We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipsters in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Pizzateca

La Pizzateca
Ranked #56 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: Tradicional Pizzeria in downtown Madrid. Open everyday from 1pm to 4:30pm and from 7pm to 12.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hipsters in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great pizza and atmosphere. It's tiny room off an alley. The guys that run this place are very friendly. There are only 4 seats in the place along the wall. The pizza is thin and crispy. Toppings are unique and tasty. It's really cheap so it's a good choice for a fast lunch or late night meal. 6 euros for 2 slices and a beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pltw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    146
    42
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“A top ten in Madrid? Fast-food pizza?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The owner of this establishment is very nice, and he offers a good product at a good price (I believe it was 6 euros for two slices and a drink). The pizza is interesting, with a crust that is more like bruschetta than typical pizza crust. But a must-visit? If on a tight budget, perhaps, but with so many excellent restaurants in Madrid, it's odd for this one to be so frequently singled out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank originalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty pizzas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this place here at Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try due to all the good reviews. And we did not regret it! After a long morning in Madrid, this is the spot for some delicious, home-made tasting like pizzas. We went for the special menu, two pieces and a drink for 6€, which is quite a good value for money option, because we did not leave hungry! Separately, each piece is 2,50€. But there's also the round pizza to go option for 7€.
At the moment, there were truffles & mushroom, marguerita, spanish ham and fresh mozzarella pizzas to choose from. The staff is quite nice. Too bad there's isn't much space, only 4 seats, although we were lucky and it was empty!
A good place to stop for a tasty bite in busy (and most of the times) over-priced Madrid!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chihiro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good pizza here, clearly better than average in my opinion. Friendly owner, good service. However, I don't understand why the place is top rated in here, not expceptional as one might have believed judging from other reviews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must go there when you in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love this place! Always when I visit Madrid I go there with my friends. Pizzas are a dream!!! So tasty. They are big and you won`t leave this place hungry! The place is not very fancy but nice. The stuff is friendly. The prices are ok.
Go there when you visit Madrid! I recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizzateca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Pizzateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing