We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Madrid”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Helpful staff who spoke good English. Central location on Gran Via close to Callao metro. We spent 4 nights here, the first night in a small dark room with small shower room overlooking central courtyard which might be quiet and cool in summer but was depressing in winter. We were moved next night to a room opposite, overlooking the side road, which was spacious and lighter, with a big bathroom and a balcony. No problems with any outside noise. The staff were all really nice, helped us getting bookings and gave suggestions and directions. Buffet breakfast was good value with a wide choice. Used metro to get from airport as we arrived too late for hotel transport. It took about an hour and cost €5 each, with 2 changes.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the side road rather than Gran Via as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Hayhou from Hereford:

First of all thank you very much for staying with us.

We are sorry to hear about the problem you encountered in your first room. It is glad to hear that after your complaint you found the new room lovely and large. We are currently renovating the hotel and we will soon have new bigger and brighter rooms, so this problem can be avoided in the future.

Thank you very much again for your time.

Best regards.
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have stayed here five times over several years and we upgraded to a superior room which proved to be really nice. Overlooking a side street, a good space, twin beds, great bathroom. No noise of any note. Wonderful location. Free coffee on the ninth floor from mid afternoon which was good but would have liked the ability to make coffee / tea in our own room. Staff at front desk very friendly. Well-recommended place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear UKDavidN from Manchester.

Thank you for your review, obviously you have stayed with us previously and it is so pleasing to know you enjoy being with us and prove it with a high score.

We do appreciate all the great comments about our location, room and noise. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them. Finally I appreciate your remarks about the coffe/tea in room. These comments help us to improve our customer service.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Best regards.
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very nice, clean, spacious, afordable facility. I will probably go back to Hotel Atlantico but I will make sure that my room is not facing La Gran Via Ave becuase of the noise, otherwise the location is great and the staff was very nice and spoke english ( I do speak spanish)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgin-Queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Virgin-Queens,

thank you very much for your great feedback, it really means a lot for our team and is much appreciated.

On the other hand I apologize for the exterior noise but even our windows try to block all the exterior sounds, as you say the hotel is located in one of the main streets of Madrid. I agree with you that next time ask for an interior room, of course less noisy.

We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this boutique hotel for a week In June 2011. We event on this trip to celebrate my daughters 18th Birthday and it was so nice. I had let the staff know before hand of my daughters birthday and they brought her roses and a fruit basket. So kind of them.

The service was great and the continental breakfast was great. Make sure to get a room on the side of the Main Street and with a balcony.

Happy trails!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diehardokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear diehardokie.

First of all, 18th thank you for choosing the Hotel Atlantico to celebrate the 18th birthday of his daughter.

Whilst I'm pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in terms of service, breakfast and staff I am very sorry to read the room was not of your liking.

We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again on some future occasion.

Faithfully yours,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel booked following TA reviews. Great location within walking distance to most attractions. Prado museum 10/15 mins walk. Callao metro station across the road. We used the free transport from terminal 1 at the airport, which picks up at set times during the day. Hotel room reasonable size with bath, powerful shower and twin wash basins. Toiletries included shaving kit and dental kit. Our rate included breakfast which had plenty of choice of hot and cold dishes. The 10 metrobus ticket costs €12.20 which we both shared. If you intend to use this ticket for transport back to the airport, there is a €3.00 supplement per person payable at the airport before you exit. Machines take credit cards. From hotel take line 5 to Alonso Martinez, change to line 10 to Nuevos Ministerios and then line 8 to airport. It takes around 40 minutes. The hotel also offers transport back to the airport at set times during the day and costs €8.00 per person. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Maxine365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Maxine365 from Madeira.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and thanks for trusting TripAdvisor reviews from other customers of the Hotel Atlantico. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location and the proximity and service of the Metro.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

With best regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel Atlantico is located on Gran Via. It is in the middle of everything-very accessible. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel provides free wifi and breakfast. The bathrooms are updated and the rooms are adequate size. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy on the the front size. I would recommend asking for a room on the back. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear mumiller1.

Thank you so much for your kind review and the high score.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Atlantico and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff, the free wifi a great benefit and appreciated by many of our guests, the size of the room and the central location. Just for your information, please note the breakfast is not free, it depends if it is included or not in your reservation.

It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

With best regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,912 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#10 of 437 in Madrid
1,548 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $137 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing