We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible room, incredible value”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible room, incredible value”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Don't let the Best Western affiliation deter you from staying at this hotel (like we almost did). We had a quiet room in the back of the hotel, on the 3rd floor, which was amazing. It was recently redone and was luxurious. More room than expected for a central city location and a wonderful bathroom. Top floor terrace, lounge area, bar, and business center (and free wifi) were other great amenities. Service at front desk was friendly and professional. Experience compared with other high end hotel chains.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the street as it could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest. Thank you for your patronage and recognition of our value. I and my staff appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We endeavour to offer a positive experience for all of our guests.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

At your service,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    925
    172
    44
    26
See reviews for
482
1,904
261
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

For a short stay this hotel is adequate and well located. The staff at the front desk are the best thing about it.. they are fantastic. We had a few issues that were resolved immediately and they could not have been more helpful. The room was clean, bathroom was huge (actually designed for disabled I think), bed was too small for 2 people but mattress very comfortable. I am only 185 cm tall and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed. The breakfast is very 2 star but in a city of poor food choices it is better than anything else nearby.. Tinned fruit, packet cereal, bulk cooked scrambled eggs and bacon sitting in food warmers, but nice fresh fruit and a good selection of cheese, meat and breads made up for it. Would stay there again on a short visit due to the excellent staff at the front desk.

Room Tip: Fortunately for us we were moved to a new room because we needed a working internet connection and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allovertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assitant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlantico and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

It is glad to hear your nice words about the cleaning, bathroom and mattress. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the packets of cereals -we choose this system because hygiene-, the bacon nor the scrambled eggs in the breakfast. Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

I will share your comments with the front desk staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García-Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have travelled to many countries, staying in wide variety of hotels but have never been so utterly disappointed in a hotel. I booked on the strength of the reviews on here which are usually pretty accurate. Not this time.
The room overlooked what could only be described as a shaft. When I say overlooked, there wasn't much looking or much daylight to be had as there was a closed blind hanging outside the window which couldn't be opened, presumably because the rooms all overlooked each other and they were wanting to ensure privacy. This meant the room was dark at all times.
Then the aircon could either be on or off, there was no temperature setting which meant you were either freezing when it was on or boiling when it was off. When I did turn it on for the first time stuff flew out of it!
The bed was rock solid so much so I was crippled after the first night. There was also an overpowering smell of whatever was used to clean the hotel which made me feel sick after about 5 mins.
Finally it was in an area I certainly would not choose to stay in again. Granted it was central but it was on a main busy shopping street which involved walking pretty far before finding nice areas! Just round the corner various insalubrious characters were hanging.
I have no idea how this hotel can be 4 stars. Only plus was that it had a pretty good shower.
We had two stays in Madrid on this holiday and on our return we stayed in the Husa Paseo del Arte which was cheaper and much much better in all respects.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sooz1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the accommodation. I suggest to our entire guest that if the room assigned does not comply with the expectations, please ask the front desk if possible to assign a new room. Usually this works -the only problem is when the hotel is fully booked- and at least you have the chance to have a room of your liking. Many of our guest ask for interior room when they prefer a quite room even these rooms have not city-views and are not so bright as the exterior rooms. Also you could choose a room with AC and adjustment control up or down manually.

We are sorry to hear that you did not feel well after your stay with us due to the fragrance and we hope you are feeling better now. We are very sorry to hear that the fragrance displeased you. For your information, we have been using this perfume since many years ago and is very much appreciated by our guests.

Finally, regarding the bed, please note all our mattresses are Flex branded, latest models: DM Basic and DM Advance, both types following the international fireproof procedures.

We are using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife, my son and me staid at the hotel for six nights on august and we enjoyed either the stay in this hotel and from the city of Madrid.
The hotel is near to all the main attractions of Madrid by foot or by a short travel with
The metro.
The hotel was very quite, clean and very well organized, the roof was a very good place to stay after a long day of walking.
The stuff was very helpful, I don't know their names but those two persons that we met every morning were very friendly, helpful, and polite and did every thing that was needed to explain.
I must to mention that even the room was facing the gran via there was no noise from the out side at all.
To stay in Madrid, the best western Atlántico is a very good place.
shmuel and madlein yakubovsky

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samyyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Sir.

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you, your wife and son enjoyed your time with us.

Your compliments of our soundproof, the cleaning and the roof are very much pleasant as well our comments about the staff is greatly appreciated. I will let the front desk staff in the morning know how much you appreciated his efforts.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Atlantico very soon.

Your in service,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The room was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. The hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to Puerta del Sol and all other main attractions. It was also a short walk to the metro and the Madrid tour bus. The hotel even sells tickets for the tour buses. I would defintitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelvoice836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review and comments about our location, room and bathroom.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel was top notch. Good efficient room with all you need. The entire hotel is very well kept as was our room.The hotel is central to all the major attractions that Madrid has to offer. The buffet breakfast dining room was bright and tastefully decorated with an excellent assortment of good food. The roof top terrace was the the hidden gem. After a busy day in Madrid it was so nice to have a glass of wine and relax. Excellent front desk staff who were very helpful with any question you might have.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting your review here and for your business. We are happy that you had a good experience with us. I will let the front desk staff to know how much you appreciated his efforts. Thanks again. Hope to see you soon.

Warmest Regards,
Eva Garcñia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We recently stayed in the Best Western Atlantico for the weekend. The hotel is located in the city centre on a busy promenade - the atmosphere in the area is electric. The hotel is beautiful and is housed in a exquisite piece of architecture dating over a hundred years. The rooftop balcony is a great way to relax and offers excellent views of the city and beyond. I would recommend this hotel to the most discerning traveller...

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the hotel - total silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedcorcoran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our building, location and terraces.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your stay.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,824 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 435 in Madrid
1,494 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,635 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 435 in Madrid
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#18 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing