We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, nicely decorated, but noisy and not spotless”
Review of Hostal Don Juan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Don Juan
Ranked #54 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very central, nicely decorated, but noisy and not spotless”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for two night, using three rooms - two with double and one with single occupancy. I have stayed at this hostal many times, and have always been very satisfied with the rooms, the situation and the price. I found that I could have found - because it was such low season - better rooms in better hotels and cheaper prices this time. The hostal is situated just off the Gran Via, in an area close to a lively area. The area seems to have suffered from the economic downturn, as the square is quite dirty with lots of litter. The hostal itself seems less busy too. Previously I had always been convinced of the cleanliness of the hostal, but this time I did find stains on the walls of the bathroom, and hairs - not mine - on the towels. The bathroom in the room I had this time was so small it was uncomfortable to use, and the shower was almost unuseable as the shower head was broken. Still, it is very central and convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
25
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful location, two blocks from La Gran Via, easy walk to most tourist locations or public transport to same. The small square it sits on has a lot of charm with plenty of small places to eat and drink. Well kept public areas nicely furnished with a great variety of antiques and quirky adornments. Rooms do need to be upgraded, quite small with like ensuite bathrooms. Beds definitely need to be upgraded, very uncomfortable. For pay coffee machines with prepackaged sweet breads and muffins, fine to get you go going for a later more filling breakfast. You can't beat the price for location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestl985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Hostal Don Juan from August 20 - 25, 2012, and found it to be ideal... a very good price, centrally located, clean, very nicely furnished with many antiques, and comfortable, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Only a 20-minute taxi ride to the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to Madrid, and would gladly return if ever I go to Spain again. Charles D. Roberts, Vacaville, California

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best view, but can be noisy at night if you have the doors to the balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been staying in Hostal Don Juan since I started going to Madrid in the Mid 80s and am a regular visitor to the city. Don Juan used to be one of those gems typical of Spain, whose exterior tucked away in a dark alley and up some dark dingy stairs, belied a well kept clean spacious and beautifully decorated interior.

The old Vazquez de Mella Plaza which used to be a concrete eyesore rising two storey up into the plaza and inhabited by junkies did used to keep the price right down which was great, I didn't have much money anyway, but this has been revamped. It is bright and VERY lively in the evenings with all sorts of folks eating in the terraces or sitting on the benches drinking and chatting, fantastic for people watching from one of the overlooking rooms with a balcony. A bit noisy for some but if you are a visit to Madrid you had better learn to love the noise. Windows are double glazed and there is split AC fro the summer, so you shouldn't have too much of a problem getting a good nights sleep, if that's what you really want.

The huge rooms they used to have are now split in two, though still big enough, and the hostal has expanded down to a few more floors. The hostal is nicely furnished, the rooms are simple and functional, clean and bright. Bathrooms are small, with a foot bath and shower. There is now a coffee machine and free internet in a room downstairs from the main reception. Security is good and in the many times I have stayed there I have never had a single problem. The downstairs door is locked at night and there is a night watchman to let you in to the hostal after dark. The staff can sem a bit dour, but this is just the way they are; always formal but friendly and polite.

Location is great if you want to go out eating and drinking and shopping. Gran Via metro isn the nearest, Chueca is 10 minutes away but you can easily walk to SOL in 15 minutes, Retiro Park and the Museum triangle in 20-30 minutes walk away straight down the Gran Via. There are plenty of convenience stores around this area for essentials.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheikinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#256 of 435 in Madrid
122 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#196 of 435 in Madrid
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal San Lorenzo
Hostal San Lorenzo
#325 of 435 in Madrid
355 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#54 of 435 in Madrid
2,237 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Don Juan

Property: Hostal Don Juan
Address: Plaza Vazquez de Mella 1 | 2, Centro, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing