We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #40 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location is really central, but the hotel itself is quiet and well soundproofed. The decor and furnishings are finished to a high standard. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious and the bed really comfortable, and wifi was free. A fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive review,
This is a good motivation for us for trying to improve every day,
We worked very hard for making the rooms the most comfortable that we could, so we celebrate your stay and hoping that we will be your choice next time you visit the city, then you can see the rest of the services of the hotel, for example, our Jacuzzi, free of charge, Gym, etc...

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Upgraded at check in, hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the main tourist areas of Madrid, breakfast very good hot food or continental both available. We usually stop at another hotel 400 meters away twice per year, not any longer we will use this one. Front desk was excellent very helpfully, nothing to much trouble, fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnerBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are very happy for you, see that you enjoy our superior room, where, as you know, you can get some benefits in the room, plus facing the street with no noise, then you will sleep like if you were at home. And thank you again for your opinion of our luxury breakfast buffet,
Best greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there April 2013 and pleasantly surprised - we stayed there because of the other exxellent reviews. Its in a great location and I would certainly stay here again. If i had known I"d have booked all my other Spain hotels with the Hoteles-Catalonia group.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soyabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Good morning,

We really celebrate that you find out a new hotel for your holidays, for your knowledge, we have hotels in another city an d countries and we are trying to offer the same service in each one.

Thank you very much for your kind comments
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

New place with very nice rooms and equipment. The placement of the hotel is really great for visiting the city downtown.
Quiet even being in the middle of the Atocha street.
Great breakfast service. People always ready to help you, really careful.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BoseMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive opinion, we try to improve our service, and this is a good way for keep on doing that, when we see that our Hotel is working for the guests, we will be very happy for receiving you

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property is in a great location. Close to the museum and the old town. Though on a busy street the rooms were surprisingly quiet. The rooms were very clean and had all the basics. The only thing missing was a proper bar...the one in the hotel was more like a cafeteria. Staff generally very helpful and friendly. Value for price was very high.

Room Tip: Be clear to ask for a king configuration or you mayget 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamFunIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Good afternoon,
It is a pleasure that our efforts have the good value, because we try to avoid any kind of noise in the room, and it looks like we did it. Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that. We are waiting four your next visit to the city and try to make your stay here even better.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very new. We booked the city view but decided to move to a regular room when we got there because it's more spacious and the bathroom is much nicer (rate is even cheaper). The bar on the 1st floor is really chic. But there were no guests hanging out when we were there probably because the music wasn't so inviting.
Location is excellent. 5-10 minutes walk to plaza mayor.
Breakfast was okay for 12euros.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Catalonia Plaza Mayor Hotel, it is our target help to our customers every second, so we hope the next time you coming here try the superior room, which it is bigger and you are facing the street, with coffee and tea facilities, no noise, then you can see the city life, feeling like a citizen from Madrid.
About the breakfast, we are trying to make it better every day, thank you for the kind opinion

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel located in center of old Madrid, very close to metro station. Building has been remodeled except for the internet. The connection is very poor. It needs be be reconnected every time you are not using the computer. Staff at the reception was rude and unpleasant when we tried to see if the internet could be improved. It was impossible to communicate this need the clerk. He kept explaining that that is how it is setup and refused to offer to pass this information to the hotel's manager. If you are in Madrid for work purpose, it will be impossible to accomplish anything from the room on the Internet. Another guest were complaining but clerk was unhelpful.

Also I did not like the fact that they try to upgrade you for an extra charge: €15-40 per
night.. This is known as an up-sale. The inside-courtyard rooms are better because the rooms
facing street are very noisy. There are many choices in the area, this hotel is really average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank time2travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

First of all, thank you very much for participating in Trip Advisor
We were very surprised when we read the comments about our staff, because it has been
congratuled in different reviews about our hotel, for this reason, we regret that your stay was not entirely pleasant,
We hope see you next time you visit Madrid, and try to make your stay here better than before.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 438 in Madrid
753 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,592 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#78 of 438 in Madrid
1,430 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#44 of 438 in Madrid
1,300 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid and inaugurated in February 2011, very close to the Plaza Mayor and the emblematic Puerta de Sol, Catalonia Plaza Mayor is located in the best cultural and commercial area of ​​the city. You can walk to the main museums (El Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen Bornemisza), theaters, bars and the main shopping area of ​​the capital. It also offers free Wi-Fi, a gym, jacuzzi, free tea time service, snack bar cafe and restaurant for conventions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing