We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveler rating
792
488
75
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
792
488
75
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor great location atocha street anton martin walking distance free snacks bathroom door the nearest metro station premium room tapas non smoking room busy street excellent hotel good size would definitely stay here again top floor central location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was amazing from the professional and friendly staff, to the priceless location, clean and comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel and when in Madrid will be our hotel of choice. Thank you for making our stay more pleasant in Madrid!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alsayou16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stylish modern hotel in a lovely older building. Great location for both public transport and can easily walk to most sights. Comfortable quiet room with good bathroom/shower (although glass door to bathroom restricts privacy a little). Excellent breakfast with everything you could possibly want. Small gym and complimentary afternoon snacks in the bar are nice extras. Friendly helpful multi lingual staff.
Short but comfortable stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank creggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This time I spent one week as a single traveller in this nice hotel. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The receptionists were friendly - especially the female manager was very helpful. My nice room was facing the street and it was not loud at all. The hotel is well-located and many interesting sights are within walking distance. The nearest metro station (Anton Martin) is just a few minutes away but there is no moving stairecase or elevator.

Room tip: Book a room facing the street (it's a bit more expensive but it's worth it)
Date of stay: March 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Welltravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Welltravel123,

delighted by your nice words, thank you so much for sharing!! Super glad to know your stay was excellent, due to the location & staff .
We would love to see you back soon to keep enjoying!
My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Stayed for a couple of days in Madrid, clean hotel. Day before we leave, morning time, we left hotel around 11:30am & counted my money before leaving. Only person who came into our room was the maid (according to hotel key cards) around 1pm she cleaned BUT when we came back at 2pm I checked my wallet to grab more money to head out again, MONEY WAS GONE. HOTEL COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME & POLICE COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME. So as tourists from America what could we do? Nothing they couldn’t prove it which I understand but that just gives more reason for desperate maids/housekeeping to steal or look thru someone’s belongings. Not right what so ever, they are protected but what about us? 510 Euro stolen, not misplaced. The hotel didn’t even cost us that much to stay in.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

This hotel have some extras that made it a very nice experience to stay there. They have a small bar open four hours in the afternoon where they serve coffee and tea with small sandwiches for free. You can buy drinks. The servants are very friendly and did everything possible for you to have a cosy afternoon.
The staff at the reception was not that professionel, but they were there. The room was nice with a big and very nice bathroom.
The breakfast buffet was absolutte fantastic with everything you can imagine. Spanish deli - ham, Salomon, olives, and different kinds of bread. You could make yourself waffles, have eggs any style and lots more. There was also Cava, Boody Mary’s, fresh fruit, juices very good coffee. It is definately value for money.
I can highly recommend this hotel from where you can walk to many sights and even to the Main railway station.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnniDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Dear AnniDK,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time in writing your comment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your opinion is very important for us and we take note of it to keep improving.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews