We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in Madrid in August 2013. Was keen to see galleries, enjoy the Spanish food and Flamenco dancing. The hotel provided great access to all of these.

Buy the two day Red tourist bus ticket that will take you to all the main attractions right from the front of the hotel.

Great breakfast, great clean room and a killer location.

We loved out stay here. :)

Room Tip: Enjoy the breakfast and walk to everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank King_of_Kew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear King_of_Kew,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Atlántico. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our breakfast, room and location.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    900
    170
    41
    26
See reviews for
470
1,851
249
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed in 5 different top trip advisor hotels in Spain. Atlantico is the best in terms of service. although i find the Spanish don't like to smile a whole lot, Atlantico staff are very professional and helpful. the location is great! close to bus stop and subway station and the main plazas. the room was not big but so thoughtful and the bathroom is sufficient with just right water temperature and pressure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goingeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear goingouro.

Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel. We do appreciate all the great comment about our location and service. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards with a big Spanish smile.
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in May 13. The hotel is perfect situated for seeing the main tourist spots in Madrid. We took the Metro from the airport which was a very efficient & cheap. There is a metro stop (Callao) just across the road from the hotel. From memory it took about 45 mins and cost 5 Euros each way.

Room was not big, but for a city centre hotel it was big enough. Both the hotel & room was very clean. Check-in / check-out was efficient and the staff helpful.

As some other reviews have said, the location can be noisy at night as it is on a main street. However, the rooms have electric shutters, as well as the windows, which close fully and do help prevent some of the noise. We were on the side alley which was still noisy but managed to sleep fine. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest you ask for a quiet room facing inside.

The hotel has a bar terrace which is nice, however, there are so many nice places nearby we felt it was better to venture out rather than sit in the hotel.

Would recommend this hotel if visiting Madrid and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1st_Class_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear 1st_Class_Please.

First of all thank you for this wonderful review and for your recommendations. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your comments about out location and room and thank you also for sharing with other travelers your kind opinion about the noise.

It is our pleasure to have served you. We look forward to your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were in Madrid for a 5 day city trip and staid in this hotel, which is located on the Gran Via, in the heart of Madrid. From here you can do everything by foot, you don't need a PT pass. An excellent choice. Classic, good quality rooms, nicely decorated and attention to detail everywhere. Airco (needed in Madrid in the summer!) Bathroom well equipped and clean, good selection of soaps, shampoos and other products. Balcony with view over Gran Via with nice views, specially by night. Roof terrace is a bonus. We were on the 7th floor so high enough for the street sounds not to bother us. Staff is very helpful, being there when you need them. Breakfast selection A OK.

Room Tip: If on the Gran Via side of the hotel, get a room on one of the upper floors so the street noise isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matselekjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Matselekje.

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. I am most pleased of all thought that you enjoyed our quality and service during the 5 days of your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest Regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent three nights and enjoyed every aspect of Hotel Atlantico. Sr. Javier greeted us when we arrived from a long night of travelling, and his professional manner and focus on our comfort really set the tone for our stay. The location simply cannot be improved. Across the street from the Callao Metro, taxi stand and many, many shops and cafe's. Easy walking distance to all the major central Madrid sights.The walk back from the Prado was perfect end to a day looking at fabulous art, and was a leisurely 30 minutes. The room was well apportioned and very clean. We requested and received a non-smoking room. The roof-top terraces are lovely and provide a wonderful place to unwind after a busy day.I will recommend this hotel to my personal friends and will happily book here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Joe J.

Thank you for your review it is appreciated. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your three days stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid.
I am delighted to read that Javier took such good care of you during your stay. He was delighted to read your comment as he does really go out of her way to make sure all our guests have a wonderful time. .

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico again soon.

Kindest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived in Madrid on the AVE train from Sevilla. A ten euro taxi ride will get you to the hotel---very easy. The Grand Via will remind you of New York's Fifth Avenue---crowds of shoppers and tourists and full of energy. Yet our room (seventh floor, facing the Grand Via) was remarkably quiet. It was also much larger than we expected. The bathroom was spacious and well designed. All in all a most comfortable place to stay. The staff at the desk spoke very good English. We walked to all the major attractions from the hotel. Sore feet, but we think it's the best way to experience a city. Only one caveat. The hotel arranges a shuttle to the airport (eight euros per person, first shuttle 8AM). They advised it was a half hour trip. It took slightly over an hour. The driver didn't speak English, and the multiple airport terminals are far from one another so exiting the shuttle at the wrong stop would be a problem. It worked out ok but I would consider a taxi next time, depending on your departure details.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Gery S.

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Atlantico. We however regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the shuttle bus service. Please note sometimes the traffic in a big city like Madrid makes very difficult to calculate the exact time to drive from the hotel to the airport. The usual is 30 min. but if there is heavy traffic can be 1 hour. I hope you understand the situation.

I am delight to hear that you enjoyed our location, the room and bathroom and most important for us the service provided by our staff.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and were extremely happy! The hotel is close to pretty much every place you could want to go in central Madrid. And a block away from one of the stops for the hop on/hop off bus - very convenient for sore feet after a day of sightseeing.
Our room was on the 2nd floor facing Grand Via. We loved being able to see the hustle and bustle from the balcony, but were able to close the electric blinds and enjoy quiet from the sound proofed windows when we wanted to.
Our room was spacious, lovely and clean. They even have robes and slippers!
The rooftop bar was amazing for relaxing with a drink after a long day (shout out to Carmen)!
The staff was wonderful for directions and recommendations.
All in all an amazing hotel that I would recommend to anyone and love to return to.
It helped make our visit to Madrid very wonderful
Thank you Atlantico!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear carnnott from Toronto,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. Is the Hotel Atlantico who welcomes your comments and appreciate to know you had a happy 4 days with us.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing