We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Suites You Zinc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites You Zinc
Ranked #52 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Worst stay in Spain - hotel staff (Alvaro) was dismissive and not helpful at all when asked to consider change in rooms since they gave us room at 5F (actually 6F) in building with no lift, which was a challenge not only to adults but risky for my 5-year old daughter navigating more than 105 steps of almost rotten staircase. Alvaro first blamed us for booking using third-party agent instead of directly at hotel website. When I explained that rest of our group (15 pax) booked at third-party site but others got better rooms AND in building with lift (or lower floors), he said there is always risk we will get a room in building with no lift. When I asked if he can just help us get another room, he turned the computer monitor to me and said if I can find any vacancy somewhere in that screen perhaps he can help me, but otherwise there is nothing he can do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The perfect location, everything within walking distance. Metro Sol 200 metres. 4 stops to main train station. Apartment clean and basic but excellent value. Beware no lift can be tricky if at 5th floor. No outside noise if staying at back of building. Excellent place to stay for no hand holding travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on rear of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BHappy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Met at reception by a very friendly Al, apartment was nice enough. Good location but far too noisy bedrooms were road side and the noise was non stop day and night no soundproofing at all, tried sleeping on sofa bed in living area but the noise from fellow guests coming in at all hours shouting banging doors prevented sleep. Water boiler in bathroom very loud and the sound of running water from other apartments was noisy too. Shame as location was fantastic but after 3 nights of no sleep even while wearing earplugs I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redoggybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location was awesome, close to the Metro, and Plaza del Sol, and my favorite place for different foods: Mercado San Miguel. The place was nice, receptionists were helpful when there (they are only there during the day), but a day into our stay the bathroom started to smell so terrible that we were hardly able to use it. It may have been a sewage leak? It was so gross, we had to plan our the times when we were going to use in, and definitely had to open the window to air the place out. It was too late that night to get in contact with the workers and then we were leaving the next day. But it was horrible!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly young man whose English is impeccable who kindly offered us an apartment on a lower floor which was meant for 6 people but we both with arthritis had booked apartments on a higher floor. The apartments are extremely well equipped with TV a kitchen with microwave, cooker, oven pots, pans, refrigerator.. everything that one would need. Bathroom was with shower, piles of towels and all requisites needed. All was immaculately cleaned
We do recommend this place highly and would definitely return .
Jane and Jill

Room Tip: The street facing rooms with balconies are fairly quiet. The back room where there is no outside win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier Francisc... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suites You Zinc, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Nos alegramos de que nuestra atención fuera de su agrado y que le hayamos podido solucionar sus problemas de manera rápida y efectiva. Le agradecemos su comentario.

Le esperamos en su próxima visita a Madrid

Un saludo
Apartamentos Arenal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

First of all, I would like to recommend everyone to make reservations directly to the receptionists. Alvaro, the best English speaker in Spain, was helpful enough to solve any question from traveling tips to small issues.
We made a reservation through Booking.com, but when our card was denied we called the reception and ended up cancelling with Booking.com because at the reception they have a much better customer service, and gave us assistance by clarifying some of the comments in Tripadvisor .
The confirmation mail was really clear and helped us getting there, which is incredibilly central.
Definatelly the best place to stay in Madrid!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier Francisc... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suites You Zinc, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente

Le agradecemos su comentario y su buena opinión hacia nuestro equipo de recepcionistas. Nos complace saber que estamos capacitados para resolver cualquier duda o problema que los pueda surgir.

Le esperamos en su próxima visita,

Un cordial saludo
Apartamentos Arenal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is an amazing place! Location can not be beat, 1/2 block from Sol metro where the whole city is at your fingertips (even the aiport for 4 euro's each way). Everything in the old town is minutes away (walking). Lots of great places to eat at your doorstep. Apartments are clean, large, well laid out & quiet (even though, the main plaza is below. The whole area is electric & bustling. We really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor in a room facing the street you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier Francisc... S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Suites You Zinc, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Nos complace saber que tanto el apartamento como la ubicación fueron de su agrado y los pudo disfrutar sin problemas.

Le esperamos en su próxima visita a Madrid, y le agradecemos el comentario.

Un saludo
Apartamentos Arenal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Suites You Mercury
Suites You Mercury
#67 of 418 in Madrid
101 reviews
Huertas
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
#3 of 418 in Madrid
309 reviews
Centro
Madrid SmartRentals Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Slow Suites Luchana
Slow Suites Luchana
#7 of 418 in Madrid
429 reviews
Centro
New Point Madrid
New Point Madrid
#35 of 418 in Madrid
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites You Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites You Zinc

Address: Calle Arenal 10, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Apartments Arenal)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $52 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites You Zinc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 80 metres from Madrid's Puerta del Sol Square and Metro Station, Apartments Arenal are set on a charming pedestrian street. These bright apartments, studios and rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi.All accommodation at the Arenal is modern and air conditioned, with parquet floors and soundproofed windows. Seating areas come with a flat-screen TV. Apartments and studios also feature either a kitchen or kitchenette with an oven, electric hob and microwave.The Arenal complex has a tour desk, where staff can provide information about what to do in Madrid. Calle Mayor, 50 metres from the Arenal Apartments, has many shops, restaurants and bars.The apartments are less than 700 metres from Madrid’s Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor Square. Sights such as the Prado Museum and Retiro Park can be reached in 10 minutes by Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites You Zinc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing