We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Madrid!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #18 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Madrid!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned for a 4 day stay in the fabulous Madrid. This was our first time in the city and can safely say it won't be our last. The Hotel Atlantico was a fantastic "Hub" we walked pretty much everywhere from this location with total ease very central to all of Madrid's main attractions. For location I would give it 5 stars.
The reception staff when checking in where polite and friendly, offering us a free drink at the fabulous roof top bar to celebrate my Boyfriends 30th Birthday, which I had mentioned when booking. We were also given access to free Wifi.
Our room was located on the 5th floor of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and fresh when we arrived and was cleaned to the same standard every day. The room itself was very spacious and we had a great view of the Grand Via from our hotel balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The Bathroom was great, full of lovely toiletries, and the shower itself was powerful.
We opted for a bed and breakfast rate and the breakfast did not disappoint. A great selection of hot food, cereal, yogurts, pastries etc. Fantastic to start a day of exploring off!!!
The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was due to nose!! Sadly you can hear very clearly your neighbours bathroom usage and conversations!! Which at 4:30AM can be a little frustrating!!! A word of warning it's not a place to lay in - you are woken up as soon as people get up to shower, we did think there were people in our bathroom on our first night!!! In no way did this spoil our experience however I just thought it was worth noting.
All in all a good hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahjon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear hannahjon21.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you also to choose the Hotel Atlantico to celebrate your boyfriends Birthday.

Whilst I'm pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in terms staff and service, room and bathroom, and breakfast I am very sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced with the noise. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again on some future occasion.

Faithfully yours,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    872
    167
    40
    26
See reviews for
455
1,798
239
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We selected this hotel for a 5 day Madrid visit based on the TA reviews and were not disappointed. The reception area is very small and not at all impressive. However this is more than compensated by the top floor lounge area which is very luxurious.Our room was small,but very comfortable and quiet with an excellent bed and bathroom as well as nice bathroom amenities(including a razor and toothbrush).The hotel's location on the Grand Via was perfect and we were within walking distance of all of the major sights,The breakfast was also very good. We found the staff to be very helpful.
I would suggest the Puerto Rico restaurant (mentioned in Rick Steeve's travel guide) a few minutes from the hotel, for a simple, inexpensive and delicious dinner..
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.


Im would

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Cubist1.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad to know that even though your room and reception seemed small, other aspects such as comfort, nice bathroom, bed, breakfast and location, in the heart of Madrid, offset these inconveniences

Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Whilst this hotel was ok i expected more .
Our room was average and faced a busy road and car park..to move we had to pay a fee as was south and sea facing and classed as superior.
The facility was bed and breakfast whuch was very good. Good choice ..
We also liked our location very central to old and new town although only visited new town 1 time as it really is for the younger crowd.
The old town is great very traditional, lots of character. Fabulous restaurants well varied and a range if prices.
The beach is stunning with good access via steps ,escalator and a lift.
Lots of intresting little stalls adorn the cobbled streets.
Many evenings there was entertainment in the streets .
Our flight time was only 2 an a bit hours with ryan air.(good service)
Our transfer from the airport was yellowfishtransfers an took 30 minutes (also very good service) with a free gift on arrival to the hotel
I would use the flight and transfer again .Maybe it just didn't suit me as other people rate it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello lifeatseaforme.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. Thank you also for the top score. We are glad to have been a pleasant surprise for you!!! It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location on the Gran Via very close to two metro stations. Our room was a good size and the window looked onto a light well. We didn’t have a view but our room was very quiet and we slept well. Robes and slippers were provided and the toiletries were a good quality. The bathroom was large and spacious. The roof top lounge and terrace is very nice and a lovely place to have a drink at the end of the day. The breakfast was ok, nothing special but a good range of food. We took the shuttle bus to the airport for 8 euro per person and this was very convenient. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and there was a business centre where you could print out boarding passes etc. We recommend the Atlantico and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joybell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assitant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Joybell27.
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about your room that was quiet, the lounges and terrace as well as the shuttle bus service. I am happy that you made use of the free Wi-Fi this is a great benefit and appreciated by many of our guests.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Trip Advisor reviews are accurate. I cannot think of a reason why a traveler would not be very satisfied with everything about this fine hotel. On Madrid's premiere street near everything. Sumptuous breakfast. Knowledgeable and helpful desk staff. Enjoyable rooftop bar (indoor and outdoor). Short walk to Centro attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade if you do not have a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear KenMich from Michigan.
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and thanks for sharing with other travelers the great impression of your stay at Hotel Atlantico.

I am pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and found the breakfast, location and the service provided by our staff to be of a high standard.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found the Atlantico to be the perfect base for exploring Madrid. We walked everywhere from our hotel. There are plenty of restaurants within a ten minute range. Our room was beautiful and breakfast was very good. The only issue we had was with street noise, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, not the fault of the hotel. I would suggest a room not facing the Gran Via for a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Laurie087.

Thank you for your review it is appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access for exploring Madrid.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the room and the breakfast but specially for your understanding about the noise since the hotel is located in the center of the city.

Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely room on the 7th floor, tiny "balcony" overlooking the Gran Via. Room was very clean, comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Maid service and cleaning is excellent.
Good breakfast, nothing outstanding, but fresh. A pleasant breakfast room.
Lovely roof terrace with friendly attentive bar staff. Spent some pleasant hours up there reading relaxing and enjoying lovely gin and tonics!

Its just a pity it is in Madrid - a very disappointing city. Dirty and noisy.
I'm afraid it goes in my category of been there done it. Not going back!

Room Tip: Choose a high room. Less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear AliBar.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the room with balcony, comfort and cleaning, breakfast and the maid service, very important for us.

Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our bar staff, always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel, including the gin tonics!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 446 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 446 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing