We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Spanish cuisine”

Meson Rincon de la Cava
Ranked #2,495 of 14,125 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Austrias
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant is located very close to Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel so it's a strict centr of Madrid. Waiters are kind and speak English quite fluently. Cuisine is typically Spanish, with tortilla española, prawns and other seafood, fried chorizo, sirloin. Very original interior - it's partialy in kind of a cave / basement so the walls are made of stone. For dessert you can get fresh fruit - very refreshing in a hot day.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jardin_et_la_pluie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 379 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Just delicious! And good price and excellent service! We seated outside and from time to time enjoy street performance.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank gescartiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Our first meal in Madrid. Nice setting, decent tapas including prawns, croquettes and charcuterie, although on the expensive side compared to other restaurants in Madrid.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank toby187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

We were staying opposite this bar and decided to stop by for a drink as the flowers outside were so lovely. I am so glad we did, the interior is fascinating and beautifully restored. It is very authentic and we kept looking around at all the small details, such as the wine bottles stored in locked cellars and on roof beams, the hanging garlic and chilli threads (which the chef comes and picks from fresh for his food), and the old paintings and ceramics. Our waiter was fantastic, he was attentive and knew when we needed another glass of wine, he brought more olives and some fruit as we had stayed so long enjoying the place. I highly recommend a visit at least for a drink and to enjoy the decor.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gabrielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Lovely setting, bustling side street, was busy which is always a great sign. Ordered 4 tapas dishes, when they came out food was quite plain and bland, no added garnishes or sauces. However, one dish the garlic prawns tasted awful, neither myself or my husband fancied being poorly so decided not to eat them and politely told the waiter they did not taste nice. There was no apology given, they were removed from the table but still appeared on our bill.
Not good enough nowadays I’m afraid, obviously their prime location in a tourist city means they get away with this level, or lack of, customer service.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank GolfingladyYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Rincon de la Cava also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Meson Rincon de la Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing