We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$166
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$85
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$111
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
$197
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$372
$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
660
420
69
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
420
69
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayorgreat locationanton martinatocha streetwalking distancefree snackswelcome drinkmodern hotellarge showerstreet viewtapasrain showersuperior roomthe nearest metro stationbusy streetexcellent hotelcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is located in a lovely part of Madrid. Lots of small places to drink and eat. Small streets and lots of local life.
This is not a fancy hotel, but you get what you need and the room we had was very quiet and quite large.
The breakfast is nothing but fantastic, a bit expensive though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear customer,
First of all, we want to thank your kindness for sharing your opinion with all the Trip Advisor community,
As you well highlight, our hotel has a very good location in the center of Madrid, you can walk to museums, the Main Square, Puerta del Sol, Royal Palace.... There are 20 minutes more or less walking from here.
We invite you to taste our breakfast buffet deluxe in your next stay with us, You are going to enjoy it.
Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position near the centre. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our room has a king-size bed, good air conditioning and an excellent bathroom with a first class shower ( but no bath) and big fluffy towels. The security safe is easy to use and big enough. It is very quiet! There is no ironing board. The refrigerator is full of goodies leaving little room for our use, but sadly that seems to be standard.
The only big demerit is the breakfast which is a standard charge of €19 per head! for a very average buffet breakfast. A room service continental breakfast is the same price. We walked up the road to a bakery "La Rollerie" where we had real croissants and good coffee for much less.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31EdwardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear customer,
Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.
We would like to invite you to taste our new service in the hotel, Tea Time. During the afternoons from five to eigth our guests can enjoy some sandwich and snacks, coffee, juices and teas. This service is totally free of charge for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved our stay. Great location, ten minutes walk to city center. You'll enjoy the stroll. Reception were very friendly, helpful, and fluent in English. Beautiful decor, especially the wooden staircase. Spacious room, with balcony. Very comfortable beds and pillows, slept like a baby. Nice big, clean bathroom, plenty of fluffy towels. Didn't stay for breakfast because of early flight so can't comment on dinning experience. I would definitely come back to this hotel next time in Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Stdream,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

We are sure that we will see you again, and you have to try the breakfast, where you can find everything, get all the power that you need for a long day in the city

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes

Manel Ruiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, the beds and bathroom very good, and the location is good- about halfway between the museums and plaza mayor. it is also walking distance to many good restaurants. If you need the metro, it is very close to Anton Martin station and the train station at Atocha is maybe a 15 minute walk.
The breakfast is also very good, one of the best we encountered in the five hotels we stayed at during our trip.

Finally, the staff was very friendly and helpful, giving my wife a large bag of ice when she twisted her knee walking one of the days. This was very much appreciated.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2016

Dear Roberto ,
We are very gladed to read your kind comments and you enjoyed your last stay with us.
Really the location of the Hotel is exceptional to visit Madrid , museum , theatre, etc.
Thank for you comments about our staff. We are proud to hear it.
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was extremely clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. We were able to walk to all key city attractions from the hotel with a short 5 minute walk to the Plaza Mayor square. This hotel is good value and perfect for couples.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phillippa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Phillippa

First of all, we want to thank your kindness for sharing your opinion with all the Trip Advisor community,


Looking for your happiness is our main duty, and our staff will be always ready for helping you, doesn't matter the time, or your problem, we will help you and solve your problems,

We are glad to check that the hotel was pleasant and we hope that we will be your hotel reference in Madrid
Thank you again from the whole hotel

Manel Ruiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews