We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #20 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor's recommendations and I was not disappointed. I went to Madrid to visit my son who is studying abroad. After the woman next to me on the plane spilled her orange juice all over my lap I was thrilled to find out I could check in early. I was on the 6th floor. My room was immaculate as was the bathroom. Windows opened to the street and had room darkening shades that allowed me to sleep past 11:00am the next day. The patio bar on the roof top was awesome. The had the best cafe con leche, I miss it already. The beds were firm but I slept like the dead. The decor of the hotel was lovely as was the architecture. Oh and I forgot BEST LOCATION !! We walked everywhere everyday. I never even took the train. And even the Wi-Fi worked well. I was able to check my emails daily without any problems. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was ok on the 6th floor facing Gran Via. The windows are like a vaulted safe in a Bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. I hope you had a nice stay in Madrid during the visit to your son.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return and hope your trip back was not as eventful as the outward journey.

Kind regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

First class service at Reception, staff are only too willing to help with any question you ask of them. Rooms very clean as is all the Hotel. Breakfast at 10 euro each is good value for choice and quality. As the courtesy bus did not arrive at the Airport after ringing Hotel they said to pay for Taxi and they would give me the fare on arrival, true enough when we booked in at reception they gave us the 40 euro fare cost.

Room Tip: When walking to the Bus pick up best to contact Hotel to say you have arrived even though they are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treacleone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear treacleone2.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I'm pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in terms of location and cleaning, I am very sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced with our shuttle bus service. But I am glad to know that the front desk staff was efficient and effective and solved your problem immediately. I will share your comments with them.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed 5 nights on this occasion. It was a great experience. Our room was very large and comfortable and the standard of cleanliness was excellent with a well equipped bathroom .We had an inside quiet room. This hotel offers excellent value given its quality and its central location. A nice touch this time was that the breakfast waiter remembered each morning our choice of breakfast beverage. i would recommend this hotel as a great base in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the noise of Grand Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear eoinh.

Thank you for your review, obviously you have stayed with us previously and it is so pleasing to know you enjoy being with us.

It is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations: room, cleaning, bathroom equipment but I am specially pleased with your comments about the quiet of the room. Thank you also for the mention of the breakfast staff. I have shared your kind words with them.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Best regards.
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice hotel located in the city center, walking distance from all the main attractions. Helpful and not stressed staff were available whenever you needed them. Buffet breakfast was in a very nice restaurant with a view of Gran Via. Good choice of breakfast items and friendly waiters. We had an excellent 3 nights and would return to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjsinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Good Morning wjsinfrance.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the breakfast and waiters, very important for us, and the location, walking distance from the main touristic attractions.

Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location - next to two main Metro lines.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned everyday, bathroom was a great size!

Breakfast was a bit expensive but they did offer a large selection of breakfast goodies.

We stayed here for 4 nights in February, this hotel was everything we were looking for - couldn't of asked for more! If you are visiting Madrid I highly recommend the Hotel Atlantico!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest SuperDuff

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. Thank you also for your mention about the location, cleaning and size of the bathroom.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and for your recommendations and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked Hotel Atlantico based on all the great Trip Advisor Reviews and I had an excellent experience during my 4 day stay in Madrid. I've provided some details below on my room and pros/cons of the hotel in general....

THE ROOM:

- I traveled solo and stayed in room 517 - I requested a room with a queen bed (sometimes they give you 2 single beds pushed together apparently).
- I also requested a room overlooking Gran Via, but unfortunately didn't get this. I had a nice window room that overlooked the side alley, so I could at least open the window and get some fresh air into the room.
- The room itself was very spacious and immaculately cleaned
- Water pressure in the shower was amazing and the shower head had flashing coloured lights that made for a great light show!
- There was no shortage of mini shampoos & soaps (no conditioner though ladies), a dental kit, kleenex, as well as a shoe polish, sewing & shaving kit.
- There were also 2 different hairdryers in the room (the old school Euro one that looks more like a vacuum than a hairdryer and near impossible to use, as well as a more modern version, which was quite good and easy to use.
- The mini bar in the room was great and pretty cheap - a little bottle of Rioja Wine only cost 3.50 Euros (in the department store across the street it was 3.00 Euros)
- The closet had an easy to use safety deposit box, bathrobes and slippers, but no Iron or Ironing board (I'm sure you could request one)

PROS:

- METRO ACCESS: The hotel is right across the street from Callao Metro Station and a short walking distance from Gran Via and Sol - Once I arrived at the airport I went and bought the Tourist Metro Ticket 3 Day Pass (great value and includes your airport transfer fee) and took the metro from the Aeropuerto to Callao Station by transferring from Line 8 to Line 10 @ Nuevos Ministerios and then transferring again to Line 3 @ Plaza de Espana to finally get to Callao. I had 1 suitcase and a knapsack and found it very easy to navigate with my luggage. I used the Metro throughout my trip to get to different areas of the city and down to Atocha Station to take the train to Toledo & Barcelona.

- LOCATION: The hotel is close to everything you need - shopping, restaurants, cafes (including Starbucks), grocery stores, post office and even the hop on-hop off bus tour is just down the street. All the major touristy spots are close walking distance or easily accessible via metro. Make sure to get a good map though!! I got lost several times.

- HOTEL STAFF: All of them were incredibly friendly and spoke very good English (and were polite enough to pretend like they understood my broken Spanish)

- ROOFTOP TERRACE BAR: It's on the 9th floor and makes the tastiest Sangria!! It's great if you are looking for a nice drink/snack before going out for dinner

- FREE WIFI: The wifi was great and accessible from your room or up on the 9th floor, which was nice if you wanted to have a cocktail and a snack and send a few emails at the same time. I had no problem Skyping / Facetiming the 2nd day I was there, but then on my last day the connection was very bad and wouldn't work - I guess it depends on how many people are using it

- BREAKFAST: This was great and very good value at 10 Euros. There was a good selection of cereals, pastries, dried and fresh fruit, eggs, toast and jams, as well as a self-serve coffee machine that made great cappuccino's, etc. There is also a bottle of sparkling wine on ice and a self serve OJ/pineapple juice machine for those looking to have a mimosa. I would grab an apple & a pear before leaving every morning so that i had a few snacks for the day

CON:

The only con I have about this hotel is the thin walls. I had no problem at all with noise from the street, but the walls are so thin in this hotel that you feel like your neighbours are actually in the room with you. If your neighbour gets up at 6:00am (like mine did) then rest assured, you will also be up at 6:00am with them.

TRAVEL TIP: Take a day trip to Toledo. It's a 30 minute train ride from Atocha Station and an absolutely magnificent city to visit.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Anne P from Toronto.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Thank you also for your detailed description with cons and pros list.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at Hotel Atlántico and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with my husband and loved it!

Room was fairly small however we had a huge bathroom and were situated on the inside of the hotel so had peaceful nights sleep away from the busy main road. The roof terrace on the 9th floor is brilliant and well priced, being on par or better than local bars. It is in walking distance to the majority of tourist attractions and there are numerous metros stations close by too.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello YD2012.

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico and for the nice photo included together with your comments.

I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed our location, the room and the roof terrace. But I am most pleased of all though that you enjoyed the room soundporoofing.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest Regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#22 of 440 in Madrid
3,988 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 440 in Madrid
1,615 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 440 in Madrid
3,149 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 440 in Madrid
1,736 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $147 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing