We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes except for air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Equity Point Madrid Hostel
Ranked #271 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pretty good hostel - central location close to shops, restaurants, and public transport. WIfi was accessible in the lobby and free breakfast included (pretty average though). The service was good but the main thing the hostel really lacked was air conditioning in the room or even a fan when it only drops to about 30 degrees overnight.

The only other thing the hostel lacked was a decent map of the city of Madrid... we were only provided with a photocopied map of the city that highlighted where all the McDonald's were in the city... there was very limited information about the attractions or sites to see around Madrid.

I would be happy to stay at the hostel again in a cooler season but wouldn't recommend staying there during the peak of summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

You looking for a comfortable hostel? Madrid is hot so perhaps some air conditioning or even a fan? How about clean sheets? Helpful and friendly staff? Then perhaps Equity Point is not for you.

When we checked in it was quite busy... so we expected to wait a while. When they got to us they promptly checked us in and sent us on our way. Not a bad start, and the location was pretty good. Close to good and affordable restaurants and a cool place to drink 100m up the road. I was only there as a stopover on my way to San Seb so I can't say how close it is to sights. For what I needed it for - it was in a convenient location.

So they hand us a key to get into our room, thats cool, nothing wrong with a key right? Well if there is only 1 key per room - and the rooms are 5 bed dorms then you may start coming into a few annoyances. If you were say out one night and you want to go to bed only to find your roommates have the key in the room... and it is 3 in the morning, it is a bit unfortunate to have to wake them up - and it would be worse if it was you getting woken up to let someone in! It would not kill them to cut a few extra keys.

When I got to my bed I found that someone else had taken the liberty of sleeping in the wrong bed - thats ok, I am nothing if not flexible and it isnt the hostels fault. So I go to the only spare bed according to a girl in the room and the sheets are dirty! So I go down, after waiting for 15 minutes at reception for the people behind the counter to finish their conversation I had to explain I needed new sheets and it was such a drama! They did not care at all or want to help.

Other things I didn't like about this hostel was the lack of decent lockers and lockers of a decent size, and you could only get wifi on the stairs, there were two bathrooms in the room but they were not great, but I guess they were hostel quality.

The rooms were also reallllyyyy noisy. You could hear everything on the street from a few floors up.

But yeah - bottom line was the crappy staff I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brodinatorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a huge hostel in the heart of Madrid. Around 3-5 minutes’ walk from Puerta del Sol. 3 minutes’ walk to the nearest subway/metro station. The building is old, but the rooms are clean. Good price for the location. Good staff, most of them speak good english.

No Wi-Fi in rooms - Wi-fi in the lobby only.

If you are the kinds who walks out in the morning and comes back late, then I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hostel is an absolute sweat pit. I have never sweated just laying in bed so much in my life, seriously... Get a ceiling fan!

Other than that it's alright I guess. Cheap enough and a good location.

Defs not rushing back

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samglavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Madrid 40 degrees in summer rooms have no aircon or fans so that makes for slim to no sleep. Lots of friends paying the same or less per night close by and have aircon and better rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davekennedy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The rooms have no air conditioning or fans and the temperature gets up to 40 degrees. The only air you can get is opening balcony door that looks down onto a vet busy loud street. It is noisy the whole night and feels very unsafe with no privacy as people can then see in. The toilet broke everyday, power points didn't work and the wifi didn't ever work.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hostel was clean, and in a good location but full of inconsiderate school children who had no respect for anyone else staying there. They were loud until the early hours running up and down the corridors screaming. Staff were incapable or reluctant to enforce their quite policy, this made for a s**t couple of nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaydog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Ventas
#59 of 441 in Madrid
868 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#12 of 424 in Madrid
1,305 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#146 of 441 in Madrid
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#131 of 441 in Madrid
891 reviews
San Blas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#167 of 441 in Madrid
1,558 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Madrid Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Madrid Hostel

Address: Calle Cruz 5, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $15 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point Madrid Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Equity Point Madrid Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing