We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, excellent in everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent in everything”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was at Atlantico hotel from 28 December to 2 January; we got a superior room and it was great. There was everything we need, the staff is very kind and helpful, breakfast was very good, the roofgarden bar was amazing. If I go back to Madrid I would definitely stay again in this Hotel. Thank you the staff, not only the concierges, but also the cleaning staff was always kind and smiling. It's a four star hotel, but to me five stars would be deserved. Highly recommended

Room Tip: superior room is the best if you can afford it. otherwise chose a room on the gran via if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Lalli 10,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Atlantico and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    899
    170
    41
    26
See reviews for
470
1,847
247
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a side street facing room on the 6th floor and whilst it wasn't huge it had everything we needed for an active packed weekend in Madrid..It was clean and bright,with air conditioning and a very pleasant bathroom..we didn't try the breakfast but we did try the bar on the 9th floor and we were well looked after ...nice snacks,nice drinks,good service and a great views...
In summary superb location ,nice hotel,friendly,helpful staff and we will stay there again when next we visit Madrid...which we will because we had a fantastic weekend...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Phillicj.

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property. It is glad to know that we met your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in a very good location. Room had been recently redecorated and was very clean. We had a room which was on the 7th floor over looking Gran Via. this made the room very noisy, even at night with the shutter down and curtains closed. The breakfast was very basic and a bit disappointing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dawn J,

we would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks.

We are very happy and proud that you liked our location, the room, decoration and cleaning ur service and this is surely the best compliments for a Hotel Manager. We are sorry to hear about the different troubles with the exterior noise and the breakfast you had to go through during your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in November 2012. The hotel is in a great location being on the Gran Via, which I guess is Madrid's equivalent of Oxford Street. Our room had no view as the window looked onto a central light well. However, this made our room extremely quiet given it's location, which was welcome. The room we had was huge and finished to a very high standard. There was a good mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks. It was pretty much the perfect base for exploring Madrid. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCPNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Ms. MCPNottingham,

we'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment.

We are glad your room was quiet and comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our location.

We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved our stay at Atlantico. On the "Times Square" of Madrid, you are right in the center of everything. The hop on/off bus stop is right outside the front door and metro is nearby. This is also the main street for shopping. The 2 men at the front desk were extremely friendly, always very polite and helpful. Offered us umbrellas on rainy day to use for the day, etc. Rooftop lounge is amazingly beautiful both day and night. Bedding was superb, even with embroidered pillowcases, high thread count, down pillows, etc. Read the other reviews but I've traveled Europe hotels extensively. This is one of the best ones! Will def stay there again when return. Staff is amazing! Thank You! Hot breakfast only ate on one day was very good / selection. On the upper floor they have business center, a lounge, TV living rooms. Everything on website is accurate and actually better than you'd guess. NO smells of deodorizers anywhere, which is very important.

Room Tip: We had one of the best rooms on the floor, a corner unit, balcony, and window in full size bath with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happy2bmeLaDolceVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear happy2bmeLaDolceVita

Thank you for your highly score, for the excellent comments and for your photographic hotel report.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,

Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Madrid is such a bustling city, and in the Hotel Atlantico you are in the middle of it all!
We had a room on the last floor with great views over Gran Via. Just a glimpse through a window at any time of day or night would give you the impression of what Madrid is all about.
Room was impeccable, comfortably furnished, bright, with very nice bathroom. Place where you could really relax. Hotel has a lounge bar and a terrace with stunning views as well. Staff was professional, non intrusive, but there for all your needs. Breakfast was excellent!
Location could hardly bee beaten, across the Metro station, near all the shops, department stores, in a walking distance of museums and various districts with restaurants and night clubs.
Hope we will have the chance to come back soon to this great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello J and M from Belgrado!

Congratulations for the beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast, cleaning and location and we thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.

We are looking forward to another chance to host you.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After staying in 5 different hotels or apartments during our 11 day trip through Spain, we were grateful for ending our time in Madrid, simply b/c of Hotel Atlantico. I booked 2 double rooms for 3 peope in each room, but there was a misunderstanding that I wanted a triple, so I was given only 1 triple(120euro) and had a double with a sleeper sofa (90euro). Truthfully, the latter room would have been fine, but the triple was more spacious. Our rooms overlooked the Gran Via, and being on the 6th floor was helpful with the noise. We loved the cleanliness of the rooms, the soft sheets, and the location... 2 min from Callao/Gran Via metro, 5 min walk from Puerto del Sol, shops and restaurants surrounding us. It felt like being on Times Square in NYC! Our favorites about the hotel: Good breakfast (could use some variation day to day); wonderful rooftop terrace where we could enjoy our Gin and Tonics; great recommendation for one of the best restaurants we experienced at Mercado de la Reine; 15 -20 min walk to the Prado. Carmello was especially helpful, with the restaurant recommendation, directions, and arranging transportation to the airport. I would definitely stay here again, and the price was right!

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible, facing Gran Via for a view, corner room, triple room is worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear lovetotravel00.

Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations included the double room with sofa.

I am delighted to read that Carmelo took such good care of you during her stay. He was delighted to read your comment as he does really go out of her way to make sure all our guests have a wonderful time.

I am also happy that you enjoyed our central location, like Times Square in NYC, with all its wonderful attractions and drinks in our rooftop terrace. I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico again soon.

Kindest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
3,601 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
932 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
395 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing