We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the best hotel of our European trip. A wonderful spacious room and bath with all the amenities. The staff was so helpful and the location was perfect, on the edge of Chueca and within walking distance of all the Old Madrid sights. Loved the Hotel and Loved Madrid!

Room Tip: The higher floors...even though we faced Gran Via the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotomanSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear PhotomanSanDiego,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. I am happy to read the Hotel Atlantico was the best hotel in your European trip!

I have shared your nice comments with the hotel staff and they are very happy to receive comments like yours.


It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    899
    170
    41
    26
See reviews for
470
1,847
247
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The lobby is not impressive at all, but the rooms are huge, well decorated with modern and comfortable bathrooms. Lots of toiletries. And clean. And,lots of spaces and drawwes, Everybody was very pleasant and tried to please you the most they could. Breakfast was just ok, with the basics. Location was everything. And service. They would do anythink. To please you the most. And I got a really good rate. Woud definately stay there again. And redommend it.

Room Tip: Haven,t been in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear SimRio,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. Thank you also for your recommendations.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Thank you for your honest observations and feedback about the lobby and breakfast that helps us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A fantasic hotel. Took advantage of the free minibus from the airport which was an excellent service away from the hustle and bustle of all the taxis which can be quite daunting in a country where not many people speak English. Hotel was beautiful from the outside and hotel lobby was immaculate. Rooms were a good size and the little extras like the bathrobes, slippers, daily razors and dental care kits etc added a little luxury. The location was 10/10. Next to all the shops, restuarants and bars in the city with close access to the tour bus etc. Would definatly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah061007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hannan061007.

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, directly in Gran Via street, rooms and amenities. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for five nights. We were delighted that upon our arrival at the hotel before noon we did not have to wait for a room, one was provided immediately. We had booked a standard room and although the room was slightly on the small side, it certainly provided for all of our needs. More drawers to store clothing would have been nice as we were only provided with three small ones inside the closet area. The bath was clean, well maintained and very adequate, but was large enough for only one person at a time; however there was a small desk with a hair dryer on the wall next to the desk which allowed an additional place for hair to be dryed and makeup applied. Good airconditioning and comfortable bed. The location made walking to most of the recommended sights easy. Close proximity to many good restaurants and shows. We stayed in room 609 which faced Gran Via and having read earlier comments about the noise we were a little concerned; however neither of us heard any noise from the street other than an occasional siren. The noise did not seem any worse than in any other large city. The staff was very helpful in making reservations for us and giving us information. Even though there is almost no seating in the lobby area there is a very nice lounge area on the 9th floor. We used the hotel shuttle for transportation back to the airport for 8 euros per person which was nice as the taxi ride from the airport to the hotel had been 40 euros with tip. Excellent value!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor would be a good choice to lessen street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear cphilpot,

we'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your five nights of stay in Madrid and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our location.

We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our

Warmest regards
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director



Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is a typical european hotel, small bed, small bathroom, little to no ammenities. We just expected a lot more out of the 4.5 rating and the look of it. I know this is typical of european hotels and the best western chain internationally. I just wnat to make people aware that it is not what you would expect out of a similar hotel look and location in another city. Still recomend it for 1 night! Amazing location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Cristy T.

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and we are very sorry to hear about the different troubles you had to go through during your stay. For your information, I want to tell you that the Hotel Atlantico does not belong to Best Western Chain since January 2012.

Again, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed in many capital cities in corporate hotels and some dives.

This is a great hotel for a weekend away. Not pretentious, simply good value, quality and comfortable with pleasant staff.

Great location. Bedrooms lovely, the longer I stayed the more I appreciated the quality

Booked a superior room, given a front room with balcony which was handy as the Tour of Spain came by 8 times.

Great bar on top floor with rather slow service but worth it, brilliant sunsets

Breakfast good value

I would strongly recommend. Its an oasis in the middle of the tourist center of Madrid. My wife and simply walked everywhere, we didn't need the metro.

To enjoy great places to eat, simply walk out of the hotel and cross the road and carry on for a few hundred yards, no tourists, just the locals having a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyman3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Familyman3844,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that you and your wife had a comfortable stay with us and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location, the staff, the breakfast and the bar, as well as the room with balcony to see the Tour of Spain!.

Thanks again for your strong recommendation.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 5 nights - upgraded to superior room when booking as seemed good value. The hotel is located centrally, easy walking to many attractions, great shops, restaurants, tapas etc. Room was perfect, super king size bed, turned down at night with complimentary chocolates. Large bathroom, two basins, double size shower & bath. All staff were helpful, cheerful and efficient. The front desk staff especially for indulging my husband with his efforts at speaking mainly in Spanish! All with a great sense of humour. Well done, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear DrewLynn.

Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations.

We do appreciate all the great comments and thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
3,602 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
395 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
932 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing