We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot to trot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sudestada

Sudestada
Reserve with
Sudestada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #990 of 10,522 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hot to trot”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Too often, fusion cuisine is a byword for dull, confused and confusing dishes that are inevitably low on authenticity but, worse still, that lack taste and their own identity.

The cooking at Sudestada is very different. Here the various cuisines of Asia are combined with confidence and style. Fresh ingredients are seasoned well and made vibrant with the flavours of real Asian herbs and spices. This alone is a welcome innovation in Madrid, where the widespread use of "curry powder' characterises so much so-called Asian cooking.

We usually opt for the degustacion menu (which changes regularly) when we go to Sudestada and have always been pleased we did so. Each dish awakens and stimulates different taste buds. (The very thought of the food here is making my mouth water as I type.) There's a good, varied wine list. If you are in the right mood, I would especially recommend trying one of the bar's cocktails which are delicious, and, in particular, their caipirinho.

Service is friendly, professional and the staff know their dishes. They'll explain and recommend dishes according to your needs and some will gallantly try do so in English. The restaurant has a rather muted, but tasteful and pleasant decor which contrasts with the vibrancy of the cooking. Sudestada is certainly not cheap but neither is it especially expensive.

If you feel that primal need for a taste of South East Asia when you're in Madrid, you won't get better than this. Sudestada delivers with a spicy punch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    113
    68
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favourite place in madrid”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We always make it a point to visit this place whenever we are in madrid. It has all the complexity, fun and creative touches that showcases interesting ingredients, textures, flavours and colours. As I love this style of food, it is one that never fails to surprise my palette with the cross cultural and influences from Peruvian, Asian & Med. A definate winner for all that appreciates fine cooking in this catergory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmandymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food was fine. But way too expensive”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nine euros for two fried spring rolls is a little out of control. The food is good but not great. I'd go back if it were more reasonably priced (or if someone else was paying for it) but as it is, my one visit was enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todotorontoentero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excelent food in a great place”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Even though it is not located in a very touristy place (at least we found it that way), this is a beautiful small restaurant with a nice feel to it. We had the set menu, which we recommend, and it was really really good. It was a lot of food as well, we weren't able to finish it all. We enjoyed the food, the service and the looks of the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diegs_Guate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“If you have never left Spain, you might enjoy this pan-Asian Restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a handsome restaurant with service that tries hard though doesn't quite make it. The food is fair enough though not great and the prices are high. Fried rice crackers were heavy when they can be light and fluffy. Noise bounces off hard-wooden walls and makes hearing conversation, the waiter and anything of else of interest too much of a challenge. Three of us shared 5 dishes and the deep friend broncini was the best. If you have a chance to visit San Francisco and try either Slanted Door or The House, both are better and offer similar fare. If someone else is treating, however, and you're not too demanding, Sudestada provides a nice change from traditional Spanish dining. I don't plan to return anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sudestada also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Sudestada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing