We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location,Clean rooms but expect noise at night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location,Clean rooms but expect noise at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location on Gran via.perfect for a city break.because of its location there is a lot of noise at night.Because of its location we expected this but if this is something you dont want I would not recommend staying anywhere on Gran Via.
Rooms were cleaned every day to a very high standard.
Rooms are fairly basic and a little dated for a four star hotel but when only on a short city break the time spent in a hotel room is minimal.
Due to weather we
couldnt enjoy outside bar area but looked like a nice setting for summer.However inside bar slightly
disappointing,small and not much atmosphere to make you to stay there of an evening.
Overall would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Lynsey N.

Thank you very much for letting us know your inconveniences regarding the situation of the Hotel Atlántico in Madrid and we appreciated the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel. Not in this case, since we can not change the hotel location situated in one of the main streets in Madrid, just in the city center.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    892
    170
    40
    26
See reviews for
466
1,833
246
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Atlantico when we were visiting our daughter in Madrid. What a wonderful hotel! The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the reservation manager was able to give us rooms that were next to each other.

This hotel is in a fabulous location, just minutes from the Prado and popular plazas. The primary bonus, though, is the terrific staff. From the maid service, to the concierge, to the wonderful bartender on the 9th Floor, we felt pampered and well looked after.

Should we ever find ourselves in Madrid again, we WILL stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MelRob57.

First of all thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your time here during the visit to your daughter.

I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

It is our pleasure to have served you. We look forward to your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm just back from 4 nights in the Hotel Atlantico as we enjoyed some of the semana santa celebrations in the city.
I can only agree with the other reviewers when they say that the location of the hotel in the Plaza Callao on Gran Via is ideal for getting around the city centre and its sights. We mostly walked everywhere and were never too far from the hotel. After the location, the next thing that struck me about the hotel was the quality of our room (803). I asked for a quiet room, off the main street and that's exactly what we got! A top floor room with a (small) window opening on to the central external atrium. The room itself was enormous, with a huge bed, plentiful wardrobes and a very spacious bathroom with double sinks. Perhaps we were upgraded, as the room felt almost like a mini suite and represented exceptional value for the price we paid (approximately £85 per night).
The room was certainly better than I have experienced in other 4 star hotels, perhaps because the hotel doesn't have its own restaurant - this was a compromise we were very happy to make as there is no shortage of good bars and restaurants nearby.
The staff were very helpful, whether it was to advise the route of the Easter processions, or to book the airport shuttle bus.
In summary, I would heartily recommend this hotel and will definitely use it again the next time I'm in Madrid.

Room Tip: Our room, 803, was large and quiet, top floor with an internal window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DeclanMcG,

Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff.

It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your Easter holiday in Madrid.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel Atlantico is centrally located on the Gran Via with Metro, bus, taxi, and direct access to the Madrid City Hop on Hop Off bus. The hotel in attentive to the guests every need, with the rooms well appointed to include upgraded toiletries and amenities. The concierge even picked up items from the pharmacy for us at no charge. When the free airport shuttle missed us they asked us to take a cab and reimbursed the 38 Euro charge in cash when we checked in, AND upgraded our room! Amazingly clean common areas and extremely polite rooftop bar staff and restaurant personnel. The breakfast buffet includes hot and cold foods, pastries, fruit, cold cuts, an assortment of cheeses and unlimited CAVA ( sparkling wine) for 10 Euros. A great way to start your day. Free wireless internet and access to computer room with printer. Magnificent views from the terraces, bars, common areas and roof top dome. This hotel is an excellent home base for your trip in Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear NFworldtraveller.

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. Thank you also to appreciate our location.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was there in September 2012. I needed a single room and had apprehensions about what sort of a "box" it might be. Turned out that my fears were unfounded. The room was fine, but certainly an internal room (no windows).
The location of the hotel is superb; very central and easy to walk to the museums, although I found later that the sightseeing buses were a good bet.
I only had breakfast in the hotel; it was a good buffet-style, and the service was good.
The reception was particularly good. They got to know me, and whilst their English was no doubt better than my Spanish, they were happy to humour me and speak Spanish with me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Dave S.

Thank you for your patronage, feedback and beautiful review.

It is glad to know that your internal room with a window to a patio was quiet and fine, you have been satisfied about the location to visit the city and the reception staff was helpful and kind.

We are very happy to have created a positive memory and experience for your Madrid trip.

Hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Service
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location of the hotel was very good; very central and within walking distance of the main sights. This was a big plus. There was also a Metro station just down the road, handy for when we arrived and departed.

The staff were friendly and most spoke a good amount of English. One of the staff members showed us up to our room and also gave us a quick "tour" of the room and explained the mini bar. The room was very nice - clean, comfortable, decorated well, good size and decent en suite. There was a window, although no real view as it just looked out to other rooms' windows and some potted plants. It wasn't really an issue though and the hotel had an observatory on the top floor with a 360 degree view of Madrid (amazing!). Also on the top floor was a terrace and a really good living room area where we enjoyed some champagne (which was good and inexpensive). The bar staff spoke less English than the reception desk staff, but still enough to manage.

We cannot comment on the food provided by the hotel, as we paid for the room only. They only cater a buffet breakfast anyway (no option for dinner) and there were so many options for food within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it to anyone wishing to explore Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Dave S.

Thank you very much for your kind mention of our hotel and your patronage. It is glad to hear you liked your individual room during your stay last September.

Our staff strives to create a service experience for our guest that is lasting.

We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in Service,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A beautiful hotel that is immaculate throughout.. the cleaners never stop! All staff were incredibly helpful and polite. Room was cleaned to a very high standard every day. Rooms were so quiet you wouldn't believe you were in a city! Location is perfect if you want to see Madrid. Close to Metro which is very easy to use to see the city. Also, the Madrid Tourist bus stops very close to the hotel. Lots of variety for breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay. Well done staff of Hotel Atlantico!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STaylor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear STaylor123456 Uk

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated!!!

We work diligently to offer the best service by our staff and a great stay with reference to the cleaning, quiet and comfort of the room for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. I and my staff appreciate your kind words and recommendation

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,549 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing