets were a mess when we were there due to a city-wide garbage strike. But when we got back to the front desk with our luggage one of the older male employees had returned and he immediately went out front and hailed a cab for us. Needless to say, we tipped him as this is the service we expected from a hotel of this class and cost. Some guide books caution people to be careful of areas near here. I found the area generally safe because there were always lots of people on the streets. But be advised that the neighborhood can change quickly and take the usual big city precautions.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are probably larger. Noise was not a problem in ours.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capellirossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 10, 2014

Dear capellirossi.

Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Atlantico. We are very pleased to read that your room was comfortable and that you have enjoyed the hotel included the breakfast and the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. I am also happy to hear that the problem with the taxi was solved by the porter.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 438 in Madrid
3,869 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#47 of 438 in Madrid
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#18 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $141 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing