We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Pleasant Hostal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Foster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Foster
Ranked #51 of 280 Madrid B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location. Pleasant Hostal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came here on a Groupon deal and got a nice room facing the street. As said before the street is not the most pleasing but room was very good, clean and very modern. The toilet and shower worked perfectly. Though watch when showering is the water drains very slowly. Use the shower at half power and you will avoid the shower tray filling up and overflowing. A very minor negative. The staff were very pleasant. One spoke very good english the when we arrived in the evening not so good. But we got buy. Our deal included "breakfast" which consisted of a cup of coffee and a small sponge cake. Pretty meagre but it was fine. There are plenty of bars and cafes nearby if you want something more substantial, and at reasonable prices. Finding the hostal is easy. Coming from the airport take the airport express (yellow) bus 5eur each to pl de Cibeles then make for metro Banco de Espana (signpost next to bus stop) take metro 1.50 eur each to Santo Domingo exiting at Gran Via (signposted) cross over at road crossing turn left take second street (calle librero) on left walk up to end (calle estrella) turn right and the hostal is on your right. Overall a very pleasant stay. If coming back to Madrid we would certainly come to Hostal Foster, but not bother about breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
121
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good value option, modern, clean and unique. This is not 'luxury', but then you are not paying for opulence! The hostal is a really good option for lower budgets - fun decor, all the standard facilities, central location. A little noisy in some rooms at night, and small showers, but I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

once you're in, it's really nice The staff are all very friendly and my room was better than I expected. The entrance is on the second floor and it's a bit weird if you're only used to hotels. However, once I'd settled in I thought it was great. So near the Gran Via and close to 3 Metro stations. My room overlooked the street so it was fine but my sons' room was at the back and the view wasn't so great but of course, they weren't bothered (they had found a bar with beer at 1 euro on the Gran Via). We were due to leave on the day of the French air traffic controllers' strike and I got very upset because our flights had been cancelled. The staff could not have been kinder and did everything they could do help me, even taking us to an internet café because my Spanish was so poor I couldn't understand their instructions. And they gave me two buns with my breakfast instead of one. :-) I would definitely stay here again. A nice reasonably priced way to be at the centre of Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located just off gran via. This is a very modern hostal. Super clean , friendly staff. I had the single room which was small , room located just inside the main door and could be noisy with guests and staff chatting but not too bad, the room was quite hot , it was May and the airon doesnt get switched on in May which was a bot odd. There is a chinese restaurant downstairs that makes your room smelly if you leave the window open. I would stay again but opt for a room on the front facing the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

my 2nd city break alone .
strangely situated in back street - not pleasant walking back alone .

very basic reception which wsnt manned very much .
difficult to get into the hotel with one of the 3 keys given to access the building , the floor and the room.
advertised as breakfast - not sure where and like i said no receptionistt to ask .
i was laye for pre booked trip due to phone on london time - i asked the one and only receptionist i called to help me not interested .
booked it through groupon - very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fawkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent three days here and my stay was pleasant.. just beware of the "view" from your window..mine faced another building - an internal space- and few bits didnt work..the shower wasnt great..but overall very clean and pastel coloured.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was such a great find. My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the apartments off site, which had a kitchenette and bathroom (basically almost a studio apartment). It was in a nice building on a quiet street near Plaza de Espana. The room was immaculate with nice views of the city, and even a TV over the bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The price couldn't be beat for what we got. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joseph10451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#15 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Besaya
Hostal Besaya
#33 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Malasana
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#24 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal La Fontana
Hostal La Fontana
#42 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Rias Bajas
Hostal Rias Bajas
#73 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid Inn
Hostal Madrid Inn
#13 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Foster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Foster

Property: Hostal Foster
Address: C/ Estrella 5, 20 Izquierda | (posterior a Gran Vía 52), 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Foster 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Foster is situated in the centre of Madrid, just 100 metres from Santo Domingo Metro Station. It offers free Wi-Fi and brightly coloured rooms with fun wall designs. Air-conditioned rooms at Foster include a plasma TV and DVD player. Some rooms have a balcony. The reception at Hostal Foster is conveniently open 24 hours a day and a luggage storage service is available. Madrid's Gran Via is 200 metres away with many bars and restaurants. The lively Puerta del Sol is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Foster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing